Copying VST instrument and/or Tracks between projects

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
ostadnima
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:22 pm
Contact:

Copying VST instrument and/or Tracks between projects

Post by ostadnima » Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:29 pm

Hello,

I have two projects opened, and I want to copy some of the tracks from one to the other..... How can I do that? Sorry if its just a simple answer..... maybe i am overlooking something

User avatar
Paul Coyle
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:17 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Copying VST instrument and/or Tracks between projects

Post by Paul Coyle » Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:12 am

Hi,

Try the 'export selected track' and 'import tracks' options in the file menu.
More info in the manual Pg 696.
DAW W7 32Bit-Cubase 8.0 Wavelab 8.0.3-Core2 Quad Q9400-4 Gb Ram-Lots of HDD's-Dual Monitors-Old, but solid! Interface AD/DA Focusrite Liquid 56 (Mix Control 3.2)-Focusrite Octopre Platinum (Via Twin Light-pipe)-DBX 386 dual valve Pre (Via AES/EBU)Monitoring Genelec 1029A's-Yamaha HS10W Sub Console Yamaha PM2000 24/8-146kg of analogue goodness

ostadnima
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Copying VST instrument and/or Tracks between projects

Post by ostadnima » Sat Nov 02, 2013 5:51 am

Thanks for you information. But that form of export doesn't export vst instrument racks. Is there a way to do that.

User avatar
Paul Coyle
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:17 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Copying VST instrument and/or Tracks between projects

Post by Paul Coyle » Sat Nov 02, 2013 6:30 am

Ahoy,

I think you might have to follow a two step process here.
1 Save the VST instument channel as a Track preset.
2 Export the tracks (MIDI Note information) via the 'export selected track method' or with both projects open,just drag them across.

AFAIK there is no way to save an entire instrument rack in one go, you'll have to repeat the preset process for each instrument, I could be wrong here though, I don't do much in the way of VSTi's any more.
There will be several other ways of doing this as well and the manual would be your best bet at finding the way that suits your workflow.

Cheers,

PC
DAW W7 32Bit-Cubase 8.0 Wavelab 8.0.3-Core2 Quad Q9400-4 Gb Ram-Lots of HDD's-Dual Monitors-Old, but solid! Interface AD/DA Focusrite Liquid 56 (Mix Control 3.2)-Focusrite Octopre Platinum (Via Twin Light-pipe)-DBX 386 dual valve Pre (Via AES/EBU)Monitoring Genelec 1029A's-Yamaha HS10W Sub Console Yamaha PM2000 24/8-146kg of analogue goodness

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ned3000 and 6 guests