Lexicon MX400 issues in C6

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
joomusik
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:22 pm
Contact:

Lexicon MX400 issues in C6

Post by joomusik » Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:10 pm

Hello,

I can't get my Lexicon MX400XL to work inside C6 as a VST.

Error Message: "MX400 unavailable"

It worked in Cubase 5, I could make the setting recommened by Lexicon:
"de-select the Lexicon MX-400 control port as an Input or Output device for MIDI communications"

I can't get it to work under C6 although all midi ports are disabled in the MIDI in/out settings.

I hope you can help.
Win 7 / Cubase 9.5 Pro Pro 64 Bits / lots of VSTs / i7 / 16 GB RAM / MOTU 896HD

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Lexicon MX400 issues in C6

Post by rtorstrick » Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:15 pm

Have you tried it in Cubase 6-32 bit? As far as I have been able to figure out, the MX400 VST is only available as a 32 bit VST. This is a call Lexicon issue, not a Steinberg one. My MX400 VST shows up, but doesn't work in C 64, but it does work fully and as expected in C 32.

BTW, the hardware works just fine as an external FX in C 64 so you can still use it. It's only the VST controller that doesn't work. Meaning, you can't change the settings from within Cubase. But, you CAN run the MX-Edit software in the background, with Cubase running, too, so you can set it up to your heart's content. The only problem with that is, of course, Cubase will not remember your settings, so you'll have to save them manually and remember to set the unit up the way you want each time you load a project and want to use different settings.

Hope this helps.
Windows 10
Cubase 10, Halion 6.1.15, Wavelab 9.5.35, Dorico 2.1
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives,
G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
Steinberg UR-RT 2, Steinberg MR816csx, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo (Pcie)

joomusik
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Lexicon MX400 issues in C6

Post by joomusik » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:35 pm

Thanks Rtorstrick. Is it possible to use the C6 32 Bit Version on a 64 Bit PC system ?

If yes, what are the disadvantages ?
Win 7 / Cubase 9.5 Pro Pro 64 Bits / lots of VSTs / i7 / 16 GB RAM / MOTU 896HD

joomusik
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Lexicon MX400 issues in C6

Post by joomusik » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:36 pm

I went though some threads and decided to install C6 32 bits on my Win 7 64 bit system.
Works great. The only disadvantage is the 4 GB RAM limitation.
Win 7 / Cubase 9.5 Pro Pro 64 Bits / lots of VSTs / i7 / 16 GB RAM / MOTU 896HD

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Lexicon MX400 issues in C6

Post by rtorstrick » Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:07 am

I'm glad you got it working.
Windows 10
Cubase 10, Halion 6.1.15, Wavelab 9.5.35, Dorico 2.1
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives,
G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
Steinberg UR-RT 2, Steinberg MR816csx, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo (Pcie)

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests