Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
garnvik
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by garnvik » Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:57 pm

I have not been able to find an easy way to select midi events and simply shift them by measures and ticks (not cutting/pasting). Does this function exist in Cubase?
PCAudioLabs Rok Box, Processor 3.40Ghz Intel, i7-2600K, Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68, Memory: 32GB, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, 4 HD’s (SATA 2 and 3) | Cubase 8

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by -steve- » Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:14 pm

Look up Nudge in the Key Commands.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

garnvik
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by garnvik » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:25 am

Thanks for the tip Steve. Yes, the nudge function helped. I had hoped to be able to custom select how many measures I want to nudge/shift midi notes. Sometimes I want to quickly move selected midi notes by 8, 16, or 32 measures.
PCAudioLabs Rok Box, Processor 3.40Ghz Intel, i7-2600K, Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68, Memory: 32GB, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, 4 HD’s (SATA 2 and 3) | Cubase 8

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by -steve- » Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:08 am

garnvik wrote:Thanks for the tip Steve. Yes, the nudge function helped. I had hoped to be able to custom select how many measures I want to nudge/shift midi notes. Sometimes I want to quickly move selected midi notes by 8, 16, or 32 measures.
For this you would create a Logical Editor preset to add the right number of beats to the notes' Position. Once saved it will be available in the Key Commands dialog. Easy-Peasy. ;)
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

garnvik
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by garnvik » Thu May 29, 2014 9:17 pm

Steve. I have tried to create a preset to move an event by 1 measure, or 4 beats, but to no avail. The Logical Editor is too complex, and so is the manual for this function. How would you go about creating such a command in the editor? Thanks.
PCAudioLabs Rok Box, Processor 3.40Ghz Intel, i7-2600K, Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68, Memory: 32GB, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, 4 HD’s (SATA 2 and 3) | Cubase 8

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by -steve- » Fri May 30, 2014 1:00 am

Try this:

upper pane:

Code: Select all

Property | is set | event is selected | (empty) | (empty)  |
Lower pane:

Code: Select all

Position | Add | 0.04.00.000 | PPQ  |
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

garnvik
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by garnvik » Sat May 31, 2014 4:30 pm

Steve. I tried that setting, but it didn't work. When I inputted 0.04.00.000 and hit enter, it rounded it to 1.00.00.000. It only allows for whole numbers, but even then, when I tried to move the selected event by whatever number I was able to insert, nothing happened. All other fields are set exactly as you instructed. I triple checked. There's an option at the bottom that is set to "transform". Can that have something to do with this?
PCAudioLabs Rok Box, Processor 3.40Ghz Intel, i7-2600K, Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68, Memory: 32GB, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, 4 HD’s (SATA 2 and 3) | Cubase 8

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by -steve- » Sat May 31, 2014 4:39 pm

It is rounding to the time signature at the cursor location. so 1.0.0.0 = 4 beats.

Please fill in your forum profile sig with your system info.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

garnvik
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Shifting midi events by measures and ticks?

Post by garnvik » Sat May 31, 2014 5:21 pm

Ok, I added my system to my profile.
PCAudioLabs Rok Box, Processor 3.40Ghz Intel, i7-2600K, Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68, Memory: 32GB, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, 4 HD’s (SATA 2 and 3) | Cubase 8

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests