Modify midi controller data on several tracks

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
vibrolux
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:22 pm
Contact:

Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by vibrolux » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:33 pm

Hi all - I'm trying to figure out how modify midi controller data on several tracks at the same time in the key editor (or anywhere for that matter) - for example using the pencil or line tool to draw a new cc1 modulation curve.

I am currently doing this one track at a time which is very time consuming as sometimes I want the same controller data on multiple tracks. I can record say the mod wheel on multiple tracks - but can't edit them together afterwards.

Appreciate any help!

TwinOak
Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by TwinOak » Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:52 am

Best tip: more practice on the mod wheel, in the end it will be faster than editing by hand.

Otherwise, the closest I can think of:

1. Select several midi tracks in the project window and open your favorite editor, say the key editor, from the MIDI menu
2. Draw a curve, select it->copy
3. Place the transport at the 1:st point of the curve
4. List through the different tracks with the "currently edited part"-button in the menu and do a paste in each
/A
ASUS Z8NA-D6, 2 x Xeon 5620, Kingston 16GB, RME Fireface 800, Win 7 x64, Cubase 6.0.5, Cubase 7.0.7, Cubase 8.0.30

vibrolux
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by vibrolux » Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:18 am

Thanks for the reply. Yes I of course use the mod wheel but for many reasons I often need to go back and "trim" the mod data. Samples don't always track the mod wheel so nicely and how sample respond to controller varies between patches and between libs. And certain things like a very long fade in are often better to do with the tools. It seems quite absurd that if I want to make a change to one section (for example strings) that I must edit each part (v1 v2 va cl bs) separately. And it worse if I'm using divisi sections. Very time consuming. And very easy to make mistakes - miss editing one of the parts for example.

Really - this isn't possible with Cubase 6?

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by vic_france » Sun Mar 13, 2011 1:30 pm

No, I'm afraid it has never been possible, in Cubase, to edit simultaneuosly (other than by changing numerical values via the Info Line), controller data on multiple tracks. (slightly o.t... since Cubase 6, we can actually edit multiple controller lanes, but only within the same MIDI Part).
I think the best you could do, is to edit a single MIDI track, then copy the edited controller data from its lane, into the corresponding lane on the other track(s), by means of the Range Tool.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by Strophoid » Sun Mar 13, 2011 1:43 pm

There we have a nice little feature request.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by JMCecil » Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:58 pm

I typically use the the method outlined by TwinOak

But, if you have your MIDI routing set up with unique channels, you can

arm all of the alternate channels
set punch in/out where you want the CC data
put each track in Write mode
set cycle to merge
set MIDI to thru for the channel that has the good CC data
Use MIDI filter to route the CC back to the armed tracks.
Hit record ....
DONE
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

vibrolux
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by vibrolux » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:44 am

Thanks for the replies.

For orchestral stuff I might record the mod wheel separately for each part just to have it a bit more realistic - slight timing variations and the samples don't always respond similarly, but sometimes - especially if writing to film I may want edit the instruments together - maybe I'm trying to hit something with a swell or whatever. It's just very inefficient jumping from track to track or copying. It's really surprising Cubase doesn't support this. But now I know - just have to work around it.

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by vic_france » Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:02 pm

I don't know if the following would be of any practical use to you, but..
providing you are using VSTis in the VSTi rack (or external synths, of course), piloted by regular MIDI tracks, rather than using Instrument Tracks, and provided you don't need more than 5 instruments "ganged" together, you could always write your controller data on its own MIDI track, and make use of its MIDI Sends.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Guest

Re: Modify midi controller data on several tracks

Post by Guest » Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:09 pm

vibrolux wrote: I want the same controller data on multiple tracks. I can record say the mod wheel on multiple tracks - but can't edit them together afterwards.

Appreciate any help!
Instead of copy/paste commands, I drag and drop using the "range" tool whilst holding down the CTRL key (which causes a copy instead of a move)
FD

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests