Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
thomas911
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:07 pm
Contact:

Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by thomas911 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:41 pm

Hello!
I just bought a new Macbook pro with retina display. I was looking forward to run Cubase on it with a lot more work area to use. But man was I disappointed. Cubase seem to scale upp the original graphic and make i bigger, it looks pretty awful.

I see now that Cubase doesn't support retina displays. Oh! It is sad and a bit strange, since retina displays have been around for years (1,5?) now and every new MBP comes with one.

But I don't understand -why doesn't Cubase show the original graphics of the program? That is, 1 px in the design = 1px on the screen? Sure, It will be small, but still better than a lowres version upscaled! Because as I understand, If I connect a hires apple thunderbolt display (2560 x 1440), Cubase will display as expected (?) Why doesn't this apply to the MBP retina? It's almost the same resolution?

One other thing. When I right-click and bring up "show info" for Cubase the "Open in low res" box is grayed out (?) so I can't click it. Why is that? It says in Steinberg support to tick that box, but I can't. Does this mean that it is already on and it wouldn't do any difference?

Finally -will there be support for retina any time soon? Cubase looks much better on my old MBP :(

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9249
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by -steve- » Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:11 pm

That's strange, other users on Retina display macbooks haven't reported that iirc. What resolution is shown in the System Prefs? (I don't have a retina display, but it seems worth a shot to ask)
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

MrSmith
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by MrSmith » Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:11 pm

Ouch :( Good luck with this.

thomas911
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by thomas911 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:35 pm

Well, OSX Mavericks doesn't actually show the resolution in the System Prefs. Only says "Best for display" (translated from Swedish version). You can also choose "scaled" and then you can choose alternatives like "looks like 1680x1050" and "looks like 1920x1080". If i choose one of those two I get more workspace, but the graphics in Cubase is still scaled up.

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by psvennevig » Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:43 pm

I have a 15" rMBP, and have no problems. Of course I wish for Cubendo to be retina aware, but it isn't a problem.
I have my graphics set for "looks like 1920x1200" That is what I like the best, and use for all software on my rMBP.

Pål
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

thomas911
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by thomas911 » Sun Mar 02, 2014 1:24 pm

Pål, yes in "looks like 1920x1200" the problem is not that annoying. But you still have the upscaled graphics right? (so it's not only me). If you choose display setting "best for retina", do you have very lowres and upscaled graphics?

What about this thing, can you tick that box?:
When I right-click and bring up "show info" for Cubase the "Open in low res" box is grayed out (?) so I can't click it. It says in Steinberg support to tick that box, but I can't. Does this mean that it is already on and it wouldn't do any difference?

Any other Retina Macbook Pro owners out there, and that are your experiences?

User avatar
ipanema
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:02 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by ipanema » Sun Mar 02, 2014 2:13 pm

Hello,

This might sound silly, but sometimes we neglect the most obvious things. When you open the "show Info" window, there is a "lock" icon in the right lower end of the window, meaning that you have to click on it, enter your password, and the grayed-out items will become available to tweak.

Just a reminder.

Good luck.
System 1 (master): Mac Pro 12-Core 2.93GHz, 16GB Ram OS X 10.8.5/10.10.2, Nuendo 6.5 64bit, Cubase Pro 8 64bit, M-Audio ProFire 610
System 2 (slave): Core i7 3930K, Intel DX79SR, 64GB RAM, Win7 64bit, M-Audio Projectmix I/O
MacKie HR824, Roland XV5080, 3x 24" LEDs, Multiple SSDs & 2-3TB HDDs, VSL VE Pro, MIR Pro, lots of toys

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by AP » Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:28 pm

I was told by the apple store sales person that there are apps you can use to change the resolution. I got a RMBP 2 years ago but returned it for a MBP I'm thinking of getting a new one. I would appreciate some feedback from someone that is using a RMBP with Cubase 7.5. Does it work normally like on MBP?
Last edited by AP on Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.14 UR28M, CMC.

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by psvennevig » Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:43 pm

Hi,

The tick box "Open in Low Resolution" is ticked on my Nuendo.app, and I can't untick it even if I authenticate.

No problems with scaled graphics here in 1920x1200 mode. And I wouldn't dream of running it in "Best for Retina". That is simply to small screen estate for me.

Pål
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

Wolfie2112
Junior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by Wolfie2112 » Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:24 pm

AP wrote:I was told by the apple store sales person that there are apps you can use to change the resolution. I got a RMBP 2 years ago but returned it for a MBP I'm thinking of getting a new one. I would appreciate some feedback from someone that is using a RMBP with Cubase 7.5. Does it work normally like on MBP?
Not sure why it would be an issue, I'm running 7.5 on a new MacBook Pro Retina and it works great. I went with the top model, so it has the dedicated graphics in addtion to Iris...maybe that helped??

mr_t
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by mr_t » Fri Dec 12, 2014 5:01 pm

I've just bought Cubase 8.0 Pro and still no Retina support. Cannot switch to high resolution. The fonts are completely unsharp. Very ugly interface. I am thinking about to stop Cubase usage and to return back the software.

:-(

theodorozzz
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 10:19 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by theodorozzz » Thu Jul 02, 2015 1:04 am

Have the same problem - unsharp fonts and the whole picture.
There is no issue yet?

Zabotnik
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 1:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by Zabotnik » Sun Jun 10, 2018 3:32 pm

Same problem here, any one get around this issue?

maxmavam
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7.5 on a Retina Macbook pro (low-res!)

Post by maxmavam » Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:40 am

Did you guys find any solution for this problem, because I have the same issue.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests