Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:01 am

I found a couple of valuable Midi files that I didn't migrage to my Intel Mac 7 years ago. I need one of them
to finish an album. I have a crossover Ethernet cable connnected but so far no luck. Don't want to use floppy drive.
The files in question have the .ALL extension. Would like to transfer from computer to computer. Any one know
how to do this?
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by Arjan P » Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:37 am

.ALL files are the old Cubase song files, not exactly MIDI. You'll need an installation of Cubase SX (or was it 5?) to translate it to .cpr and then maybe a USB-drive to get it to the other computer.. SX can be downloaded from here.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:10 am

As I remember, that 's not quite correct. I transferred hundreds of Midi files as .mid and uploaded to my Intel Mac. It's been 7 years now. I have Cubase VST 4.1 on the Power PC and it worked fine. I'm sure there's a better way. I just have to think it out some more.
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:18 am

Also, I can't use the internet with the Power PC so getting SX is not possible.Plus the link you show is not accessible.
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by curteye » Wed Mar 05, 2014 4:15 am

Aloha k,

Hmm?
No internet/no floppies/ no ethernet.

Tough one.
Suggestions:
1-USB stick transfer?
2-Does the G3 have a working optical drive?
3-and is it possible to burn a CD from it?
4-Is it possible to get SX3 on a disc from Steiny? (try e-mailing support)

Good Luck!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by Arjan P » Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:51 am

krugpark wrote:As I remember, that 's not quite correct. I transferred hundreds of Midi files as .mid and uploaded to my Intel Mac.
Again, .mid files are not .ALL files, which you mentioned in your post. Sorry for trying to help, good luck on thinking it out.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:26 pm

The thing is there is only "one" midi project I need. Just one. I have a crossover ethernet connected from the
beige G3 to my Intel Pac Pro. A friend said this should work. I hope so.

Also, I could install a usb card into the G3 and use a stick drive. I believe usb was good then. Not sure.
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:34 pm

Thanks Arjan. I am trying to download it now. The disc is spinning and I hope it downloads. What about the dongle issue. Not necessary?
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:53 pm

I downloaded Sx 2. However, it wants a name and serial number in order for me to install. Now what? I only need this software to get a .ALL file converted to .MID. Any suggestions?
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Thu Mar 06, 2014 6:18 pm

I have Sx2 and a license number. When I install it I get this error message: Syncrosoft POS errror message. A protection message relating to eLicense or something. It's not in the Library and I can't run the program. Would be nice to have this since Steinberg has furnished the license number.
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by Makumbaria » Fri Mar 07, 2014 1:19 am

You can run SX2 with your Cubase 6 license. There is no need to obtain another license.

But as if I remember correctly, there is some problems with power PC and the new elicensers. Maybe you should try this conversion with a intel Mac or Windows.
Cubase Pro 10.5 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.20 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:58 am

I only used the Power PC to get the .ALL files. I am using Cubase 6 with Snow Leopard. I followed the link in the above posting and downloaded Cubase Sx3. Can't open it. An eLicense prompt comes up each time so I can't use it yet. Same with Cubase Sx2/
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:59 am

Check out the transferring .ALL files to .MID. That's where I followed the link to Steinberg and downloaded Sx3.
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by Makumbaria » Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:11 am

Well, I don´t know what is happening. I can open SX3 with my Cubase 7.5 license (Windows 7).

Did you tried using this elicenser?

http://download.elicenser.net/downloads ... ontrol.dmg
Cubase Pro 10.5 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.20 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:09 am

I'll try it.
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:01 pm

Thanks to Macumbaria for adding the missing link. It was this eLicenser that I downloaded that made Sx3 open. However, it took about 3 tries but now I have the valuable missing .ALL midi files on my Cubase 6.

Good vibes to you brother.
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by Makumbaria » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:45 pm

I'm glad to help! :)
Cubase Pro 10.5 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.20 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

User avatar
krugpark
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Transferring Midi file from PowerMac G3 to Intel Mac.

Post by krugpark » Sat Mar 15, 2014 6:41 pm

The licence you posted works with SX3 but I had to uninstall it and download the latest eLicense in order for Cubase 6.0.6 and Wavelab 7 to open again. This wan't too good.
Cubase 8 and 8.5 Pro, Wavelab 7, Antelope 10mx and OCX clocks, EAR mic pres and headphone amp, Steve Firlotte Branch mic pre, Bricasti M7 Verb, Antelope Pure 2 ADDA, Avalon mic pres, compressers, eq, TC Electronics, Manley mono blocks, Zentec mics, Royer 121. 122, MOTU 24IO, MOTU MicroLite, Korg, Kurzweil, EMU, Pacific Microsonics HDCD AD/DA converter, Slate, Softtube, Spark, Tsar Plugins.
Driverack PA, Ken Goerres custom cables, powercords and interconnects, Quantum EMF supressors. ProTec Studio 100 Monitors, Power by Art Kelm. Studio design by Vincent VanHaff. 20 year Cubase user.

A musicologist is a man who can read music but can’t hear it…Sir Thomas Beecham

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests