Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by vanhaze3000 » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:55 pm

Hi,

I am not in any way associated with NektarTech but i really wanted to share my happiness about the Nektar Panorama Midi controller keyboard in conjunction with Cubase.

I received my Nektar Panorama P4 Midikeyboard yesterday and the intergration with Cubase as controller is just amazing.
Things like Transport functions and plugin parameter control and Mixer functions just work like a charm from the Panorama.
It's just amazing what these guys from NektarTech accomplished with their Panorama midi keyboards, regarding DAW control, not only for Cubase but for Ableton Live and upcoming Bitwig as well; hands down !!

I am happy !! :D
Macbook Retina 2015 * OSX Mojave 10.14 (always latest version) * UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt * Cubase 10 Pro (latest version) * Maschine Studio2 * Novation Impulse * Lots and lots of legal plugins.

User avatar
serenity
Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by serenity » Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:38 am

Hi,

Can you control 3rd party plugins, like Softube, UAD, Waves from Panorama ? Maybe some video ?
Pawel

Windows 10 64 bit / Cubase 10 Pro 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
www.studiomuzyczne.com

User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by vanhaze3000 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:48 am

Hi Serenity,

Yes, you can with Panorama also control parameters from Third Party Plugins within Cubase with :0)
I am on max OSX 10.9.2 , Cubase 7.5.1
Macbook Retina 2015 * OSX Mojave 10.14 (always latest version) * UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt * Cubase 10 Pro (latest version) * Maschine Studio2 * Novation Impulse * Lots and lots of legal plugins.

User avatar
xerogh
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:16 am
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by xerogh » Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:08 am

+1, I agree totally. I have a P6 and it is amazing. I've barely scratched the surface on the possibilities. Outside of the integrations the Hardware is very nice as well. The Keyboard weighting and response is much better than most MIDI controllers. Their support is great too.
x.
CB 10 Pro / HALion 6
Win 10 - 8 Core i7-9800x 3.8-4.4 GHz - 32GB RAM, 3 - M.2 NVME SSD's
Radeon RX 590 Phantom 8GB GDDR5 GPU
UAD Apollo 8 Silverface w/TB3 Card / UAD 4-710d

User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by vanhaze3000 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:56 am

+1 !!
Macbook Retina 2015 * OSX Mojave 10.14 (always latest version) * UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt * Cubase 10 Pro (latest version) * Maschine Studio2 * Novation Impulse * Lots and lots of legal plugins.

d-_-b
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by d-_-b » Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:58 am

Have they fixed the hidden tracks problem yet ?
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by spyder » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:12 am

The Nektar Panorama P1 Control Surface has a review in Sound on Sound magazine this month.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

TChandler
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 1:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by TChandler » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:51 am

d-_-b wrote:Have they fixed the hidden tracks problem yet ?
Yes, this is fixed pending the up and coming release.

TChandler
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 1:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by TChandler » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:58 am

vanhaze3000 wrote:Hi,

I am not in any way associated with NektarTech but i really wanted to share my happiness about the Nektar Panorama Midi controller keyboard in conjunction with Cubase.

I received my Nektar Panorama P4 Midikeyboard yesterday and the intergration with Cubase as controller is just amazing.
Things like Transport functions and plugin parameter control and Mixer functions just work like a charm from the Panorama.
It's just amazing what these guys from NektarTech accomplished with their Panorama midi keyboards, regarding DAW control, not only for Cubase but for Ableton Live and upcoming Bitwig as well; hands down !!

I am happy !! :D

Thanks for the kind words, glad you like your Panorama!

Best Regards,

Tim
Nektar

Torhed
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by Torhed » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:00 am

TChandler wrote:
d-_-b wrote:Have they fixed the hidden tracks problem yet ?
Yes, this is fixed pending the up and coming release.
Now that's good news. Looking forward to this release! :)
Cubase Pro 9.5, RME HDSPe, CC121, Win 10, Komplete Ultimate etc etc

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:51 am

Torhed wrote:
TChandler wrote:
d-_-b wrote:Have they fixed the hidden tracks problem yet ?
Yes, this is fixed pending the up and coming release.
Now that's good news. Looking forward to this release! :)
Me too!

@vanhaze3000 - lovin my P6 for about 6 months + now.

@serenity - there's a list on the Nektar site showing all the 3rd party plugs that are synced & controlled with it, with the list being added to regularly.
What's often undiscovered with this series is that you can even load Vst plugins straight from the Panorama itself - not even needing to reach for your mouse, just FYI.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by -steve- » Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:31 pm

TChandler wrote:
d-_-b wrote:Have they fixed the hidden tracks problem yet ?
Yes, this is fixed pending the up and coming release.
The update is now out, download speed is pretty slow though, around 100 KB/s here...

http://www.nektartech.com/Support
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:48 am

Hey, thanks Steve! But ya know, I just can't seem to find it anywhere.

I've looked in 'My Account', etc. but no go.

Do you happen to have a direct link?
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by -steve- » Fri Mar 28, 2014 7:12 am

You have to log in, then you can go to 'downloads'
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Sat Mar 29, 2014 6:18 am

SteveInChicago wrote:You have to log in, then you can go to 'downloads'
Hi Steve,

I had to log in order to do this> "I've looked in 'My Account', etc. but no go".
[Otherwise 'My Account' isn't there at the top.]

I also looked in downloads while I was there.

But...I contacted Nektar last night and received this reply today:

Update for Case #1780 - "Cubase Mixer Update"
Hi Jim,
There is a Cubase update in the works. We hope to release it soon but I can't give a concrete release date. All I can say, is that it's our top priority right now.
If you have any other questions, just let me know.
All the best,
Justin Sullivan

So I'm guessing it isn't quite ready just yet.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by -steve- » Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:30 pm

Well that's strange. I downloaded the file listed thusly:

Code: Select all

Cubase and Nuendo Integration files including plugin mapping, driver, Panorama firmware update and Installation Guide. Uploaded 2014/3/26 - version 1.0.5h
And it does seem to have fixed the hidden tracks problem (where if mix console 1 had hidden channels the P6 would get "confused")
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Sat Mar 29, 2014 9:56 pm

Whaaatttt???
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Sat Mar 29, 2014 9:56 pm

Maybe they posted it, then pulled it off again for some more fine tuning then.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Sat Mar 29, 2014 9:58 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:Well that's strange. I downloaded the file listed thusly:

Code: Select all

Cubase and Nuendo Integration files including plugin mapping, driver, Panorama firmware update and Installation Guide. Uploaded 2014/3/26 - version 1.0.5h
And it does seem to have fixed the hidden tracks problem (where if mix console 1 had hidden channels the P6 would get "confused")
Yup - and that's exactly the update we're lookin' for too!
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by -steve- » Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:23 pm

Had a look just now, It's still up there, for p1, p4 and p6. What are you seeing exactly? (You do have to enter your device in the Product Registration link to see anything)
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:42 am

SteveInChicago wrote:Had a look just now, It's still up there, for p1, p4 and p6. What are you seeing exactly? (You do have to enter your device in the Product Registration link to see anything)
Hey - I'll go have another look right now.
Last edited by jamusic on Mon Mar 31, 2014 7:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Mon Mar 31, 2014 7:06 am

Well it looks like it worked this time Steve. I didn't see this last time. Perhaps the site was being updated or something. Anyway, looks like this should do it. Thanks!
Attachments
Nektar Screen Shot.jpg
(117.07 KiB) Not downloaded yet
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


Torhed
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by Torhed » Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:01 am

Just want to confirm that the hidden tracks issue indeed is fixed! Great news - it really removes the biggest problem for me.

But: I can't find any documentation of what's included in the new version. Has anyone else found this?
Cubase Pro 9.5, RME HDSPe, CC121, Win 10, Komplete Ultimate etc etc

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:17 am

Torhed wrote:Just want to confirm that the hidden tracks issue indeed is fixed! Great news - it really removes the biggest problem for me.

But: I can't find any documentation of what's included in the new version. Has anyone else found this?
Great news indeed.

I've yet to try it.

But I have this silly little thing that constantly gets in the way of my Cubasing - what is it again?

Oh yeah - it's called work!
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Nektar Panorama as a Cubase Controller : Awesome !!

Post by jamusic » Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:39 am

Well it's official now.

In case anyone didn't get the newsletter, mine came today in the email bag the stork dropped off on the roof top. :lol:

In the newsletter it says:

'The installer was uploaded March 29, so if you have downloaded and updated your system after this time, you already have the latest version.'

[T'was on the day after my email was answered on March 28, when the release date was still undecided - about 10 posts up.]
Attachments
1-Fullscreen capture 04042014 91612 PM.jpg
(78.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest