CPU spikes // Ski Remote // WAN Card

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
Boybianchi
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:24 pm
Contact:

CPU spikes // Ski Remote // WAN Card

Post by Boybianchi » Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:37 pm

Hi,

Hope you can provide some help.
Running Cubase 7.5 64bit on Win 7 64bit (pc).
i5, 16gig

Untill yesterday, nothing but a smooth ride.
Wanted to try out Ski Remote.
Bought a WLAN card, and installed SKi Remote and bought Cubase Ic Pro (ipad).

Everything works, but every minute or so, my cpu spikes like crazy, resulting in crackling.
After hours of testing the WLAN card turned out to be the problemo.

Disabled, smooth ride
Enabled, periodical spikes (with OR without Ski Remote enabled, doesn't matter).

Card: TP Link 300 mbps, model WN851ND.
Tried updating drivers, didn't work.

Has anyone experienced similar issues? Are there types of WLAN cards Cubase doesn't like?

Any help = much appreciated!! :)
Thnx.
Last edited by Boybianchi on Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU spikes // Ski Remote // WAN Card

Post by BriHar » Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:43 pm

Especially if that's a Cisco product, the spikes are probably caused when the device sends data to the NSA. ;) :lol:
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Boybianchi
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:24 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU spikes // Ski Remote // WAN Card

Post by Boybianchi » Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:48 pm

:D

I hope they (NSA) won't publish my effect chains. That's my secret! SH...T! ;)

But serioulsy, any ideas? :?

User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
Posts: 1456
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU spikes // Ski Remote // WAN Card

Post by Jarno » Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:01 pm

Boybianchi wrote:any ideas?
1. Move card into another PCI slot.
2. Check if the manufacturer have updated driver available.
If either of these works, you might have better luck with another brand/model of WLAN card.

PS. It's WLAN (Wireless Local Area Network), not WAN (Wide Area Network). Two completely different things.
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier

Boybianchi
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:24 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU spikes // Ski Remote // WAN Card

Post by Boybianchi » Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:07 pm

1. I will try moving to another slot.
2.
Card: TP Link 300 mbps, model WN851ND.
Tried updating drivers, didn't work.
3. changed to WLAN. oops, thanks. :)

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: CPU spikes // Ski Remote // WAN Card

Post by Patanjali » Tue Jun 24, 2014 7:29 pm

Using a WLAN card in your DAW may be upsetting things, as such cards have been known to do.

Better to connect the DAW via wired LAN (indirectly via LAN switches/routers is OK) to your wireless router.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests