Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
raytracer
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:05 am
Contact:

Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by raytracer » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:15 am

Is it possible to change the length of an audio clip in Cubase 7 via dragging in the project timeline without using any of Cubase's fancy time/pitch shifting algorithms? I want to change the length of a drum loop and have the pitch change accordingly, just like it would if slowing down or speeding up on a record player.

As far as I know this can be done by transposing the audio, but dragging in the time line is really convenient when needing to match tempo. For example using a 120bpm drum loop in a 127bmp project.

Cubase's time/pitch stretching algorithms are great but sometimes I want the old school sound you'd hear if you were using a sampler or piece of vinyl.

Right now I'm using Cubase 6.5 which can't do this. If Cubase 7 can, I will upgrade right now!

User avatar
musicbeat
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:11 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by musicbeat » Thu Aug 21, 2014 10:25 am

Change the events algorithm in the Pool.........there's one that allows this feature
i7-6700 3.4 ghz 32 go L2|W10 x64
Cubase Pro 9.5|HALion 6|Cubasis|Groove Agent Pro|Spectrasonics Bundle
RME BabyFace|AxiomPro49|Focal Pro-CMS 40's

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by Grim » Thu Aug 21, 2014 10:31 am

It's called Elastique Tape.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

raytracer
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by raytracer » Fri Aug 22, 2014 6:12 am

Grim wrote:It's called Elastique Tape.
In Cubase6.5 Elastique Tape adds some odd, horrible sounding artifacts to the beginning of an audio clip. Does it do this is Cubase7? Either way the artifacts make me think the Elastique tape mode is still doing some processing. I would like cubase to just do a basic resample, no fancy stuff.

raytracer
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by raytracer » Fri Aug 22, 2014 6:13 am

musicbeat wrote:Change the events algorithm in the Pool.........there's one that allows this feature
Is that the Elastique Tape mode Grim mentioned above?

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by Grim » Fri Aug 22, 2014 10:38 am

It is still doing some processing....not sure why.

If you just want pure speeding/slowing of the audio like a sampler, use a simple vst sampler.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

raytracer
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by raytracer » Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:17 pm

Grim wrote:It is still doing some processing....not sure why.

If you just want pure speeding/slowing of the audio like a sampler, use a simple vst sampler.
Thanks Grim. I was really hoping Steinberg had changed this in Cubase7. Using a VST sampler is no problem but it would be a whole lot easier to be able to do this on the audio track. :cry:

I'm also starting to play with recording modular CV signals via the Expert Sleeper modules. Think LFO and gate signals. I think it will be really useful to have Cubase sending LFO signals directly to the modular. Things will be in sync from take to take. A straight time stretch without preserving pitch would be super useful for stretch/shrinking the LFO signals.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:35 pm

raytracer wrote:
Grim wrote:It's called Elastique Tape.
In Cubase6.5 Elastique Tape adds some odd, horrible sounding artifacts to the beginning of an audio clip. Does it do this is Cubase7? Either way the artifacts make me think the Elastique tape mode is still doing some processing. I would like cubase to just do a basic resample, no fancy stuff.
yes, elastique is still broken (has never been impemented correctly to be precise).
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

GuruComposer
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 4:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by GuruComposer » Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:06 pm

Is there still no way to do this in 2017!?

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase timestretch WITHOUT preserving pitch

Post by Grim » Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:26 pm

What actual version are you using and what exactly would you like to do?
I assume Cubase 9 as it's 2017!?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests