Icicle/C7 Connection

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
queuebrute
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:38 pm
Contact:

Icicle/C7 Connection

Post by queuebrute » Mon Sep 15, 2014 10:12 pm

Hello, all.(Newbie alert!) My apologies if this has been answered before... I couldn't find it. On my Win8 PC, Cubase 7 doesn't see my new "Icicle" Inline XLR/USB mic signal converter ('Blue' technologies). My research so far, indicates that 'Icicle' is supposed to be Plug 'n' Play - requiring no drivers - and no docs came with the product. The default soundcard on the PC connects with the Icicle seamlessly, but Cubase doesn't seem to display or even list its input anywhere. So ...what am I missing? Thx in advance.

sound-booth
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:05 am

Re: Icicle/C7 Connection

Post by sound-booth » Mon Sep 15, 2014 10:46 pm

queuebrute wrote:what am I missing? Thx in advance.
Cubase contrary to windows uses ASIO driver. If your audio hardware does not come with it´s own, you need to use generic ones, therfore your interface is not listed by name.

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Icicle/C7 Connection

Post by GargoyleStudio » Tue Sep 16, 2014 5:12 pm

I quite often use ASIO4ALL which presents and ASIO driver to Cubase and allows low-latency connection through to a non-ASIO device. But it can be a bit fiddly.... In fact, that's what I use on my laptop to record rehearsals using my USB zoom hd3 recorder to save me having to transfer from the SD card! It works well once it's set up.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

queuebrute
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Icicle/C7 Connection

Post by queuebrute » Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:25 pm

So... you're saying that neither my Windows default ASIO nor my Yamaha-Steinberg ASIO drivers are compatible with this particular 3rd party product - is that right? I'll give the ASIO4all a try... many thx.
-doug (Win8 64bit / Cubase 7.5)

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Icicle/C7 Connection

Post by GargoyleStudio » Fri Sep 19, 2014 12:06 pm

It's more that the device manufacturer must supply their own ASIO drivers which Cubase then connects to.

However, if have Generic Low Latency ASIO or Direct X ASIO drivers too, then I think you can use these by setting the default playback device to your required output. All your windows sounds will also come through there as well, but this can be set to 'No Sounds'. The downside of this is usually that the latency is massive, hence calling on ASIO4ALL because it provides low latency.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

queuebrute
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Icicle/C7 Connection

Post by queuebrute » Sun Sep 21, 2014 1:09 am

Ok, ASIO4ALL did the trick... Thx for the clarification, too.
-doug (Win8 64bit / Cubase 7.5)

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests