cross fading experts?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

cross fading experts?

Post by MHSound »

Hello all,

New-ish to Cubase and i'm using it more and more on bigger and more complicated projects. So far it's been great!

I recently had a project that needed LOTS of audio editing and chopping. Thus needing lots crossfading. Sadly, I feel like I wasted TONS of time dealing with cross fades when normally I can do massive amounts in one go with a dialog box. (DP and PT do this)

I've read the manual, many times in the Cross fading department and I'm thinking there HAS to be a better way. Something that maybe experts on this forum do that isn't in the manual..

What i'd like to do is highlight an entire track, full of edits, open a dialog box, and say "Cross fade at 10 ticks". Click.. BOOM.. DONE. Or better yet, when two tracks are next to each other, be able to grab the top area (where you'd normally fade in/out) and that applies a crossfade..

It seems to do this in Cubase you have to first MAKE cross fades.. So you go in, select each edit with the selector tool, hit X, then it makes the crossfade, then you can open the dialog box and input the length..

This seems very complicated for such a basic function..

Can some of you lend me your expertise? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

MH

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by theRoyal1 »

Not an expert, rarely use Xfades but i'm thinking a Macro where you can hilight then hit something like "Shift+X" and it will Xfade..

Again, not an expert here

:geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 930
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by Luis Dongo »

MHSound wrote:Hello all,

New-ish to Cubase and i'm using it more and more on bigger and more complicated projects. So far it's been great!

I recently had a project that needed LOTS of audio editing and chopping. Thus needing lots crossfading. Sadly, I feel like I wasted TONS of time dealing with cross fades when normally I can do massive amounts in one go with a dialog box. (DP and PT do this)

I've read the manual, many times in the Cross fading department and I'm thinking there HAS to be a better way. Something that maybe experts on this forum do that isn't in the manual..

What i'd like to do is highlight an entire track, full of edits, open a dialog box, and say "Cross fade at 10 ticks". Click.. BOOM.. DONE. Or better yet, when two tracks are next to each other, be able to grab the top area (where you'd normally fade in/out) and that applies a crossfade..

It seems to do this in Cubase you have to first MAKE cross fades.. So you go in, select each edit with the selector tool, hit X, then it makes the crossfade, then you can open the dialog box and input the length..

This seems very complicated for such a basic function..

Can some of you lend me your expertise? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

MH
Hi MHSound,

I'm not sure if I understood you correctly, but I don't see how this is complicated. I personally find it extremly simple and easy to do. You can do ALL your crossfades in one go, just like you described it. You just have to select all the events or parts you want to crossfade (Ctrl + a) then just press "x" double click on one of those crossfades to open the Fade editor and adjust the values, which will apply to all selected crossfades. How is that complicated?

Regards
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by GargoyleStudio »

I turn on auto-crossfade (and auto-fades), which then means I no longer have to worry about clicks or zero crossings. It automatically fades at the edges of clips and crossfades at boundaries. Works great for me. And if I need a more precise crossfade than the default (say 50ms, you can change it) then I manually create it using the X key, which over-rides the auto crossfade.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by MHSound »

Luis Dongo wrote:You can do ALL your crossfades in one go, just like you described it. You just have to select all the events or parts you want to crossfade (Ctrl + a) then just press "x" double click on one of those crossfades to open the Fade editor and adjust the values, which will apply to all selected crossfades. How is that complicated?
Thank you for your response. I wasn't saying that it's complicated, i'm just saying that clearly I'M doing something wrong and I was looking for a quicker solution. I have some down time today and I'll try your method. I remember trying this however, and it would give me all these strange cross fades, like massively long crossfades, or it would take an entire section and apply a huge crossfade, as opposed to just adding small crossfades at the beginning and end of the audio part.
GargoyleStudio wrote:I turn on auto-crossfade (and auto-fades)
Yes! I discovered this mid-way through the project. It helped a lot! I like that it's kinda like Ableton Live in that you never really crossfade in Ableton. Much better than in DP/PT where you ALWAYS get pops at edits. It's an old habit that I have to break, but it will be a big time saver!!

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll try them now and report back if I have any issues..

~MH

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by GargoyleStudio »

I think the problem with using X and multiple events may be that the X-fade will be created as the size of the part overlap rather than say a default 50ms. That's the way it works IIRC, and I find that useful because I can create a long crossfade by making the parts overlap a large amount and then clicking X. In you're world perhaps that means you have to be super careful about the size of overlap before selecting all the events and pressing the X key?

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by MHSound »

Yea I think the crazy big crossfades happened as a result of me pasting sections from another version onto the COMP track. So the overlapping event was the entire length.. So when I pressed X, instead of making 2 small crossfades at the edges (like i thought it would) it made that entire event a big crossfade..

So there is NOT a way to have X (or some other function) make crossfades at the begging and end of regions/events? I'm going to see if I can make a macro somehow like theRoyal suggests. maybe have it be: X--> Select Events on track --> Open Crossfade Dialog..

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by GargoyleStudio »

I think there's a command called Delete Overlaps, but I've not used it. By the sound of it though it'd remove those overlaps and then the X key would work as you need it to. Perhaps you could write a macro to do both things in succession?

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by MHSound »

Okay.. this is the issue I experienced while working the other day... I must be doing something wrong.

Part is overlapping, and I select region to apply crossfade
Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.48.56 AM.png
(35.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Press X.. what?!?!
Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.49.03 AM.png
(44.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Okay, so lets just choose a smaller region to crossfade..
Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.49.16 AM.png
(35.77 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Then it deletes everything and still adds weird crossfades..

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by MHSound »

last picture (could only do 3 at a time)
Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.49.21 AM.png
(40.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by GargoyleStudio »

Yeah, I think that's because the smaller part is completely overlapping the larger part.... Not that I've really noticed but it does do strange things if the parts are completely overlapping. But of course, it doesn't really seem logical to create crossfades like that so you could flag it up with Steinberg!! My only suggestion is the Delete Overlaps function?

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by MHSound »

AH HA!! got it...

There is a "Delete Overlaps" function, but that doesn't seem to do anything...

HOWEVER, when you have a overlapping part like I showed, there is a little Down Arrow on that part, and if you click that it gives an option called "Remove Overlaps". If I select that, it removes the overlaps, THEN I can select the region, press X, and BOOM! little crossfades appear at the beginning and end! WOO!!!

Sadly, the "remove overlaps" is not an assignable key command.. so no macro for me. But at least I know now what I can do in that situation.

Hopefully this helps other newbies like me figure that out. I wish it didn't care about the overlapping part, but this solution will do!


Thanks for the help!

~MH

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by GargoyleStudio »

Cleanup Lanes rings a bell, its that a function anywhere? Just clutching at straws cos I'm not in front of the DAW at the mo...
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by MHSound »

hmm Not sure..

I also found that if you have an overlapping part like I showed, you can just click on it, then press X and it does indeed add little crossfades at the beginning and end!

I'm good to go! Just had to get over that learning curve since it's not done exactly how other DAWS are when it comes to crossfades.. Makes sense now.

THANKS!!!!

~MH

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by GargoyleStudio »

I think the key to it is that ProTools doesn't have lanes so when you record over something it really does record over it (even though it's still in a file or beyond the part boundary somewhere). Whereas Cubase just stacks new recordings on top of each other and therefore layers up loads of events.

Anyway, glad you're sorted.

BTW, I just tried Delete Overlaps on a bunch of selected parts which overlapped and they all moved to a single lane and anything that was overlapped disappeared - surely this is just what you need isn't it?

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: cross fading experts?

Post by MHSound »

GargoyleStudio wrote:BTW, I just tried Delete Overlaps on a bunch of selected parts which overlapped and they all moved to a single lane and anything that was overlapped disappeared - surely this is just what you need isn't it?
Ahh I see. Yea I actually don't use the lanes function. I'm SO glad that in 7.5 they added Versions which is like "Takes" to me.. this was much more homey feeling coming from PT and DP. To me the lanes is confusing, but i'm sure it makes total sense to long term Cubase dudes.. I just keep things in one track and use Duplicate Versions/New Versions.

Again, it's old habits from working 15+ years in DP and PT. Hard to break when you are under the pressure of a deadline..

All the best,

MH

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests