Screen flashes white on Windows

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
paaltio
Junior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:12 pm
Contact:

Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by paaltio » Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:57 pm

When having the project window maximized and opening a maximized key editor, the entire screen flashes white for a short while as the key editor window updates. This is pretty hard on the eyes when repeated a lot on a large monitor.

Cubase 7.5 doesn't exhibit the same behavior. Issue occurs at least on Cubase 8.0.0 64-bit, Windows 7.

EDIT: Full specs sent via PM.

Also, noticed that while it flashes white, you can see a blue title bar for the Key Editor on the top, with the title in the left corner. So apparently the white is related to this "unfinished" window that then gets updated to have the correct look.
Last edited by paaltio on Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3970X 32-Core, ASUS ROG Zenith II Extreme, 256GB RAM, RME HDSPe AIO, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10 (1909)

User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by Guillermo » Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:24 pm

Hello,

Do you have AEREO activated? Could you please elaborate on your system specifications or place them on your signature?
Are you sure you have your graphics card drivers up to date?

Best regards,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

Manna-Croup
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by Manna-Croup » Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:39 pm

I have The Same Problem.
White Flashes, when i open mixer, key editor, sample editor etc...
My Video:
AMD Radeon 7800 series with latest Drivers.
Aero - Active.

johnstaf
Junior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:53 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by johnstaf » Mon Dec 08, 2014 6:30 am

I get this but I assumed it was just a new screen being drawn. If I use alt+tab to switch between windows that already exist, this doesn't happen. I'm on Win 8, so no aero.
Lots of stuff. OS agnostic.

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by Brandy » Mon Dec 08, 2014 3:39 pm

I can confirm similar issues here - everything runs like a charm, Aero is on etc - when I hit F3 for the Mixer for example I have a white screen for about half a second - no dropouts, no crashes - but I would agree that on a quad head setup that short "white screen" is somewhat annoying - at least it does not look "smooth" to clients etc...
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

franbeck
Junior Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by franbeck » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:18 am

also happens here.
But actually this is a problem that also occurs with Cubase 7 and is produce by the Aereo in Windows, to avoid that you need to deactivated it, now this is not possible anymore cause c8 wont open.
The interesting thing is that if you open C8 and then you go to: system Properties-Performances Options - Visual Effects and you disable desktop composition living the Enable Aereo peek, the flashing white wont occurs any more.
Of course C8 will crash after that, but is important to now this behavior. (Maybe leave place for a solution )
Win 10 64bit
i7 8700 K 3.70GHZ
AMD Radeon HD 6450
Cubase 10.5

Tracker
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by Tracker » Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:07 pm

Happens to me when pulling up mixer windows.
Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 64bit, RME HDSPe AIO, UAD-2
I7 6800k(4.3ghz), Asus X99-A, 64gb 3200 ddr4(4x16)
Radeon RX560 triple monitors (2x22" dvi, 1x55" 4k hdmi).

User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by Guillermo » Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:06 pm

Hello all,

Have you tried resetting the Mixer?
While holding the Alt key click on the functions menu of the Mixer and select "Reset Mix console window".
It is the arrow on the upper right corner of the mixer.

Best regards,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

bduffy
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by bduffy » Fri Dec 12, 2014 5:39 pm

I get this occassionally—since Cubase 7.0—on the Key Editor only (not the mix console at all), on Mac OS X 10.9.
bduffy
Cubase 8 Pro| Mac OS X 10.9 | Early 2008 Mac Pro (Dual 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon)
Steinberg MR816 CSX | Wavelab 7/8/8.5
UAD 2 Duo | Waves Mercury | Kontakt | Zebra2 | Omnisphere | SD2 | A Bunch of Other Crap


polynasia
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by polynasia » Sat Dec 13, 2014 9:14 am

I also get this short white flash when opening Mixer in C8, (was not there/noticeable in C7.5)
WIn7 64bit Aero, GTX770 newest Drivers, Core i5, 16GB, 1 Screen

pmcomposer
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by pmcomposer » Sat Dec 13, 2014 2:43 pm

Same here. Any Cubase window, that is being opened (rather than Alt-tabbed) first flashes white, then it's being filled with proper content. So the window is first being opened empty, then drawn.

Plugin windows (graphics intensive) tend to flash when they are being closed too.

VST Instruments window (F11), when full of plugins is first being opened empty - you can only see the top bar and the border, then it's filled with content after a while.

Windows 7 64bit, Intel i7, 64GB RAM, Geforce 210 (2 of these, latest drivers), Aero on.

- Piotr

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Sat Dec 13, 2014 10:34 pm

Here too.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

vespesian
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by vespesian » Sun Dec 14, 2014 4:46 am

It even happens in Greg Ondo's video on c8's gui enhancements, which is ironic.

User avatar
lordadb
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by lordadb » Sun Dec 14, 2014 10:42 pm

Here the same.
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit.
Cubase Pro 10.5.12 (italian) - Win 10 Pro x64 - CPU AMD FX-8350 @ 4.42 GHz - RAM 16 GB - TC Electronic StudioKonnekt 48 (x2) - ATI Sapphire R7 250 Ultimate - Controller: Steinberg CMC-CH, Icon Qcon Pro X+XS, Novation Remote ZERO SL
My studio gears: http://lipstickstudio.maurolamanna.it/a ... -list-ita/

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by galvinstephen » Mon Dec 15, 2014 3:55 pm

+1
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.5 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 3 Wavelab Pro 10
Laptop: MSI Intel i7-9750 CPU @ 2.6GHz 32GB RAM. Windows 10 64bit. Intel SSD 300GB +500GB.
Desktop: Intel i7-9700 CPU @ 3 GHz 32GB RAM Windows 10 Intel SSD 500GB +1TB +1TB.

Focusrite Scarlett 1820, Octopre, Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

Dastern
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by Dastern » Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:04 am

Same here with Windows 7 and 8.1 pro.

Nvidia GFX card (GTX 970) has latest drivers...

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by Luis Dongo » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:03 pm

Hi,

I moved this thread out of the Issue Reports Forum because it is not a bug, it is just how it works. Although it is not pretty, it is not a fault in the programming.

Our devs know about it and are working on a way to make this more manageable, but it still doesn't fall in the "bug" category.

Regards
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

bduffy
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by bduffy » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:57 am

What? I'm sorry, but how can the screen randomly flashing be "the way that it works"??
bduffy
Cubase 8 Pro| Mac OS X 10.9 | Early 2008 Mac Pro (Dual 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon)
Steinberg MR816 CSX | Wavelab 7/8/8.5
UAD 2 Duo | Waves Mercury | Kontakt | Zebra2 | Omnisphere | SD2 | A Bunch of Other Crap


bduffy
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by bduffy » Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:09 am

How could the screen flashing white, randomly not be a bug? It only happens in Cubase, and I've only experienced it in the last year or so.
bduffy
Cubase 8 Pro| Mac OS X 10.9 | Early 2008 Mac Pro (Dual 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon)
Steinberg MR816 CSX | Wavelab 7/8/8.5
UAD 2 Duo | Waves Mercury | Kontakt | Zebra2 | Omnisphere | SD2 | A Bunch of Other Crap


User avatar
lordadb
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Contact:

Re: Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by lordadb » Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:45 am

bduffy wrote:How could the screen flashing white, randomly not be a bug? It only happens in Cubase, and I've only experienced it in the last year or so.
I agree. Can't be "how it works"'. It works wrong and a fix is needed. Period.
And yes, it happens only in Cubase.
Cubase Pro 10.5.12 (italian) - Win 10 Pro x64 - CPU AMD FX-8350 @ 4.42 GHz - RAM 16 GB - TC Electronic StudioKonnekt 48 (x2) - ATI Sapphire R7 250 Ultimate - Controller: Steinberg CMC-CH, Icon Qcon Pro X+XS, Novation Remote ZERO SL
My studio gears: http://lipstickstudio.maurolamanna.it/a ... -list-ita/

Dastern
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE]Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by Dastern » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:34 pm

Luis Dongo wrote:Hi,

I moved this thread out of the Issue Reports Forum because it is not a bug, it is just how it works. Although it is not pretty, it is not a fault in the programming.

Our devs know about it and are working on a way to make this more manageable, but it still doesn't fall in the "bug" category.

Regards
Aight! Its feature, not a bug!

Please get rid of features like this! I want the mixer and any other window to open immediately, without any fancy animations!
Creativity first!

pmcomposer
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by pmcomposer » Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:17 pm

Sitting in front of a 27" screen I can already tell you, that working for 10 hours a day with a full screen flash every time you open piano roll is just not going to end well. I'm a composer, not a photo model ;).

Please reconsider and take a look into this issue.

- Piotr

franbeck
Junior Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by franbeck » Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:35 pm

pmcomposer wrote:Sitting in front of a 27" screen I can already tell you, that working for 10 hours a day with a full screen flash every time you open piano roll is just not going to end well. I'm a composer, not a photo model ;).

Please reconsider and take a look into this issue.

- Piotr
They should add the option to work with the Aero or not. but not just force you to use this thing. :oops:
Win 10 64bit
i7 8700 K 3.70GHZ
AMD Radeon HD 6450
Cubase 10.5

User avatar
lordadb
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Contact:

Re: Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by lordadb » Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:44 pm

Keep open the mixconsole and use instead CTRL+TAB to switch the windows.
Cubase Pro 10.5.12 (italian) - Win 10 Pro x64 - CPU AMD FX-8350 @ 4.42 GHz - RAM 16 GB - TC Electronic StudioKonnekt 48 (x2) - ATI Sapphire R7 250 Ultimate - Controller: Steinberg CMC-CH, Icon Qcon Pro X+XS, Novation Remote ZERO SL
My studio gears: http://lipstickstudio.maurolamanna.it/a ... -list-ita/

pmcomposer
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Screen flashes white on Windows

Post by pmcomposer » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:39 pm

I don't close the mixerconsole. But I open midi editor for different events like 500 times an hour? That's a lot of fullscreen flashing :/.

This is basically how it looks like.
http://youtu.be/OGeUUmZ21zE

- Piotr

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests