Lock the Playback cursor to mouse when zooming from timeline

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
srdigital
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:19 pm
Contact:

Lock the Playback cursor to mouse when zooming from timeline

Post by srdigital » Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:25 pm

in all previous version of Cubase, when one would click and drag on the timeline and use the cursor to locate + zoom simultaneously, the location of the mouse pointer does not scale. for example, in Cubase 7.5 if I click and drag downwards on the timeline, the cursor locks to the position of the mouse pointer and stays this way while zooming (up+down movements while holding the click) and locating (horizontal movements while holding the click).

However, while doing the same click and drag in Cubase 8, the cursor becomes 'detached' from the mouse pointer, and does not scale 1:1 when zooming in or out and locating at the same time. I often use the cursor as a point of reference, and being able to locate and zoom at the same time is a huge priority of mine as far as workflow efficiency is concerned.

I am using windows 8.1 and Cubase 8 64 bit. was able to replicate this both in and out of projects as it seems to be a transport/mouse issue rather than project related

trashdinner
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by trashdinner » Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:29 am

Same here and it's really annoying!! I attached a video showing the behavior

Edit: attachement didn't work. Here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_rnxq3b ... e=youtu.be

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by resomedia » Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:07 pm

I can confirm this as well on my Mac Pro. Please fix!
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

emreyazgin
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by emreyazgin » Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:15 pm

In the previous cubase 7 and 7.5 there was a problem with zoom with mouse where there was a latency. Now they have managed to add a new problem to this....bravo!.
I7 2600K, Gigabyte Z58X - UD5 (Texas Instrument FireWire chipset), 16GB Kingston 1600 Mhz RAM, 4 TB total HD, Passive Sapphire 1GB video card, Coolermaster case + Coolermaster 750 Watt Silent PSU, UAD 2 QUAD NEVANA, UAD 2 PCIe, RME FIREFACE 800, Nord Lead 2X, Virus C, Yamaha P80, Nord Electro 3, Safe Sound Audio P1, Avedis MA5, Buzzuadio Potion, Speck ASC-V, API 512C, DIY 1176 clone, MOTU 128 Express, Lexicon MPX1, TC M-One, Yamaha SPX-2000, Marshall JMP1, Radial Jensen DI, Adam A7, Mackie 10" sub, iNano monitor controller....Lots of nice VSTI's, VST "soft-board" and effects...ah and two small Creative speakers ;)

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:53 pm

+1 for fix
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

RICCSWE
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:36 am
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by RICCSWE » Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:47 pm

Same problem for me. (Win7)
And the graphic is also a bit more laggy when I zoom with the mose compared to Cubase 7

outloaf
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by outloaf » Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:38 pm

+1 for a fix on this.. It's mildly frustrating.
Windows 10, i7 6700k, RME UCX, Cubase 8.5 and 10 pro, Lavry Converters, Audient ASP008, A-Designs MP2A, Mesa Mark V, 5150, Boogie and Bogner cabs

Phil_82
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by Phil_82 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:37 pm

Happening to me too! Absolute nightmare when trying to edit drums - please fix!

Cubase "Pro" 8 - OSX Mavericks - Mac Pro

outloaf
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by outloaf » Wed Dec 31, 2014 9:55 am

This is a pretty blatantly obvious one-- no idea how QA didn't catch it before the release.
Windows 10, i7 6700k, RME UCX, Cubase 8.5 and 10 pro, Lavry Converters, Audient ASP008, A-Designs MP2A, Mesa Mark V, 5150, Boogie and Bogner cabs

Willie Green
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:47 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by Willie Green » Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:37 pm

+1 for a fix, this is a major hamper to my workflow
"These records aren't gonna make themselves"
http://www.WillieGreenMusic.com
Win 8 Pro 64-Bit/Cubase 8.0.20 64-Bit/Wavelab Elements 8.0.3./MOTU PCI-E 424/MOTU 1224 (x2)/2408 MkIII/UAD-2 Solo/Waves 9.14/SoundToys/URS

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by -steve- » Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:05 pm

This is not a bug, actually, as the function has been redesigned- though apparently not documented.

In brief, horizontal and vertical mouse movements are completely separate, and yes, the mouse pointer doesn't 'ride' along exaclty. But I found, once I learned how it changed, it is easier to zoom and navigate.

If you take some time to learn the new method you might find that it's a better system.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

outloaf
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by outloaf » Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:44 am

I've recorded 2 EP's already with C8 and it's still a hindrance for me personally. Steve, how does it make workflow easier for you?
Windows 10, i7 6700k, RME UCX, Cubase 8.5 and 10 pro, Lavry Converters, Audient ASP008, A-Designs MP2A, Mesa Mark V, 5150, Boogie and Bogner cabs

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by -steve- » Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:55 am

I used to drag from the timeline and I would confound my horizontal and vertical movements- i.e., if I wanted to zoom to a certain spot in the project it was difficult. With the new function I find it completely predictable- vertical movements zoom, and horizontal movements navigate, and they do not mix.

I also do not like when functions change without documentation, but in this case, for me it worked.

(I'll move this to General., so each response doesn't require approval, in case others want to weigh in.)
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by resomedia » Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:36 pm

I guess I don't understand what you mean by "new function". What is quicker than click/holding on ruler at the spot where you want to edit and dragging straight down, zooming out the project area to desired width? The issue is the mouse not staying locked to the timeline marker as is shown in the video example above. Sometimes working quickly the mouse and timeline get far enough apart that they are no longer on the same screen and I loose my place in the project.
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by -steve- » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:11 pm

I guess I don't understand what you mean by "new function". What is quicker than click/holding on ruler at the spot where you want to edit and dragging straight down, zooming out the project area to desired width?
My current machine does not have C7.5 on it... When I get a chance I'll look at this on my laptop to compare the behavior with C8 and try to come up with a better explanation. (or maybe someone will chime in with one.) :oops:
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

trashdinner
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by trashdinner » Fri Jan 09, 2015 8:12 pm

I hope you are wrong and it's a bug cause I can't find any good use of this .. it's just annoying and frustrating :( This and the MCU being broken again are the 2 main reasons why I miss 7.5 atm. I'm a Cubase dfender but I'm getting tired of buggy upgrades!

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by resomedia » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:04 pm

Trashdinner's vid above is a great example, but I've included a couple as well. Here is Pro8 compared with 7.5. Notice the difference in the way the arrow stays with the timeline. In 7.5 it's a tight lock, in 8 it's all over the place which results in loosing my place in the project. I just wanted to show things moving a little faster and how in 8 it can slow the workflow. Side note in Pro 8, notice too the blackouts throughout. I'm getting these occasionally while zooming in any C8 project. Not as bad as this video, but they are occurring. Don't know why. Hope this is helpful.

[mod edit- dead link removed]

opps, sorry, deleted these vids. After a couple of weeks working in 8, I finally went back to 7.5 and it's much tighter editing there. Waiting to see if this is addressed before committing to 8+.
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

Rappy
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by Rappy » Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:36 pm

This is the most frustrating "Feature" ever. Any time I try and locate my cursor in the timeline it goes haywire. I mean Haywire. Zooming out randomly, then if I change direction, it zooms back in then switches randomly to zooming out again. It's absolutely ridiculous. Why are Steinberg so lame at basic functionality? It's embarrassing. I wish I didn't make the jump from Logic sometimes.

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by BriHar » Thu Feb 12, 2015 10:06 pm

I have to agree with Steve on this, I find it an improvement. What might be screwing people up though is that if snap is on, at certain zoom levels, the snap takes effect, and at other zoom levels (zoomed in) there is no snap. I can imagine that with some snap settings this could cause confusing cursor jumps. Try it with snap off to see how the control actually handles ("F"to toggle snap).
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Rappy
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by Rappy » Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:01 pm

I can hardly believe we are talking about the same thing. There is no way this behaviour is on purpose.
It also seems like my issue is different from the OP's. SInce my cursor doesn't move at all when I move horizontally if its drag zooming.

I took a screen recording... https://vid.me/emdl

As you can see the response is so erratic and unpredictable. I have tried with snap on and off. Makes little difference.

I just submitted a ticket for this issue, since it seems no one has mentioned before that horizontal dragging now seems to sometimes engage the zoom and other times will move the cursor (as it should always).

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by BriHar » Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:12 am

Just a note, the "Zoom while Locating in Time Scale" in the Preferences, no longer seems to have any influence on this function ;)
Furthermore, perhaps it's just my installation, the zoom preset pallet appears to be empty apart from the Full, Locators, Add and Organize selections (6 minutes -> 1ms are all missing) regardless of timeline format.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Fri Feb 13, 2015 1:28 pm

BriHar wrote:Just a note, the "Zoom while Locating in Time Scale" in the Preferences, no longer seems to have any influence on this function ;)
this i think was filed as issue i think, however this...
BriHar wrote: Furthermore, perhaps it's just my installation, the zoom preset pallet appears to be empty apart from the Full, Locators, Add and Organize selections (6 minutes -> 1ms are all missing) regardless of timeline format.
...i'd report if it's really the case.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by BriHar » Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:15 pm

Yes you're right, just checked Zoom while Locating in Time Scale is indeed corroborated.

Regarding the zoom presets, the presets are stored in the \Presets\RAMPresets.xml, so I might check the difference between my C7.5 RAMPresets.xml and the C8 ones (and add them if missing) I know for a fact they are present in C7.5.
I was really just wondering if any one else could confirm they are generally missing in C8.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by BriHar » Sat Feb 14, 2015 1:23 am

I checked the RAMPresets.xml in both 7.5 and 8 and they (as well as a number of other presets) are missing in 8. The file in 7.5 is 72KB while in 8 it is only 21KB. I don't think it wise to exchange the files nor add missing excerpts because there may have been changes in how these are handled, some entries have been moved to a new Windows Layouts.xml,not to mention differing ID Numbers and names.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: mouse pointer does not scale with cursor when dragging

Post by resomedia » Fri Mar 13, 2015 3:01 pm

This issue has NOT been fixed in the latest 8.10 update! Why?!?
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests