Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
bigboi
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:12 am
Contact:

Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by bigboi » Mon Dec 08, 2014 3:40 am

So after browsing the new Cubase 8 forums, it has become obvious that Steiny has loaded our favorite DAW with tons of great stuff.

I have already seen many things that were, at first glance, not obvious....hence the creation of this thread. Please feel free to load this thread with new enhancements that might otherwise have gone unnoticed. Steinberg has done a great job with vids explaining some new enhancements and features. Now let's see if we can add all the smaller things to one place...kind of a primer for lesser known goodies.

Can't wait to see what all shows up here!

Frank

www.solidsound.com

User avatar
stereolost
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:49 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by stereolost » Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:03 am

Now you can disable Instrument Tracks, which makes it easier to use large templates.
3.49 hHz Intel Core i7 16GB RAM
UAD Apollo Thunderbolt
OSX 10.8.4 - Cubase 8
Komplete 9U, East West CCC, Omnisphere, Superior Drummer, Slate Digital, KVR Freeware

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by KDEF2004 » Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:22 am

The Arpache SX has two new menu's in the presets section:

Piano Sequences
Guitar Sequences

8-)
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by vic_france » Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:24 am

Have you noticed that the Inspector in the Project window is now scrollable? :)
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

djrustycans
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by djrustycans » Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:20 am

Yes, disabling of instrument tracks is HUGE. Now I can unload Play and Hollywood strings from Ram after 'rendering in place' and go back and enable the instrument track if I need to edit the midi parts. This is fantastic and works in a similar way to Pro Tools.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:42 am

vic_france wrote:Have you noticed that the Inspector in the Project window is now scrollable? :)
it had been before too, by holding the middle mouse button and dragging (on pc anyway).
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1679
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by mozizo » Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:01 am

record output to track on midi inserts (wasn't there before i think ) :P
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by vic_france » Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:02 am

mozizo wrote:record output to track on midi inserts (wasn't there before i think ) :P
Yep, it's new.. You can also use it this way, as four extra Input Transformers :)
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

bigboi
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:12 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by bigboi » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:55 am

Wonder if we could get this thread stickied? Gonna be a good one. Disabling of instrument tracks is definitely a big one!

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by orchetect » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:51 am

Selected MIDI notes in the Key Editor now show up for reference on the vertical keyboard.

Image
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.6, Cubase 10.0.30 rc3, Cubase 10.5.0 a2, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by theRoyal1 » Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:10 am

Double Click the top of Cubase (Bar) and see your desktop..click again to restore
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

rsformatc
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by rsformatc » Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:30 pm

Alt-U to update workspaces. Don't recall ever seeing that in 7.5. Makes working with workspaces much cleaner as I control exactly when I want a workspace change to be saved - for me anyway!

User avatar
Modularnutter
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by Modularnutter » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:14 pm

In the Pre-section the pre-gain at 0db is blue and if you move the gain either way it's ..............
Win 7 - 64 bit ¦ Cubase 5/6/7/8.5 - Halion 6 ¦ Rme

maestro2be
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:32 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by maestro2be » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:15 pm

stereolost wrote:Now you can disable Instrument Tracks, which makes it easier to use large templates.
This is a great feature! This one was worthy of upgrade mention! I will definitely buy the upgrade for this feature alone! Combined with better ASIO Guard now that they will be instrument tracks template. Just awesome!
Windows 7 64bit, i7 980 Extreme, 24GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+
Cubase 6.5.5 & 7.5.3, Sibelius 6, Studio One V2.6.4
RME Hammerfall DSP Multiface 2, 61-key Arturia The Laboratory, Lemur iPAD controllers
Lavry DACs, Technics Digital Ensemble Piano, Bricasti M7
ATC Active Studio Monitors
VSL Libraries, VE PRO 5/MIR PRO, Vienna Suite
Symphobia 1 & 2, LASS 2.0 & LASS Sordino, 8DIO Adagio Strings, Spitfire Albion 1

Xtigma
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by Xtigma » Tue Dec 09, 2014 8:40 pm

Mediabay now filters away any additional selections that are not relative, in older cubase versions if you select a filter, the others would just gray out, now mediabay will filter away anything not relevant in the other filters..

UltimateOutsider
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by UltimateOutsider » Tue Dec 09, 2014 8:45 pm

stereolost wrote:Now you can disable Instrument Tracks, which makes it easier to use large templates.
Hi, can you explain this one a little to me? (Other people seem really stoked about this too, so I want to understand the implications.)

I am not much of a template user, but I've found that even with Cubase 7.5's overhaul, I'm still using Instrument tracks only for single-part instruments and Rack instruments for anything that might go multi-timbral/multi-output.

What exactly do you mean when you say you can disable Instrument Tracks, and how does this affect your workflow? Are you talking about tracks that have no MIDI associated with them (like you would see when you first opened up a template)?

Xtigma
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by Xtigma » Tue Dec 09, 2014 8:50 pm

UltimateOutsider wrote:
stereolost wrote:Now you can disable Instrument Tracks, which makes it easier to use large templates.
Hi, can you explain this one a little to me? (Other people seem really stoked about this too, so I want to understand the implications.)

I am not much of a template user, but I've found that even with Cubase 7.5's overhaul, I'm still using Instrument tracks only for single-part instruments and Rack instruments for anything that might go multi-timbral/multi-output.

What exactly do you mean when you say you can disable Instrument Tracks, and how does this affect your workflow? Are you talking about tracks that have no MIDI associated with them (like you would see when you first opened up a template)?
if you disable a track, the track still appears in your timeline, but the plugins are not loaded and the instrument is not loaded. the workflow basically is, you would render out your track to audio, then disable the instrument track.

UltimateOutsider
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by UltimateOutsider » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:56 pm

Xtigma wrote:if you disable a track, the track still appears in your timeline, but the plugins are not loaded and the instrument is not loaded. the workflow basically is, you would render out your track to audio, then disable the instrument track.
Perhaps this is what I don't understand: Would you use this ability in addition to the new render-in-place feature, or instead of it? (I had assumed that the new bounce ability automatically disabled the plugins on that track/channel, but is that not the case?)

Thanks!

User avatar
Freddie H
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by Freddie H » Tue Dec 09, 2014 10:27 pm

Having trouble navigating and scrolling up and down in the new Mix-console view? :(



Hover you mouse between "two" tracks --->|<---- in Mix-console view to scroll. Now the scrolling with your mouse works again.
Also on VCA faders, whole area works for scrolling Mix-console view, up and down.

Temporary workaround until Steinberg fix the scrolling issue.
Hope it helps. :)


Best Regards
Freddie
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!

Xtigma
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by Xtigma » Tue Dec 09, 2014 10:39 pm

UltimateOutsider wrote:
Xtigma wrote:if you disable a track, the track still appears in your timeline, but the plugins are not loaded and the instrument is not loaded. the workflow basically is, you would render out your track to audio, then disable the instrument track.
Perhaps this is what I don't understand: Would you use this ability in addition to the new render-in-place feature, or instead of it? (I had assumed that the new bounce ability automatically disabled the plugins on that track/channel, but is that not the case?)

Thanks!
the render in place actually uses this functionality, when you render in place you have the option of disabling the instument track which frees up the CPU etc of all the plugins but gives you the ability to quickly go back to the original track if needed.. best of both worlds

User avatar
agilkds
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:08 pm
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by agilkds » Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:49 pm

Recording a MIDI track with ANY channel enabled let's you record all available MIDI channels from an external Synth/Sequencer or similar situation. Then you can dissolve that track into several MIDI tracks to have them played from Cubase. And the ANY track get's muted automatically. Good one!
KDS Recording Studios (Lisbon - Portugal) - Nuendo 10 (64bit); Cubase Pro 10 (64 bit); Wavelab Pro 9.5 (64 bit); CMC FD (x2); CMC TP; CMC CH; CMC QC; Focusrite Liquid Mix 32; MOTU 424 + 24I/O + 2408 mk3 + 2408 mk2 + 1224 MK2; Mutec Master Clock; Soundcraft Vienna II mixer (+ a lot of analog equipment) \ Win10 Pro, i7 core, 32 gig RAM

User avatar
JLiRD808
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by JLiRD808 » Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:46 am

Xtigma wrote: the render in place actually uses this functionality, when you render in place you have the option of disabling the instument track which frees up the CPU etc of all the plugins but gives you the ability to quickly go back to the original track if needed.. best of both worlds
Does it take some time to "re-enable" or just a few moments? This is like freezing/unfreezing audio yes?
https://soundcloud.com/jasonkasu/sets

C8.0.2 - W7 x64 - i5 3570k 4.2Ghz OC'd - 12gb DDR3 - UH-7000 - EMU 1212M - SM7B - GAP Pre 73 - HS80 - JBL LSR305 - HD-600 - Denon AH-D2000 - NI/IK/Waves Bundles

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by orchetect » Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:50 am

UltimateOutsider wrote:What exactly do you mean when you say you can disable Instrument Tracks, and how does this affect your workflow?
This functionality is especially useful for those of us that set up large orchestral MIDI templates. Opening a new sequence based off a template with dozens of Kontakts and sample patches can take 30 seconds - or several minutes even - if it's a big template. It will take much less time if you're not forced to load all the plug-ins and samples off the bat. Only a few seconds to get the session open. Then you just "re-enable" the instruments you need as you go.
JLiRD808 wrote:Does it take some time to "re-enable" or just a few moments? This is like freezing/unfreezing audio yes?
The only time it takes to re-enable an instrument track is the time it takes to load the plug-ins and/or samples (ie: Kontakt) within. So not long. A few seconds tops.
Last edited by orchetect on Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.6, Cubase 10.0.30 rc3, Cubase 10.5.0 a2, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by JMCecil » Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:56 am

Being able to open multiple editors of the same kind
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Hidden Cubase 8 features!

Post by orchetect » Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:00 am

JMCecil wrote:Being able to open multiple editors of the same kind
Explain? ie: I can only open one Key Editor at the same time, unless I'm missing something...
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.6, Cubase 10.0.30 rc3, Cubase 10.5.0 a2, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests