How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:34 am

In Pro Tools, I can highlight my Mix track by clicking on it and export the track onto my desktop. Simple.

How do you do that in Cubase Pro 8?

Thanks!
Attachments
PT Export.png
(52.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:37 am

FILE> EXPORT AUDIO MIXDOWN. It's almost the same as PT (except better)

Make a keyboard shortcut for it and it's even faster.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:40 am

I saw this, but is there a way to do this w/o selecting the beginning and end of the file?

Thanks!

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:45 am

No. You've always got to define the start and end points of an export.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:47 am

So how is this faster than PT? In PT, I click on the file and export.

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:50 am

Your post sounded like you wanted to export. Now that I know what you're talking about, it's irrelevant, cos Cubase doesn't have that feature.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:54 am

I have a pretty complex system. I like to print back into Cubase. After doing so, I export the file (usually a 24/48) onto my desktop. I guess there isn't a way to do this?

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:01 am

Right. Guess not.
You can export the file as I said above, or just grab the file from your project's Audio folder and copy to desktop.

I would do export. Batch export, actually. It's faster and bypasses the main bus.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:02 am

Ok thanks, I'll give that a try.

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:18 am

There's actually a way to do it and you don't have to define start/end points.

Highlight the mix audio file, and under File > Export, choose Selected Tracks. A window pops up to Copy. Choose a place on your desktop and it creates your audio mix file and .xml file.

I don't know how to Copy to my desktop without the .xml file, but this seems to be quickest IMO.

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:19 am

Cool! I'll remember that if I need to do same.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:44 am

enjneer, got a question for you.

Is there a way to select the audio track so that it 'automatically' creates a start/end point, instead of my having to do this manually? Thx.

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:18 am

Not that I know of.

You only need to hit "P" after selecting any clip/range (i.e., whatever is selected, P will make the start/end match the start/end of the selection)

If you mean "track" explicitly, i.e., You have the Track (not the clips on it) selected, I have a hotkey made for "select all on track" to help with this kind of thing too.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by jono not bono » Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:23 pm

Dean Landon wrote:enjneer, got a question for you.

Is there a way to select the audio track so that it 'automatically' creates a start/end point, instead of my having to do this manually? Thx.
The only way I know how to do this is by selecting the audio clip or multiple audio clips and then pressing the Qwerty key "P" (As Enjneer has said). Pretty painless! ;)

Jono
Please make me stop buying stuff.

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:43 pm

Hey guys, thanks for the info regarding "P", but I'm using Pro Tools key commands. It's easier that way. :-)

If I wanted to add P in the PT key command, under what section would P be added?

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:47 pm

FILE>KEYBOARD SHORTCUTS

It's called "Locators to Selection"
Assign whichever shortcut you like.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:50 pm

Thanks enjneer. I appreciate it.

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:55 pm

Hey enjoyer, almost there.

Under Edit > Macros > Export Selection on Selected track(s), I'd like to add a key command to that. Where would I locate that in the Key Command? I tried looking for it in the Macros section, but it doesn't allow me to add a key command.

Hey thanks again for your help. Man I appreciate it.

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:56 pm

Dean Landon wrote:Thanks enjneer. I appreciate it.
My pleasure.

If I may, why are you working in Cubase? Business or pleasure? Making a switch, or just broadening your horizons?
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:01 pm

Dean Landon wrote:Hey enjoyer, almost there.

Under Edit > Macros > Export Selection on Selected track(s), I'd like to add a key command to that. Where would I locate that in the Key Command? I tried looking for it in the Macros section, but it doesn't allow me to add a key command.

Hey thanks again for your help. Man I appreciate it.
Are you seeing this in Key Commands?

Image

If your macro shows up in that Macro folder, then you can assign a key to it.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:04 pm

enjneer wrote:
Dean Landon wrote:Thanks enjneer. I appreciate it.
My pleasure.

If I may, why are you working in Cubase? Business or pleasure? Making a switch, or just broadening your horizons?
I've been using PT for many years, but there are too many bugs in 11 on the Midi side. When CP8 was released, I bought it and knew it was the right DAW for me. There's also a certain sound to Cubase which is better than any other DAW IMO.

PT is great for certain applications, but when it comes to Midi, it's a mess, so I decided it was time to look elsewhere. Cubase is really an outstanding DAW.

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:11 pm

Dean Landon wrote: I've been using PT for many years, but there are too many bugs in 11 on the Midi side. When CP8 was released, I bought it and knew it was the right DAW for me. There's also a certain sound to Cubase which is better than any other DAW IMO.

PT is great for certain applications, but when it comes to Midi, it's a mess, so I decided it was time to look elsewhere. Cubase is really an outstanding DAW.
I hear ya. For me, the moment came when I first used Nuendo 1. I could hear the difference… and the feel and workflow was closer to a console than anything alse out there by a mile (as much a DAW ever could).

I gave PT a serious shot when setting up my home studio business, but, since my skillset is based on production/augmentation of clients' songs, I felt that trying to do songwriting in PT would be the death of me. Throw in all the added costs, and sticking with Cubase was a no-brainer.

Glad to have you onboard! ;)
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:15 pm

Here's what I see in my Key Commands.

When I Add Command in the Macros section, it doesn't do anything. I'm thinking I should be able to.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 2.09.54 PM.png
(101.36 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Dean Landon
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by Dean Landon » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:18 pm

enjneer wrote:
Dean Landon wrote: I've been using PT for many years, but there are too many bugs in 11 on the Midi side. When CP8 was released, I bought it and knew it was the right DAW for me. There's also a certain sound to Cubase which is better than any other DAW IMO.

PT is great for certain applications, but when it comes to Midi, it's a mess, so I decided it was time to look elsewhere. Cubase is really an outstanding DAW.
I hear ya. For me, the moment came when I first used Nuendo 1. I could hear the difference… and the feel and workflow was closer to a console than anything alse out there by a mile (as much a DAW ever could).

I gave PT a serious shot when setting up my home studio business, but, since my skillset is based on production/augmentation of clients' songs, I felt that trying to do songwriting in PT would be the death of me. Throw in all the added costs, and sticking with Cubase was a no-brainer.

Glad to have you onboard! ;)
Thanks! I think PT is a no brainer when it comes to Post Prod., it's simple but my main intention is to write and produce music. I did a lot of work in PT, but not without the headaches. I even sold my D Command and HDX card for an SSL Matrix and MadiXtreme. Works like a gem. :-)

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: How do I export an Audio track to my desktop?

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:20 pm

This section is, admittedly, bizarrely designed.

You only go into that "Show Macros" section at bottom to create/edit macros. Within that section "Add Command" means "add a new file menu action / command to a macro"

Once a macro is created, it will show up in the Macros folder in the regular Key Commands window. Note how, in my screenshot, the macros pane is hidden.

Just hide the macros pane and look for the "Macros" folder in the top pane.

Image
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests