Audio drop out error message

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Sun Jan 11, 2015 1:10 pm

If I open the Mixer whilst I am recording audio get the message "Recording error : Audio dropout detected"

My setup is fine and I normally have no audio recording problems. I have never seen this error message before. It only happens if I switch to the mixer whilst Cubase is recordng audio. The project is small with only 6 tracks.

Is it something to do with Cubase not handling the opening of new windows?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:09 pm

Now I am getting audio dropouts whilst I am simply recording audio. I am not touching anything, not using the Mixer, not switching screens - just simply recording a vocal.

The recording consistently stops with the message : Recording Error : Audio Dropout Detected.

The project is not large, only 4 instances of vst"s - Superior Drummer, Omnisphere, Pianoteq and HALionsonic SE2. I have certainly built much bigger projects without dropouts.

I have never had this issue before, only since upgrading to Cubase 8.

Maybe a C8 bug ?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by Grim » Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:18 pm

Is C7 recording without the message now??
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

misohoza
Member
Posts: 867
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by misohoza » Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:37 pm

I had the same problem.
And also never happened in previous versions.

Switching Asio guard to high setting solved the issue.
At least for now
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Tue Jan 20, 2015 8:04 pm

I haven't checked C7 but I had never experienced it on that version and so I'm pretty sure it's an issue with C8.

Interesting about switching Asio Guard to high, but that of course should not be necessary.

I'm keen to see if Steinberg recognise this issue and whether they think it is a C8 problem.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

robw
Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by robw » Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:01 pm

spyder wrote:If I open the Mixer whilst I am recording audio get the message "Recording error : Audio dropout detected"
...
Is it something to do with Cubase not handling the opening of new windows?
The pop-up can be disabled in Preferences.

That won't cure the underlying problem but I do find myself that the pop-up is annoying, especially when troubleshooting to eliminate the underlying cause as you have to keep dismissing it. Instead use one of the VST performance meters. It'll red line and show it has peaked so you can see the problem though most times you hear it anyway.

Given this occurs with very little load when you open a Window I would suggest that some driver (perhaps start with video) has changed and is now preventing Cubase from completing the realtime audio processing in time. If you haven't manually installed updates I would suggest checking your Windows Update and/or other update programs to find out what changed. You may be able to use System Restore to return to a known good state (I would create a backup image of your drive first).

Usually when I have this problem I will restore my OS drive back to a previous backup image and manually do updates. I do weekly backups so this is usually the easiest way as there aren't that many updates to track through.

Oh, also check your Windows Advanced Performance preferences hasn't changed from Background Services or the Power Scheme changed. A recent Windows update did this to me.
Cubase 10 | Steinberg UR44 | Korg Kronos X
Intel i9 9900K | ASUS Z370 | 64 Gigs RAM | NVIDIA RTX2080
NI Komplete Ultimate Collectors Edition 12 | Steinberg Pad Shop Pro, Halion 6 | Composer Cloud X

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:43 pm

Thanks for the comments, and appreciate the help, robw.

I can't see where you disable the "pop-ups". Do you mean General/Show Tips? In any event I am not sure I want to disable the message. I have never done this before but it has never caused a problem before, I have not had such messages.

Note that it is not the opening of the Mixer that is now the issue, it is simply happening during a recording with no intervention.

Irrespective of any pop-up, the key issue is that the recording actually stops.

You note "Usually when I have this problem"... However, I have never had such a problem before, and I have been using Cubase since version 4, updating and upgrading at every point through to 8.05. I have not changed my computer or audio interface in that time. That's not, of course' to say that something may have changed in my setup unknown to me - and I assume co-incidental around the time of the C8 upgrade. I update Windows manually regularly, more than once a week. I have checked your points and I see that processor resources are still set to background services and the Power Scheme is still on the same Custom Setting I always have. On checking the list, the recent Windows Updates have been the usual (Security updates, definition updates etc).

Very frustrating as it renders C8 unusable for me at the moment.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

robw
Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by robw » Wed Jan 21, 2015 8:04 am

Frustrating indeed.

At this point I'd restore a known good backup image to resolve any doubts about software update side effects. Then you could be sure of software vs hardware issue.

If you don't have a known good back up then suggested Plan B would a) backup!! and b) create a separate partition by resizing your existing one (unless you already have a spare) and install clean OS and Cubase. Dual boot into it and see if it works correctly. It's not as painful as it sounds though longer than restoring a back up.

That's about all I can suggest at the moment
Cubase 10 | Steinberg UR44 | Korg Kronos X
Intel i9 9900K | ASUS Z370 | 64 Gigs RAM | NVIDIA RTX2080
NI Komplete Ultimate Collectors Edition 12 | Steinberg Pad Shop Pro, Halion 6 | Composer Cloud X

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:51 am

Here's a test I just did. And one that might suggest it is nothing to do with the OS, but rather C8 (on my system).

I open Cubase 8.0.5. I load my current project that was recorded on C8.0.5. I start play and bring up the MixConsole. There is audio stutter (dropout). I quit, reload C8.0.5 and load a similar project that was recorded on Cubase 7.5.30. I start play and bring up the MixConsole. There is audio stutter (dropout).

I quit the project and quit 8.0.5. I load 7.5.30. I load the project that was recorded on 7.5.30. I start play and bring up the MixConsole. No audio stutter. The MixConsole comes up without interrupting the audio. I quit, reload 7.5.30 and load the project that was recorded on C8.0.5. I start play and bring up the MixConsole. No audio stutter. The MixConsole comes up without interrupting the audio.

So two separate projects. Two separate versions of Cubase. On C8.0.5 there is audio dropout on switching windows on either project. On C7.5.30 there is no audio dropout on switching windows on either project. Conclusive that - on my system anyway - Cubase 8 has a problem on switching windows. I'm no expert but I could also be forgiven for concluding that - on my system anyway - this windows issue with Cubase 8.0.5 is the same problem that is causing my audio dropouts on recording - whether a window is switched or not.

I may also point out that C 8.0.5 experiences audio dropout if the windows scroll bar is used during playback - but the issue is not experienced on C 7.5.30. Note both versions are 64bit as are all my vst's.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by Grim » Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:05 pm

I would check for new drivers for your graphics card is you suspect window handling is causing this.

And check by search if any other complaints here from users of the same card.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:48 pm

Actually I don't suspect that windows handling is causing the problem because as I mentioned earlier I am getting recording audio dropouts when no windows are being switched. Maybe the problems are linked is my only suspicion at the moment. Everything else on my system is fine from a graphics point of view.

As I know that Cubase 7 has none of the problems at all, could there be a difference in what Cubase 8 requires of a graphics card in comparison to that required by Cubase 7 - that would then cause audio dropouts? If so, then I assume Steinberg would be aware of possible problems in the upgrade.

(The graphics card is an NVIDIA MSI GeForce 7600GS 256MB DDR2)
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:34 pm

I have checked for driver updates on my graphics card and I already have the latest driver installed (307.83). So no problem with that.

A search on the site does not reveal anything useful except that misohoza has the same problem.

I hope a user, or Steinberg can help as Cubase 8 is unusable for me with this issue!
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by Grim » Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:59 pm

could there be a difference in what Cubase 8 requires of a graphics card in comparison to that required by Cubase 7
Yes...always check the system requirements.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/c ... loads.html

Not sure but I think your card is not DirectX 10??
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Wed Jan 21, 2015 8:26 pm

So, on checking, you are right. My graphics card does not support DirectX 10.

So I assume I have to get a new card.

Hope that resolves the problem!
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
sonofnothing
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:09 am
Location: Hudson Valley, NY
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by sonofnothing » Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

spyder wrote:I haven't checked C7 but I had never experienced it on that version and so I'm pretty sure it's an issue with C8.

Interesting about switching Asio Guard to high, but that of course should not be necessary.

I'm keen to see if Steinberg recognise this issue and whether they think it is a C8 problem.
make sure the buffer size wasn't reduced, among other settings being back at default. I had severe audio drop outs, until I boosted my buffer size to 1024. No problems, since! No clicking or popping in my recorded audio anymore, either. Good luck.. (Maybe stick with 7.5 until 8.5 comes out.. seems to me all the '.0' releases are buggy, and full of complaints, while the '.5' releases are clean and all patched up!
my music - http://soundcloud.com/sonofnothing
Cubase Artist 8.0.3
UAD Apollo 8 Quad [BF]
Mac Mini6,1 OSX Mountain Lion 10.9.5

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Sat Jan 24, 2015 12:51 am

No, I had checked the settings, and the buffer size has not changed.

I have to say I am still confused as to why, technically, bringing up the MixConsole could cause audio dropout. Maybe a processor issue?

Anyway, I have just taken delivery of a new graphics card to the required spec (a MSI GT 720) so I'll install that over the weekend and see what happens.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:57 pm

Well, I installed the new card and it has not solved the problem. I continue to get drop-outs when playing audio (only 8 tracks) and when bringing up the MixConsole.

Having not had this problem before on projects substantially larger in C7.5 and previous versions I am at a loss to understand why this is happening in C8. It is unusable in this state and I guess I will have to go back to C7.5.

Any more views? Any point in uninstalling and reloading C8?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by mroekalea » Sat Jan 24, 2015 4:31 pm

Hi there,

Maybee these things below are a starting point to find your problem

:idea: How much hard drives do you use and how is the load spread out (1 disk = OS + softw, disk2 = audio + projects, disk3 = sample libraries?), are your disks on dedicated controllers? Are you measuring the load of these disks?

:idea: What motherboard do you use and is it with the lastest firmware. Is there any tweaking done on your motherboard. How stable is your RAM? etc. etc.

Why all these questions you might ask?

Simple said your cubase should work! Drop outs merely indicates that something is wrong and you need to find out what. If all users suddenly are saying they get dropouts then I would look first at Cubase, but since this is not the case, I would look into hardware and driver problems.
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:38 pm

Thanks for the views, and yes, fair questions, and ones I have asked myself. I have an AB9 motherboard which certainly a year ago had the latest firmware, though I should check it again. There has been no tweaking and I am sure the RAM is solid.I use two hard drives of 500 each, one for OS and software, and the other for samples and project storage. I believe they are on dedicated controllers but I have not measured the load. (Not sure how to do that). The computer is only used for Cubase recording, nothing else. I don't have a virus checker and I connect to the net very rarely.

The only thing that continues to puzzle me is that all of this hardware, software and system setup was fine until I installed Cubase 8. Unless I am really missing something obvious, nothing else has changed. I will try more with C7.5 to see if I can duplicate the problems with that version as I certainly have not seen it there yet.

However, I very much see your overall point that if no-one else is seeing this then it is clearly something particular to my system, and I need to work through the possible causes. I have to say though, I am a certainly confused about it all!
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by Grim » Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:08 pm

Sorry to hear that the new card hasn't helped. Very frustrating I'm sure.

If further testing in c7.5 shows that it is only in C8 then I guess that leaves you with taking a close look at whether preferences are set the same for both and perhaps in the Aero settings as this was a major change.

Also probably worth running latencymon while forcing the problem and seeing if it lists anything unexpected spiking at this point.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by mroekalea » Sat Jan 24, 2015 8:13 pm

However, I very much see your overall point that if no-one else is seeing this then it is clearly something particular to my system, and I need to work through the possible causes. I have to say though, I am a certainly confused about it all!
As a longtime Cubase user I've dealt more then one occasion this sort of trouble, it won't help but I really can relate to your problems. After having so much trouble I regulary had to completely build my systems from ground, including installing everything. This could take up to 2 days before getting at the point that I could make music again.
Ooh yeah and for some system my memory was bad, I also had a few systems where the harddrives where having bad sectors. These sectors only became a problem when accesing certian files (I wonder how I troubleshooted this one).

In my experience the only thing what will help, is to do a systematic exclusion of all sorts of problems, the first I would suggest is to reinstall your system including OS (best is to first back it up) to a basic system (no 3rd party add-ons), just OS en Cubase, then first test it good.

If you're on windows 8 you can easily see the disks troughput in taskmanager/performance tab, I think windows 7 has the source monitor from within the taskmanager. If your up to it you can use "Perfmon.exe", this standard windows tool can measure alsmost everything in your system, however interpreting the performnace data has it challenges.
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:19 pm

Helpful pointers, thanks. I'll certainly check some of the easy things, like Prefs as Grim mentions. I'm not keen on doing a rebuild for the obvious reasons, but, yes, that may become inevitable. I've only had to do that once, when I moved for XP to 7 and I remember it being quite a chore!

Having said that, my pc is now 8 years old (where did that time go?) and although I have upgraded a few parts (RAM etc) maybe this is telling me to get a new one! Anyway, I'll check everything mentioned..and more..and let you know if I discover a simple obvious fault.

Thanks again to all for the help, all comments and advice much appreciated!

These computer issues drive us musicians nuts! Mind you, I still have my old reel-to-reel ;)
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3032
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by peakae » Sun Jan 25, 2015 12:10 am

Is the auto hitpoint detection on in C8 and not in C7 ?
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by spyder » Sun Jan 25, 2015 12:35 pm

An interesting thought - but in fact the Auto Hitpoint Detection is checked on in both C7.5 and C8. In fact, I've now checked through all of the Preferences and, as I would have expected, they are the same in C8 as they were in C7.5.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

petervad
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 2:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio drop out error message

Post by petervad » Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:39 pm

FWIW I have recently started getting the "Audio dropout detected..." while running my Cubase Artist 7.5. Don't think anything has changed in my computer setup, yet this just started 4 days ago......

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests