Update to 5

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Sonic_X
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:27 pm
Contact:

Update to 5

Post by Sonic_X » Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:30 pm

Hello,
I look around and couldn't find update from Cubase 4 to 5 english version. Any help would be great!
Thanx

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3171
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by jaslan » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:07 am

Not sure about an upgrade version of C5 but.....
You can upgrade from C4 to C6 for $150 :P here...
http://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/buy_pr ... se-6.html/
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5284
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Split » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:57 am

Sonic_X wrote:Hello,
I look around and couldn't find update from Cubase 4 to 5 english version. Any help would be great!
Thanx
Thats because it's now C6
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Sonic_X
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Sonic_X » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:28 am

Thanx a lot...but i don't need Cubase 6, coz it's not supporting Win XP :roll:

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3171
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by jaslan » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:41 am

You can still get Cubase 5 but I don't think there is an upgrade version. At least not that I have seen. The cheapest version (Essential) is about $150. Check:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com
There is a lot of talk on the forum about people using C6 on Win XP with no problem.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Sonic_X
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Sonic_X » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:45 am

jaslan wrote:You can still get Cubase 5 but I don't think there is an upgrade version. At least not that I have seen. The cheapest version (Essential) is about $150. Check:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com
There is a lot of talk on the forum about people using C6 on Win XP with no problem.
Very sad that there is no upgrade to version 5 :cry: ...it must be somehow possible to get it, damn!

oldblues
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:50 am
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by oldblues » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:52 am

Well, likewise. I never got around to upgrading to 5, and now I see that 6 won't run on my studio's PPC. My DAW is not likely to leave the PPC platform any time soon.

If I got the upgrade to 6, would I be able to get 5 along with it somehow?

anyone know what would be the appropriate way to ask Steinberg this question?

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Update to 5

Post by thinkingcap » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:59 am

oldblues wrote:If I got the upgrade to 6, would I be able to get 5 along with it somehow?
If you do know someone who can provide you with a C5 install disc.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5284
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Split » Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:17 am

Well, just for fun I installed C6 on a PIV 3GHz, 1 gig of ram, XP O/S. Had to update the .Net stuff but surprisingly it works quite well. Drags it's feet a bit with heavy Vsti stuff but otherwise quite usable.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Sonic_X
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Sonic_X » Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
oldblues wrote:If I got the upgrade to 6, would I be able to get 5 along with it somehow?
If you do know someone who can provide you with a C5 install disc.
I see....so if i have upgrade to Cubase 6, then i would have lisence for SX3, C4, C5 and C6?

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Update to 5

Post by thinkingcap » Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:21 pm

Sonic_X wrote:I see....so if i have upgrade to Cubase 6, then i would have lisence for SX3, C4, C5 and C6
Yes.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Sonic_X
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Sonic_X » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:27 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
Sonic_X wrote:I see....so if i have upgrade to Cubase 6, then i would have lisence for SX3, C4, C5 and C6
Yes.
Nice! Now i need to find where i can download C5 install CD :roll:

oldblues
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:50 am
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by oldblues » Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:53 pm

Well, I can't think of anyone I would know with a C5 install disk off-hand. It would be nice to find a somewhat more official solution.

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Suprawill1 » Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:18 am

I believe C6 will run on XP and Vista as well as W7. SB just won't support it. There are plenty of users in this forum that would be able to answer just about any question you may have for support. If by chance you have an unresolvable problem and you are so inclined, I have an extra C5 install disc.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Update to 5

Post by thinkingcap » Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:48 am

oldblues wrote:Well, I can't think of anyone I would know with a C5 install disk off-hand. It would be nice to find a somewhat more official solution.
The somewhat official solution is to spend money and buy it while it is officially available for sale (which has been the case for roughly 2 years btw.), like probably most of those that have an install disc did...
You may do a search, if the C5 demo is still available and if it does what you want. Or maybe your local distributor can provide you with a disc. (Or even a disc image will do.)
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Sonic_X
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Sonic_X » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:47 pm

Suprawill1 wrote:I believe C6 will run on XP and Vista as well as W7. SB just won't support it. There are plenty of users in this forum that would be able to answer just about any question you may have for support. If by chance you have an unresolvable problem and you are so inclined, I have an extra C5 install disc.
Thanx a lot Suprawill1! I'd love to have this disc if possible please :P

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Suprawill1 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:58 am

No idea where to send it. You know what to do next. :)
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

Sonic_X
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Sonic_X » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:29 am

Suprawill1 wrote:No idea where to send it. You know what to do next. :)
Done ;)

oldblues
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:50 am
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by oldblues » Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:41 am

Are the demo versions capable of being registered?

oldblues
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:50 am
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by oldblues » Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:52 am

oldblues wrote:Are the demo versions capable of being registered?
by which I mean, if I have a copy of the C5 demo installer, and buy the upgrade to 6, will that turn remove the time limit on the C5 demo? or is that installer intrinsically different?

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Suprawill1 » Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:17 am

You wouldn't be able to "upgrade" to C6 from the C5 demo because you hadn't paid for either yet. I imagine you would have to buy C5 outright before you can "upgrade" to C6 or buy C6 full version. You can upgrade to C6 from a previous paid version. Don't know why you would upgrade to C5 at this point unless you're worried about not being supported by SB on an OS previous to W7.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Update to 5

Post by thinkingcap » Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:31 am

Suprawill1 wrote:You can upgrade to C6 from a previous paid version.
That´s probably what he / she had in mind...
Suprawill1 wrote:Don't know why you would upgrade to C5 at this point unless you're worried about not being supported by SB on an OS previous to W7.
oldblues wrote:and now I see that 6 won't run on my studio's PPC. My DAW is not likely to leave the PPC platform any time soon.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Update to 5

Post by Suprawill1 » Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:39 pm

oldblues wrote:
by which I mean, if I have a copy of the C5 demo installer, and buy the upgrade to 6, will that turn remove the time limit on the C5 demo? or is that installer intrinsically different?
I thought this is what he/she had in mind.

The rest I read 8 days ago. I guess I couldn't retain it all. Too many threads/posts! :roll:
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests