Groove Agent 4.2 update available

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by Matthias Quellmann »

We’re elated to announce the availability of Groove Agent 4.2. This point update comes with many news features and enhancements.

- Advanced Note Repeat with up to 8 variations and integrated phrase editor
- Follow Transport for synchronized playback in the host
- MIDI output to host for convenient recording of patterns and performances
- Alternate loop mode for creative sound tweaking
- Individual pattern mode for controlling each of the pattern pads of the four Agents
- Several workflow improvements requested or suggested by Groove Agent users

All new features and improvements are described in detail in the version history:
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... issues.pdf

Groove Agent 4.2 is freely available to download from the support pages of our website:

Mac
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... .0.290.dmg

PC
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... .0.290.exe

Read more about Groove Agent 4.2
http://www.steinberg.net/grooveagent
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

scojo
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by scojo »

Thanks Matthias, There was no mention in the video that there was new content. I hope I can integrate my jazz audio and midi loops in the system. But thank you again, for all the other new features. I am committed to staying positive.
Scott Jordan

bigsoundsgood
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by bigsoundsgood »

Great. Not great, 43 KB/s download speed :-(
Cubase Pro 10.5.12.123, macOS 10.15.7
UR28M, iConnectMIDI4+, etc.
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017)
3,5 GHz Intel Core i5
64 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
Cubase Junior Member since Atari

emasters
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by emasters »

Great to get the update, thanks. The download speed feels like the old days, using a dial-up modem -- very slow.
Ed

famerjackjo
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by famerjackjo »

I,ve download the groove agent 4.2 update twice, and everytime i try to install it i get a crc file corruption error and it asks me to download again. Is it my computer or a problem at your end.

famerjackjo
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by famerjackjo »

groove agent 4.2 update,when trying to install i get a crc corruption error and it tells me to download again,which i have done twice now?

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4775
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by curteye »

emasters wrote:The download speed feels like the old days, using a dial-up modem -- very slow.

+1
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by hotchickenbone »

Yep, everyone and their Mother must be downloading, Oh well I will play tomorrow I guess!
Cubase 10.5 Pro,WaveLab Elements 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by Matthias Quellmann »

Hi all,

There was a server overload, but the problem is solved now. If you haven't succeeded in downloading the patcher please try again with the new links:

Mac
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... .0.290.dmg

PC
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... .0.290.exe

Sorry for the inconvenience.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

spitfire31
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by spitfire31 »

Hi Matthias,

Groove Agent 4.0 is specified for Mac OS 8 and 9.

But on the download page, the update to 4.2 mentions only Mac OS 9 and 10.

Does that mean that people who run their DAWs and all other audio software on 10.8.5 can't do the update?

Or does it just mean that Steinberg won't support 4.2 on Mountain Lion, but that "it should probably work"?

Kind regards,

Joachim

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by Matthias Quellmann »

Hi Joachim,

Steinberg's policy is that we are always testing new releases on the last two OS versions. GA4 was released in August 2014 before the release of 10.10. Hence it support just 10.8 and 10.9. GA4.2 has been tested on 10.9 and 10.10.

You can always give it a try and install the application on a non supported OS, but we only state that it will work properly on the supported OS.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

bigsoundsgood
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by bigsoundsgood »

Thanks for the info and dl fix :)
Cubase Pro 10.5.12.123, macOS 10.15.7
UR28M, iConnectMIDI4+, etc.
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017)
3,5 GHz Intel Core i5
64 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
Cubase Junior Member since Atari

J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by J L Bowie »

Matthias,
First of all, great update. The only comment I would make is that in future it would be enormously helpful if the updates could be broken down into two parts; program and content. The reason I mention this is that during the update process it showed that the GA-4 content was already present and would not be updated, only the program. Considering that the lion's share of the download was likely the content (I'm surmising, of course), it would have saved a lot of time if all most of us had to do was download the program. Would have lightened the load on your servers, too. Just a thought.
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10.3/64 on Win 10 Pro version 20H2, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -18 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10.5/64 on Win 10 Pro version 20H2/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 16, WaveLab Pro 10.0.40/64, Spectralayers Pro 7.0.20, DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

jxm
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by jxm »

Excellent update. Makes me very happy -- with my "all in" commitment to GA 4.
Now if only you could add additional velocity layers to the acoustic drums in 4.3 or 5.0 ;)
Cubase 8.5 Pro, UR44, Groove Agent 4, Cubase IC Pro, Cubasis, Artist 7, Cubase Elements 8, NI Komplete 8, Windows 10 Pro Intel 4700K @4.4GHz, IMac Late 2012, Roland QuadCapture, MacBook Pro 15" 2014, Logic Pro X

wxyz
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by wxyz »

with version 4.2 in Cubase 8.05 how do you synch to host?

J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by J L Bowie »

wxyz wrote:with version 4.2 in Cubase 8.05 how do you synch to host?
In the transport window of Groove Agent 4.02 you simply click on "Follow Transport."
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10.3/64 on Win 10 Pro version 20H2, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -18 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10.5/64 on Win 10 Pro version 20H2/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 16, WaveLab Pro 10.0.40/64, Spectralayers Pro 7.0.20, DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

wxyz
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by wxyz »

Thanks

Sloid
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by Sloid »

Sorry if this has been discussed. Does anyone know when the GA 4.2 update will be available in the built in version of Cubase 8?
Windows 10 / Cubase Pro 10 / Wavelab 9.5 / Intel I7 950 / GB-X58A-UD3R / 16 gig DDR3 ram / Radeon HD 4350 PCIe / 3 X SATA HDD / MR816 CSX / Seasonic S12 650W

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by kimbo72 »

Advanced Note Repeat will no work for me.
I hear no sound when i push the c5 note.
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

brillemansz
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by brillemansz »

Thanks for delivering a great sounding drum machine. Had to choose between buying the GA 4 or upgrading from Cubase 6.5 to Cubase 8.

I took the 1st option (with the intention to update to Cubase 8 anyway whenever finances allow me), relying on the information that GA4 is supposed to work on any DAW. I assumed that this would also include Steinberg's own DAW, even a little two versions ago (Cubase 6.5). And it does work on 6.5 indeed (Windows 7 64 bit) - except for (at least) two rather important functions:

1) dragging midi from the DAW to GA4 is not possible;
2) dragging midi from GA4 to the project is possible, but does not automatically update drum maps (which urges me to make the drum maps for the Agents manually...).

Updating to 4.2 doesn't solve this. Would you please mind these issues for the next update? As soon as I can afford the upgrade to Cubase 8, I would like to do it just because 8 is great - not because 6.5 fails on elementary tasks.

I'm in your boat already, but keeping me happy will certainly help me to spread the Steinberg gospel.

Thanks.

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4.2 update available

Post by Matthias Quellmann »

brillemansz wrote:...And it does work on 6.5 indeed (Windows 7 64 bit) - except for (at least) two rather important functions:

1) dragging midi from the DAW to GA4 is not possible;
2) dragging midi from GA4 to the project is possible, but does not automatically update drum maps (which urges me to make the drum maps for the Agents manually...).
Hi,

both features have been implemented in Cubase after 6.5 with Groove Agent 4 in mind. Drag and drop to GA4 is possible since Cubase 7.5. The automatic drum map creation was implemented with Cubase 8.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests