Cubase 6 more CPU hungry than Cubase 5

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
xactsound
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:16 pm
Contact:

Cubase 6 more CPU hungry than Cubase 5

Post by xactsound » Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:22 pm

Hello,

Thanks for a great upgrade.

I just performed a CPU test, opening the default preset in both 5 and 6 and simply loading and playing back the same audio file and it looks like the 6 is more CPU hungry than the 5, according to the CPU meter (f12). For this test I set the buffer to the lowest my card would allow (64).

Can somebody confirm that that's the case?

Is that normal for the 6 to be a little more CPU hungry than the 5?

Thank you,

sasha

novaburst
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 more CPU hungry than Cubase 5

Post by novaburst » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:59 pm

Hi xactsound

if your playing audio file thats on your HD, unless you have any VSTs that have not been recorded your cpu should be quite happy on cubase 6 and 5
Windows 7 cubase 5 , Halion 4, and some other stuff

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 more CPU hungry than Cubase 5

Post by curteye » Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:30 pm

Aloha sasha,

I have not done any tests but for me have I definitely noticed cpu jumps going from:
SX3—>C4—>C5 but not C5—>C6 which surprised me.

Perhaps I am wrong on this but if there is a cpu usage jump using C6,
I have yet to see it when loading/using songs done is C5.

HTH
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
DanielAyo
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 more CPU hungry than Cubase 5

Post by DanielAyo » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:24 pm

xactsound wrote:Hello,

Thanks for a great upgrade.

I just performed a CPU test, opening the default preset in both 5 and 6 and simply loading and playing back the same audio file and it looks like the 6 is more CPU hungry than the 5, according to the CPU meter (f12). For this test I set the buffer to the lowest my card would allow (64).

Can somebody confirm that that's the case?

Is that normal for the 6 to be a little more CPU hungry than the 5?

Thank you,

sasha
I can confirm this too but I wouldn't worry too much about it
Cubase 7.07(64bit), Halion 4.54(64 bit), Windows 8.1(64bit), ThinkPad Edge E520, Intel i5 2450 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM, E-MU 0404 USB

My SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/danielayo :)

xactsound
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 more CPU hungry than Cubase 5

Post by xactsound » Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:34 am

Thanks for the replies.

Yes, I can now confirm that the C6 is slightly heavier on the CPU than C5. But nothing to worry about unless you have a weak machine or running a really heavy project.

Thank you,

sasha

lights
Member
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 5:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 more CPU hungry than Cubase 5

Post by lights » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:45 pm

They did ad a new, better realtime stretching algorithm. Might this be why?
-darren
music: www.lightsfadelow.com
follow lights fade low on facebook


i7 980x 18GB RAM; ProFire2626; Win7; everything x64

roger-s.
Member
Posts: 261
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 more CPU hungry than Cubase 5

Post by roger-s. » Sat Apr 23, 2011 5:12 am

In some occasions I felt Cubase 6 even lighter than Cubase 5. But this changes, when I use HalionSonic SE. And I am talking about a Pentium 4 with Windows XP, way below the recommended minimum...

Roger
Steinberg Training Center FAMA Foco Audio & Music A. , Mexico City

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests