Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:48 am

Hi,

Receiving a new PC tomorrow which will have Windows 7 installed on it.
I love my old Emu 1820m sound card and audio dock etc so I want to continue to use it, will this be possible on Windows 7? I know Creative have ceased supporting it and I can not seem to find any updated driver that should work for Windows 7 / 8 etc.
Any help / advice or links to drivers would be great thanks...
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

User avatar
Qbass-007
Member
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by Qbass-007 » Thu Feb 19, 2015 4:41 pm

Unless it has drivers for Win 7 I doubt it, unless you try the generic driver called ASIO4ALL...some say it works good enough, for others or not good4ALL. All you could do is try it and see if it works for you.

I use several old Aardvark audio cards & being they went out of business during the height of Win XP, I'm stuck on Win XP to use them.

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Fri Feb 20, 2015 1:21 am

1212M, 1820, 1820M work fine under W7 - 10(TP) x64

Just make sure you get / have the last "beta" drivers for the emu pci cards.

I have 2 EMU cards and am looking at picking up one more as backup. :lol:
iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:16 pm

chi_mike wrote:1212M, 1820, 1820M work fine under W7 - 10(TP) x64

Just make sure you get / have the last "beta" drivers for the emu pci cards.

I have 2 EMU cards and am looking at picking up one more as backup. :lol:
Thanks anybody have any valid links to theses drivers?
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:27 am

I noticed that you can't get them from emu/creative. It takes you to a generic page.

The last drivers I know of "beta" or not are the 2.1 driver and application.

I have them and once I locate what drive they are on, I'll upload them to my onedrive account and send you a linky-poo
iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:13 pm

Have you tried this one:
E-MU PCIe Digital Audio System drivers
File Size: 33.32 MB
Date: 07 December 2014
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:07 pm

:ugeek: The last 2.1 drivers work fine over here.

I just leave it at 48K. Unless I'm silly enough to record at 96 or 192..
iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Tue Feb 24, 2015 2:02 am

It sorta works under Yosemite too. KX drivers are needed, but you only get outputs so far.
iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:07 pm

chi_mike wrote:I noticed that you can't get them from emu/creative. It takes you to a generic page.

The last drivers I know of "beta" or not are the 2.1 driver and application.

I have them and once I locate what drive they are on, I'll upload them to my onedrive account and send you a linky-poo
Thank you have you found the driver yet please?

Regards...
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:46 pm

iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:52 pm

Thanks I will try, and hopefully get it sorted...
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:08 pm

I seem to now have my E-mu 1820m software and dock working with audio out. :D (Not tried midi yet until tomorrow.)

I have attached a screenshot of the current settings in my patchmix dsp.
Firmware is currently at, 3.4 for 1010 E-mu, will I be able to upgrade this firmware to match my E-mu 1820m? (in other words; so it displays E-mu 1820m in the patchmix settings instead of E-mu 1010)

Cheers in advance of any help...
Attachments
emu 1820m version.png
Current firmware settings for my E-mu 1820m
(390.44 KiB) Not downloaded yet
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by MrSoundman » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:17 pm

The 1010 refers to the PCI card itself .... it's the same for all DAS hardware variations, only the add-ons like the 1820m, 1616m etc. differ.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:29 pm

Use the ALL INPUTS presets.
iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:53 am

P.s only 44khz & 48khz available, how do I get 96k & 192k showing again?
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:41 pm

Button with the square in it. Not the button with the O in it.
iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:58 am

chi_mike wrote:Use the ALL INPUTS presets.
Still only gives me option to pick 44khz or 48khz.... :cry:
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:48 am

iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by MrSoundman » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:28 pm

The EMU10K1 chip on the 1010 card is sample-locked at 48kHz, so you're best sticking to that if you want to avoid sample-rate conversion.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:24 am

:?:
MrSoundman wrote:The EMU10K1 chip on the 1010 card is sample-locked at 48kHz, so you're best sticking to that if you want to avoid sample-rate conversion.

As title states using 1820m card 8-)
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by chi_mike » Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:29 am

1010 is the PCI card. 1820m is the module that plugs in via Cat5e cable.
iOS / macOS / tvOS Developer
Presonus Quantum
Presonus Quantum 4848
Akai and Roberts tube preamps / Scully 280 preamps , etc
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
"Code Natively!"

QualityNotQuantity
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by QualityNotQuantity » Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:05 pm

All seems to be working well now with my EMU-1820M sound card and audio dock within my Windows 7-64 bit PC

Settings are as follows:

PatchMix DSP Version: 2.10.00
Driver Version: 6.0.1.1246
File Version: 2.10.00.0001

E-MU 1010 Firmware Version: 3.4
AudioDock Firmware Version: 3.4
Sync Card Firmware Version: 5.6
Build Date: Apr 29 2008 13:25:21

Thanks for all your help guys... :D
'Life's A Pitch - But Somebody Has To Do It'

User avatar
JLiRD808
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by JLiRD808 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 10:30 pm

Just curious...anyone having any luck with the Emu 1212/1820's etc in Windows 8?
https://soundcloud.com/jasonkasu/sets

C8.0.2 - W7 x64 - i5 3570k 4.2Ghz OC'd - 12gb DDR3 - UH-7000 - EMU 1212M - SM7B - GAP Pre 73 - HS80 - JBL LSR305 - HD-600 - Denon AH-D2000 - NI/IK/Waves Bundles

Avgvoice
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Will I be able to run Emu 1820m sound card on Window 7?

Post by Avgvoice » Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:26 am

FWIW, I'm here at the Steinberg forum because after 18 months of trying to make my E-Mu 1616m PCI Microdock work again with non-ASIO software, I gave up and went all the way to a UR824, chosen because other products either don't have DSP FX or don't have enough analog I/O. My first impression is that the UR is pretty, and its on-screen "board" is easier to read, but as for FX, I'm unimpressed. And although I got Skype to work correctly a couple days ago, thanks to a post that said "turn on Loopback," today if I have loopback on and the slider volume up, I get continuous echo. [UPDATE: You need loopback to be on (red), but that produces the echo. I made the echo go away by checking (or was it unchecking?) "Allow apps to take exclusive control of this device" in the Windows line properties pop-up (whether in Recording or Playback, I don't recall either offhand). Why that should matter, I have no idea yet. It's still not perfect, because the other party (the Skype test-call lady) is coming in on my channel, with a touch of lag, so I at least still have some routing to sort out. (Sigh. With the 1616 it was a no-brainer, I used it for years, it worked and knew none of this stuff.)

That and at one point the software froze, and I had to reload it. But I digress, that's for another post.

Yes, if your 1820m is like the 1616m, it works with Win7 if you use the Beta driver. But the wide range of E-Mu product owners have had varying results, with no apparent pattern. When I upgraded from XP Pro to Win 7 Ultimate in 2013, the 1616 worked fine for 10 months, and life went on. Then suddenly in Nov 2013, non-ASIO programs couldn't hear the "WAVE" signal. So no Skype, no Audacity, no talking in webinars, etc. I'm not a tech expert, but from this and other symptoms and imput from people who know more about this stuff, it seems totally like a driver problem. For some people the product still works, for others, it doesn't, for me it works fine except for the non-ASIO output. Some posts have suggested that the 1616 doesn't get along with more than 4G of memory. I finally got fed up and moved on.

But I never realized how much I'd become accustomed to E-Mu's PatchMix DSP FX being able to tailor my computer's speaker output. So far, the 824's included FX doesn't hold a candle to it in ease of use, and I suspect it might also fall short in the range of effects, or at least presets. Does the 824 have a "stereo reverb" and chorus? (I used them a lot for giving mono ambiance a stereo feel.) And with a single click, I could listen to a poor-audio webinar even while doing the dishes, no problem.

If you want to persist in trying to kick E-Mu's football, you might find some tips at other forums, such as productionforums.com. It seems a lot more active and current than E-mu's at Creative.com.

Personally, if the beta driver doesn't work from the start, I'd start shopping. Except there is still nothing out there exactly like my 1616 (at least not under $1,000), and believe me, I've searched.

Now if only I can get Skype to work with the 824. But that's another post.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests