"Hide All Automation" is closing folders

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
fantasiom
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:03 pm
Contact:

"Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by fantasiom » Sun Mar 08, 2015 4:17 am

Hi,
Using cubase 8.0.5 on Mac 10.8.5. Noticed that the "Hide All Automation" key command or clicking "hide all" from the automation panel closes all folders that contain VST instrument returns. It's easy to reproduce

1) new empty project

2) add a vst instrument

3) select "Hide All" from the automation panel

It will close the VST instruments folder for some reason. Also if you move the vst tracks into a different folder of your own it will close that as well.

I assume this is a bug because automation lanes are not tracks, they are opened from the drop down arrow on any track, including VST instrument channels. Folders are something complete separate from automation lanes and their are separate functions to close folders.

thanks!
Matt

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by giankam » Mon Mar 09, 2015 7:14 pm

Same here. This is issue simply makes hide automations unusable since in my projects I use a lot of folders.
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by giankam » Mon Mar 16, 2015 10:13 am

Unfortunatelly not fixed in 8.0.10 :roll:
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

Invincibear
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by Invincibear » Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:07 pm

+1, super annoying with 200+ tracks.

side note: learning to incorporate workspaces is next on my Cubase learning to-do list. I just setup control room the other day and can't believe I've been missing out for so long!

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9219
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by -steve- » Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:59 pm

The command is closing folders that contain automation, not Folder track folders- so the command is doing what it says, no?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

fantasiom
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:03 pm
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by fantasiom » Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:21 am

nope it's closing folder tracks as well. If you move vst channels into a new folder track that you create it then closes this folders. If those folders happen to contain other things then it's a pain that they get closed. It should only be closing automation "lanes" not folders.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9219
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:40 am

I see what you're saying. This needs to be modernized. I will move this to the Feature Request forum. I can tell you that the dev team is aware that people want to see this changed.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by giankam » Sun Oct 11, 2015 4:01 pm

When is this going to be fixed?
How can I hide all the automations without closing the folders?

Thanks
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by giankam » Sun Oct 11, 2015 4:06 pm

Sorry again but if a command affects something it shouldn't, the command is not working as supposed to hence this should be a bug and not a feature request. Does it make sense?

Thanks
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

sgodzillat
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:13 am
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by sgodzillat » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:47 am

+1

i'm tired clicking :p

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by marQs » Sun Nov 08, 2015 9:35 am

This one bothered me as well. I created a macro that closes automation lanes and re-opens the folders back again.

Here it is (german):
automation.JPG
(22.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Very simple, just two commands:

1. Automation - show automations of all tracks
2. Project logical editor - presets - open folders

The actual wording might differ, it's just my freestyle translation.
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by giankam » Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:18 pm

Thanks for the input!! Great idea. the problem is only when you have folders you want to stay closed.

Is this bug been fixed in 8.5? I need yet to update.

Many thanks



marQs wrote:This one bothered me as well. I created a macro that closes automation lanes and re-opens the folders back again.

Here it is (german):
automation.JPG
Very simple, just two commands:

1. Automation - show automations of all tracks
2. Project logical editor - presets - open folders

The actual wording might differ, it's just my freestyle translation.
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "Hide All Automation" is closing folders

Post by giankam » Sat Dec 05, 2015 12:18 pm

Updated to 8.5 and this is hasn't been fixed.
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests