I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Emrahexe
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:51 pm
Contact:

I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by Emrahexe » Fri Apr 29, 2011 4:56 pm

I could not reply the update announcement topic because of server error. Im trying to open a topic now.here;



Dear Steingberg Team;

I have been using cubase since sx3 version and I never had that kind of problems before.I was exited when I saw the update.. Well nothing is changed with this update from my side. I have purchased cubase in january and its been 5 months. I still can NOT use cubase 6 proper on my brand new macbook pro and pc desktop win7 32. I have tried everything. Memory test hardware test reinstall both os and cubase on both 32 64 bit mode. It^s still crashing and I feel like my money went to deep sea for nothing. ITS ANNOYING and I cant take this anymore. I have been waiting for this update since february and now I got only a HUGE disappointment with cubase 6. It's crashing while editing something or during playback or export any kind of audio both realtime or standart and different sample rates. Nope...

It's too weird because when I use 5.5.3 its working flawless even 50+ channel with full loaded vsti performance. Fast durable and stabile never crashes.with cubase 6 it's opposite and I just started to loose my "TRUST" to Steinberg and seriously if it continue like that then im going to start looking for another solution than cubase. 5 months to fight with cubase 6 in my studio and wasted times ( installing systems and cubase over and over) made me to loose around 2000 euro...! Thanks.

I hope you understand me and here is the crash rapport. Even your website is crashing nowadays.. I just understand the others who avoid of updating their lovely Rock solid 5.5.3 version cubase to cubase 6.. I was even going to purchase wavelab because of it's macosx compatibility but the issues that I am having right now, got me thinking about it.

My system;
Brand new macbook pro
macosx 10.6.7 ( I had never any crash when I use other programs except cubase 6.)
Cubase 5.5.3
Cubase 6.0.2
Fresh installed macosx. No extra vsti vsti etc.



Process: Cubase 6 [4041]
Path: /Applications/Cubase 6.app/Contents/MacOS/Cubase 6 Identifier: com.steinberg.cubase
Version: 6.0.2.291 (6.0.2.291)
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [125]

Date/Time: 2011-04-29 16:30:17.891 +0200
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.6.7 (10J3250)
Report Version: 6

Interval Since Last Report: 845628 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 253
Per-App Interval Since Last Report: 359 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 1
Anonymous UUID: EBC6AD07-467D-4D62-8F46-DD4A96303297

Exception Type: EXC_CRASH (SIGABRT)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Application Specific Information:
abort() called

Thread 0 Crashed: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x94f2117a __kill + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x94f2116c kill$UNIX2003 + 32
2 libSystem.B.dylib 0x94fb3879 raise + 26
3 libSystem.B.dylib 0x94fc99b8 abort + 93
4 libstdc++.6.dylib 0x963d5fda __gnu_cxx::__verbose_terminate_handler() + 433 5 libstdc++.6.dylib 0x963d417a __cxxabiv1::__terminate(void (*)()) + 10 6 libstdc++.6.dylib 0x963d41ba __cxxabiv1::__unexpected(void (*)()) + 0 7 libstdc++.6.dylib 0x963d42b8 __gxx_exception_cleanup(_Unwind_Reason_Code, _Unwind_Exception*) + 0 8 com.steinberg.cubase 0x014ec2dd CSOLOISTExtendedAnalysis::~CSOLOISTExtendedAnalysis()


somehow I need a solution because steingberg is about loosing a loyal buyer.



Best Regard
Emrah CELIK
http://www.emrahcelik.net
Last edited by Emrahexe on Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CinStudios
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:35 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase...

Post by CinStudios » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:25 pm

If the website is crashing too it might be something other than Cubase mate...

njsmooth
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:19 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase...

Post by njsmooth » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:50 pm

I do notice that the steiny site seems overloaded at times but that has nothing to do with cubase. That sucks that you can't get it to work though, i have it installed on an mbp and mac pro and both have worked fine since day one (a little buggy but that is expected). Sorry im no help with the crashing.
Cubase 6.02 | Mac Pro Quad 2.66 | OSX 10.6.5 | Gear List on my site

Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase...

Post by Pete » Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:48 am

This is strange....

For me Cubase 6 has been the best .0 version yes. Also started with SX3.

I assume you have run your hardware tests. Could it be you run C6 in 64bit and so adresses more RAM than C5? Is all your RAM OK?

You should put your system specs in your signature :)
Sweden
MacPro 2.8. 10 gig Ram. OS 10.9.2, MacBookPro, 2x MH ULN-2 2D +DSP, Focusrite OctoPre, MOTU midi express XT, Roland keyboard, JV1080, Cubase7, LogicProX, DSP-Quattro, Sibelius 7, NI Komplete, FabFilter, PSP, OhmForce, Aether, AltiVerb, AutoTune, Melodyne. Cubase IC Pro

Henky
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:17 pm
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase...

Post by Henky » Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:58 am

Emrahexe wrote:I still can NOT use cubase 6 proper on my brand new macbook pro and pc desktop win7 32.
This struck me as being odd.
There must be another reason why Cubase crashes in your case.
Maybe a corrupt project, a bad plug-in or an incomplete install download, but crashing on 2 complete different systems with 2 completely different OS's that can't be.
If it was that bad with Cubase much much more people would have the same problem.

Blackout
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:13 am

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase...

Post by Blackout » Sat Apr 30, 2011 11:37 am

a lot of people like to try and use their Cubase 5 Template for C6 when they really should start with a C6 new project from the start. This may be your problem. still crashing with a fresh new c6 session?

also i had a faulty memory stick and it did not show up until cubase was pushed hard and then...blue screen. i knew it was my system not cubase as there is no complaints about blue screens here.
Cubase 8.5.30 / UAD2 Quad + UAD2 Solo / Win7 x64 SP1 / Asus X99 Deluxe II MB / 12 Gig DDR3 Samsung Ram / NVIDIA GT730 /Steinberg UR824 Audio Interface x2

Guest

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase...

Post by Guest » Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:36 pm

why trying to fix problems since C4 when logic works like a charm on a macbook.
I like cubase cause i spend 4k for great vst plugs and instruments and it works most time stable with new projects on win7. But i can understand you, i am not completely in awe with cubase 6.0.2 too.

Emrahexe
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase...

Post by Emrahexe » Sat Apr 30, 2011 1:10 pm

I wrote brand new macbook pro so that's expain my configuration thought. For more information it's 15" core i7 8gb ram. I'm a computer engineer so I would feel if there was any hardware problem. I have tested all kind of part on my macbook. It's working flawless on my gigs and with other software. So that means I have no problem with my configuration.

I have tried on board core audio or audio 2 dj or focusrite saffire pro 24 dsp to bounce my project. No way. On the half way of exporting it's crashing.

Yes, Sure i tried to produce a new track on a totally fresh cubase 6 and macosx.


There is crash rapport and it designed to explain something wrong. Cubase programmers should check this IMO.

ruffindajungle
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by ruffindajungle » Sat Apr 30, 2011 3:03 pm

wow mate i have 50+ tracks in q6 mpc i5, it runs even on heavy plugs and instr flawlessy.Smt bifilter is stuck a bit but thats it.too bad, cause i wanted to say just oppspite, i think im just starting with cubase one long relasonhip
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Erica synth Fusion box, Sh101, Ob-6, Rme UCX, E352 cloud terrarium

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by Conman » Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:15 pm

I'm a computer engineer so I would feel if there was any hardware problem. I have tested all kind of part on my macbook. It's working flawless on my gigs and with other software. So that means I have no problem with my configuration.
I'm a computer engineer too and I would never say it CAN'T be my configuration. There's too many things to miss or just go wrong.
It's a pain but you may just have to check the whole system again to see if you have missed anything or something was corrupted on installation. Corrupt computer disks are not unknown.
You could also download new versions in case you had corruption on download.
As stated there are too many working systems and happy customers with C6 straight out of the box not to do another check as you may see from the response. C6 looks to be the most stable release to date after a couple of clunkers in the last 5/6 years.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase...

Post by Pete » Sun May 01, 2011 2:53 pm

team714 wrote:why trying to fix problems since C4 when logic works like a charm on a macbook.
Because the "overload whatever" bug and the Audio Unit Cash bug in Logic makes the program seem - well, not very professional...
Sweden
MacPro 2.8. 10 gig Ram. OS 10.9.2, MacBookPro, 2x MH ULN-2 2D +DSP, Focusrite OctoPre, MOTU midi express XT, Roland keyboard, JV1080, Cubase7, LogicProX, DSP-Quattro, Sibelius 7, NI Komplete, FabFilter, PSP, OhmForce, Aether, AltiVerb, AutoTune, Melodyne. Cubase IC Pro

roger-s.
Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by roger-s. » Mon May 02, 2011 7:07 am

Rule Number 1 in this Forum: "If there´s a problem and I cannot fix it, it´s Cubase´s fault".
Rule Number 2 in this furum: "It´s never me nor my computer."
Rule Number 3 in this Forum: "If the problem wasn´t caused by Cubase, applies automatically rule 1."

I think, I´m going to copy this on some more topics.
And yes, I am being ironic...

Roger
Steinberg Training Center FAMA Foco Audio & Music A. , Mexico City

savadious
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:14 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by savadious » Mon May 02, 2011 8:20 am

Emrahexe wrote:... because steingberg is about loosing a loyal buyer.

Please send me your Cubase 6 license !

TYVM
-
Free 2gig online music data storage account here ---> http://db.tt/vbuo2sX Great FREEbie. Cubase Pro | Windows 10 x64 | Maschine Studio | Maschine Jam | Komplete Kontrol S88 | Komplete Kontrol S61 | Studio Logic SL990xp | Komplete Ultimate 11 | CC121 | Steinberg UR242 | Hatsune Miku | RIG Urban Workstation | Shreddage 2 | iMaschine iOS app | Cubasis on iPad pro (for remote gigs)

Emrahexe
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by Emrahexe » Mon May 02, 2011 11:23 am

roger-s. wrote:Rule Number 1 in this Forum: "If there´s a problem and I cannot fix it, it´s Cubase´s fault".
Rule Number 2 in this furum: "It´s never me nor my computer."
Rule Number 3 in this Forum: "If the problem wasn´t caused by Cubase, applies automatically rule 1."

I think, I´m going to copy this on some more topics.
And yes, I am being ironic...

Roger
Im here to solve my problem not read your useless reply. If you have a solution then show me so I would be happy. But being annoying is something else.

Number 1 : I have been using cubase since sx3 and I never complained about it. Never had problem crashes etc.
Number 2 : I have 2 macbook and 2 desktops So it"s crashing on all system. Yeah it"s not my computer
number 3 : Simply read the other topic so you can see they all got problems.

Number 4 : Be helpful this a support forum. You are not supporting me just being annoying rgiht.
Number 5: Im not stupid or a newbie so If I complain about it there is some exprerinces.
number 6 :Respect the other ppls problem and thoughts.

Emrahexe
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:51 pm
Contact:

Cubase 6 is like Steinberg's new vista?

Post by Emrahexe » Mon May 02, 2011 11:28 am

So;

since cubase 6 released we have been dealing with some serious problems like crashing in the middle of project.We have problems since 6. Not you but WE have. It's seems like cubase 6 with new eleastique algorithym looks like microsoft's vista. Updates does not fix some problems yet. I really misses cubase's stabily...

best

Guest

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by Guest » Mon May 02, 2011 9:53 pm

The majority feel this is the best release is years! Before you put all the blame on Steinberg you should try a clean OS installation and check the audio I/O for issues (bad driver or system conflicts).

Personally I'm knocking down 150-200 tracks of Virtual Instruments and Audio Recordings without a crash in months. [not bragging... just saying]

User avatar
DaDa
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by DaDa » Tue May 03, 2011 3:53 am

Emrahexe wrote:I could not reply the update announcement topic because of server error.
CinStudios wrote:If the website is crashing too it might be something other than Cubase mate...
Well ... the topic was 'cleaned up' ...
I.e. : the reported, still unfixed issues erased.

Now we have the best release ever ... ( as others say ).

If the majority really thinks that's true, Steinberg has done everything right :
Focused on users, who do not need
- Transparent Events, to use all the great new editing features
- a reliable working quantize
- a flawless solo/mute system
- clearly visible overlap areas
- an info line without tenths of wasted black pixels
- a font that is always perfectly sharp and readable
- an easy way to access the inspector with the mouse
- a fast and responsive interface, with large track counts and large numbers of events
- etc.

There's a lot to do, to release the V6 potential.
Sadly, they now have to work on other things ...

Regarding the original topic :
It has happened, here that all my 3 systems showed the same error,
due to something, I installed on all three systems.
Have Your 4 systems anything in common
( like : sames OS disks used, same 3rd party plugins installed, same add ons installed, etc. ) ?

bye, Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4x 4,2gHz | 16gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 22" LCDs|
System SSD | 7tb Data HDs
RME RayDat | Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 | Steinberg UR 824
Win7 SP1 64bit | Cubase 8.5.20 64bit | Samplitude X3 64bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 SP1 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore

jbw
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:41 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by jbw » Tue May 03, 2011 5:08 am

C6.0.0 has been the most stable Cubase build I have had since, I got c4 new.

That being said, I still have my fair share of problems.

C6 was working flawlessly until I started to tax my system (and by tax I mean bring my CPU meter above 30%).

I now get crashes on every music production project I do, sometimes worse than others. It is no where near perfect on my system, but useable. I have yet to use a piece of software (for music production) that is as ergonomic as Cubase and I use other DAWs for work (DP and PT); so I deal with it, even when I am ready to smash something.

Here are some issues I notice with C6:

-C6 and 96k do not play nice together

-Sometimes audio files I have imported (and are in my project's audio folder) get corrupted. When I hit that audio event in the sequence I will crash, and I need to remove it from pool/audio folder to bring stability back to the project.



From what it sounds like, I think it would be in your best interest to go back to the last stable build [for you] of Cubase. You said 5.5.2 was flawless for you, then I would suggest using that and trying a future update with your configuration.

Also, give the guy a damn break, he is having a ton of problems and is frustrated; we all get there sometimes. Everyone gets on posters who quickly blame software, but those same people are also quick to blame the people. Issues arise both ways.
Custom Windows 7 Pro 64bit PC
i7 4790k
16gb memory

--

Cubase 8.5.x

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by Norbury Brook » Tue May 03, 2011 12:19 pm

I've just finished an hours worth of music for a DVD using cubase 6x64 using lots of V.I's/plugins/audio and running a QT HD video track no problems at all.

I was a little worried about working to picture with QT HD video on a win 7 x64 machine, but it was seamless.

so it can work.

MC
ASRock x570 Taichi -Ryzen 3950x-16 core locked @4.3ghz-32 gigs 3600 DDR4- Winows 10 x64-OSX MOjave- AXR4-Euphonix mix,Transport-CC121-Cubase 10.5.x

User avatar
crohde
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by crohde » Tue May 03, 2011 12:42 pm

Hello Emrah,

I will pass your crash report to one of our developers. Maybe they can tell us what's happening there. :)
Best regards,

Carlos Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
crohde
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by crohde » Tue May 03, 2011 12:46 pm

By the way, have you tried repairing the permissions of your hard drives in Applications -> Utilities -> Disk Utility ?
That usually solves lots of problems.
Best regards,

Carlos Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
crohde
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by crohde » Tue May 03, 2011 1:27 pm

Hello Emrah,

Was that the complete crash report or did you shorten it?
Could you send me the complete crash log? Does it crash whenever you do something specific (if yes, tell us what do you do or when it happens) or randomly?
Best regards,

Carlos Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Emrahexe
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by Emrahexe » Tue May 03, 2011 5:12 pm

Hello Crothe; I just shorten it. I will send you a full crash rapport via pm. Thanks for you care about me.

There is only one part that I did not test it and it is usbdongle if it couses crashes I dont know. Because I have not only cubase license in my usbdongle. There is Subboombass Predator, Vengaence Multi band Compressor and Metrum kick synthesizer. I only get crashes during playback or exporting any kind of audio with 6.0.2. If it was a minor issue I won't be writing here I would be happy to wait for next updates. But in the middle of project if it crashes or when the deadline comes to deliver your tracks you feel a huge stress which makes you out of focus on your projects. That's major problem for me.

For other replies,

Thanks everyone, but there is something obvious that I don't blame Steinberg. Vice versa I never had/have problems with other cubase versions until 6.0 showed up. I have install it to a clean macosx system and start from begining a few projects. I got crashes.

I won't blame companies because there are tones of them who does exactly the same job. I would simply change it. This topic is created after 2 months of problem research with a huge dissappointment abou 6.0.

It may be my system it may be cubase software it does not matter as long as I have problems. If my computer working perfectly with any kind of heavy or light programs without crashing or any issue. So what would you think if you were me? %99.9999 of programs are working flawless and cubase crashes.

Won't you come over here and tell the story?

If I was kinda agressive and irritating with my first message then Im sory. It's all about loosing around 2000 euro (3 remixes are canceled because of I could not deliver them on time)...

Best
Emrah

Emrahexe
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by Emrahexe » Tue May 03, 2011 5:25 pm

crohde wrote:By the way, have you tried repairing the permissions of your hard drives in Applications -> Utilities -> Disk Utility ?
That usually solves lots of problems.
Yes I have tried it couple of times. No result.

Emrahexe
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: I think I'm done with Cubase 6...

Post by Emrahexe » Tue May 03, 2011 5:40 pm

Last thing I need to control. It's my licenses and Usb Dongle...

Locked

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests