Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
FaronJames
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:02 am
Contact:

Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by FaronJames » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:43 pm

Just switched over to 8 and tried to open my 7.5 files. I get an error that the files were made in Cubase 7.5 and Cubase 8 cannot open them. Has this been discussed elsewhere. If so can you point me in the right direction.
Win 7 Pro 64 sp1 - running i7 22600 CPU 3.40 GHZ, 16 gb ram Cubase 8.0.20 Moto Ultralite

fatjac
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by fatjac » Sat Apr 25, 2015 12:52 pm

I have similar problems. I can open the files but they refuse to play and sound...
Very long time user of Cubase. Started out on the Atari with Pro12...

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3305
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by raino » Sat Apr 25, 2015 8:56 pm

That's odd. You might want to submit a support request on My Steinberg. I've opened both 7 files in 8 and 8 files in 7 and both played fine (except of course new C8 features disappear in 7). I have noticed on occasion that the VST Connections for the input and output channels gets lost when switching versions, which might be what fatjac is experiencing. Creating a preset for your connections and then reloading it resolves that issue. But the files should open fine. You might try disabling your 3rd party plug-ins to see if they are causing problems.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by peakae » Sun Apr 26, 2015 6:30 am

I can open projects fine that are made using Cubase sx3 and up, very strange.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

FaronJames
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:02 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by FaronJames » Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:19 pm

I still get the error when trying to open files from 7.5 to 8. I get an error 98% of the time. I have no problem opening C7 or lower in 8. It is just anything I create in 7.5.
Win 7 Pro 64 sp1 - running i7 22600 CPU 3.40 GHZ, 16 gb ram Cubase 8.0.20 Moto Ultralite

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3305
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by raino » Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:06 pm

FaronJames wrote:I still get the error when trying to open files from 7.5 to 8. I get an error 98% of the time. I have no problem opening C7 or lower in 8. It is just anything I create in 7.5.
What is the error actually saying?

Also it is useful to provide the specs for your DAW in order for folks to help. Putting that in your sig is a good way to only enter that info once.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

FaronJames
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:02 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by FaronJames » Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:38 pm

Howdy again, the error is "Project "songtitle.cpr" was created with Cubase Version 7.5.40. This program version cannot load it." The files are wav files with no plugins or outside sends. Clean files in approximately 10 channels. This is happening with all my 7.5.40 files trying to open in Cubase 8.
Win 7 Pro 64 sp1 - running i7 22600 CPU 3.40 GHZ, 16 gb ram Cubase 8.0.20 Moto Ultralite

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3305
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by raino » Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:49 pm

If you still have an older version like 7.0 or 7.5.30 on your system (or can reinstall it) try opening your 7.5.40 project in it and then saving it under a different name as a 7.0 (or whatever) project. Then try opening that project in 8.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2125
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:58 pm

I have no problem opening any C7 projects but I only went as far as 7.5.30 before going to C8 .... maybe there's an issue with the way 7.5.40 saves projects, or the way C8 treats them?
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 9.5.50 | WaveLab 9.5.50 | HALion 6.2.20 | Groove Agent 4.2.40 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | x64 only

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3305
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by raino » Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:12 pm

MrSoundman wrote:I have no problem opening any C7 projects but I only went as far as 7.5.30 before going to C8 .... maybe there's an issue with the way 7.5.40 saves projects, or the way C8 treats them?
Yeah, my thoughts exactly. I stopped at 7.5.30 too.

I just checked FaronJames sig and it says they're running 8.0.10. If I remember correctly 8.0.10 was released before 7.5.40 so it would make sense it doesn't know how to open 7.5.40 files. I bet upgrading to 8.0.20 would do the trick if this is the cause. Create a restore point before upgrading in case you want to revert.

And oops, I see its time I update my sig to show the version I'm actually running :oops:
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2125
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:15 pm

raino wrote:If I remember correctly 8.0.10 was released before 7.5.40 so it would make sense it doesn't know how to open 7.5.40 files
By golly Watson, I think you've got it! :lol:
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 9.5.50 | WaveLab 9.5.50 | HALion 6.2.20 | Groove Agent 4.2.40 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | x64 only

FaronJames
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:02 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase not opening any of my Cubase 7.5 files

Post by FaronJames » Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:38 pm

I did upgrade to 8.0.20 and I still have the same error message.
Win 7 Pro 64 sp1 - running i7 22600 CPU 3.40 GHZ, 16 gb ram Cubase 8.0.20 Moto Ultralite

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests