MR816 Using Inserts?

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.
Post Reply
kylekim
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:11 am
Contact:

MR816 Using Inserts?

Post by kylekim »

Hello,

I was wondering if the inserts on MR816 back panel can be used with "Y" cables for external FX.

I'm thinking I would hook up compressors using two Y cables and use them?

Is this possible?

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: MR816 Using Inserts?

Post by Mrhehon »

Yes. That is what they are for.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

kylekim
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:11 am
Contact:

Re: MR816 Using Inserts?

Post by kylekim »

Okay. Thank you for your reply but could you kindly tell me how i can assign insert in/output from cubase 7?

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: MR816 Using Inserts?

Post by Mrhehon »

It´s the same as using the inserts in a mixing desk. The insert in/out is located just after the pre amp stage. So if you have a compressor connected using a Y cable the signal is compressed on input. If you want to compress an already recorded signal you would have to route the signal out of a physical output and back into the channel that has the insert connected.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

kylekim
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:11 am
Contact:

Re: MR816 Using Inserts?

Post by kylekim »

Ah! I see thank you so much! Appreciated. =)

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg MR816”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest