6.02 patch - crackles!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Wed May 04, 2011 3:28 am

I just installed. Was working on a project before and after, and after, the ASIO meter is showing peaks every couple of seconds, even without the project playing. Audible crackles. I can get rid of them by increasing the buffer size from 64 to 256, but it isn't a heavy project (no VSTis, for example), and when it doesn't peak, the ASIO meter is hanging around 50%. I guess I'd better back 6.02 off. Before I do, anybody else experiencing this?

Should also mention, nothing else running, and when I go into the performance meters in task manager, there are no CPU spikes that I can see; maybe that's just normal since it's just taking a snapshot every second?

Also, can anyone advise on how to back off safely? I think it's as simple as uninstalling and reinstalling from my 6.0 CD, right?
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Wed May 04, 2011 4:48 am

Wait, there's more. On a couple of my projects that are hovering around 50% ASIO meter, the ones that crackle, I'm getting about a half second delay when playing my guitar through an amp sim (not direct monitoring). Hit the note, wait a half second, hear the note. Tried Guitar Rig 4, Amplitube Jimi Hendrix, and the Cubase 6 amp sim, happens with all of them. On some other projects that are not as heavy (30% ASIO), this is not happening. Also didn't happen before I upgraded.

So this upgrade is not working for me, wanted to see if anybody else is having problems before I back it out.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

HomePlayer
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:42 pm

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by HomePlayer » Wed May 04, 2011 5:41 am

Hello Early21.
I found a similar behavior with Cubase 6.02 (haven't tested for the delay but the crackles).
On my projects (about 8 tracks with just a few inserts) I did not have any problem with Cubase 6 and 6.01.
Asio Load was at about 20 %. The buffersize of for my Firewire Focusrite Sapphire 40 was set to 126 Samples and no crackles.
With Cubase 6.02 the Asio Load was about 40 % without changing anything else and crackles (and Asiopeaks) about every second or two. Since I have increase the Asiobuffer to 196 the Asioload is down to 20% again and no crackles, any more.

Just my observations.

The Homeplayer
Windows 10 Professional 64Bit (1903), GIGABYTE X299 UD4 Pro, Intel I7 7820x, 64 GByte RAM, Focusrite Saffire 40, Steinberg UR22, PSR9000, Motif Rack ES with PLG100 XG and PLG150DX, Midisports8x8, Cubase pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, ProTools 2019.05, Fabfilter, Hofa, BlueCat, Izotope, Waves and other Plugins

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by matjones » Wed May 04, 2011 10:54 am

Have you tried trashing your prefs yet?
Doing this can sort out MANY issues... if you don't want to loose your current prefs just cut and paste the containing folder to your desktop and cubase will rebuild prefs when you start it again... It's usually one of the first things worth trying.

Also.... on one occasion, for reasons still unknown to me, my BIOS decided to reset my memory speed to 1066 instead of the 1600 it should have been... caused no end of crackles and pops and head scratching!
Cubase 10.0.20 Asus P9X79 LE, i7 4820K@ 3.7GHz, 32GB Corsair 1600 RAM, Asus R5 230, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Wed May 04, 2011 11:33 am

Thanks for the suggestion, Majtones. I won't be able to try that until this evening (US time).
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Thu May 05, 2011 4:09 am

I trashed my preferences, but it didn't solve either of the problems I've reported here. I really couldn't think of anything else to do but to uninstall Cubase and then reinstall from the CD. The problems are gone, so at least I know it wasn't something else that I had inadvertently done. Unfortunately, there was at least one fix in that upgrade that I was looking for, namely the repair for the audio artifacts in the Multiband Compressor. I guess I have to hope that others have my two other problems so that Steinberg issues another update?
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

ceanganb
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:39 am
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by ceanganb » Thu May 05, 2011 5:47 am

6.0.2 patch also did ruin performance in Cubase. Patch 6.0.1 was working fine and I'm back to it. Hard to understand why is that, but any project working before crackles all the time, it's not a small degradation, it's a complete one. I might try to test some more, but I'm keeping 6.0.1 for the moment.
A. C.
Cubase 9.5 / Windows 10 Home x64 / M-Audio Fast Track C400
Intel Core i7 2700K / 32GB RAM DDR3 1333 Mhz / Asus P8H67-M EVO

Laurence Payne
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Laurence Payne » Thu May 05, 2011 11:34 am

Check your computer hasn't reverted to a power economy mode. Cubase now has that feature that enforces a suitable Power Scheme. I'm not sure how nicely it plays with some systems that bypass the standard Windows power management utility.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Thu May 05, 2011 11:44 am

Laurence Payne wrote:Check your computer hasn't reverted to a power economy mode. Cubase now has that feature that enforces a suitable Power Scheme. I'm not sure how nicely it plays with some systems that bypass the standard Windows power management utility.
Thanks for the idea; I checked that, and the power plan was not changed. Also, everything is working ok after uninstalling 6.02, so I think we can rule out other independent environment changes.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Thu May 05, 2011 11:48 am

ceanganb wrote:6.0.2 patch also did ruin performance in Cubase. Patch 6.0.1 was working fine and I'm back to it. Hard to understand why is that, but any project working before crackles all the time, it's not a small degradation, it's a complete one. I might try to test some more, but I'm keeping 6.0.1 for the moment.
Cean, thanks for confirming that you have experienced the same issue. Interesting that you didn't have the issue with 6.0.1. Makes me think maybe I can install 6.0.1 to get the fix for the Multiband Compressor. Did you also experience the input delay issue?
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

ceanganb
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:39 am
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by ceanganb » Thu May 05, 2011 2:56 pm

I will take some time to check it, and I'll return to you
A. C.
Cubase 9.5 / Windows 10 Home x64 / M-Audio Fast Track C400
Intel Core i7 2700K / 32GB RAM DDR3 1333 Mhz / Asus P8H67-M EVO

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 621
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by plectrumboy » Fri May 06, 2011 7:28 am

Hello Early,

I haven't experienced the Asio increase, but this week I've had what sounds like the same wierd delay issues when trying to track guitar on an existing 6.0 or 6.1 project. I've had something similar before, which I solved by removing the Cubase vst effects from the track in question whilst tracking, then putting them back for mixing. This hasn't worked for me this time.

I hope to have some more time to play around this weekend and find out more.

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X, Cubase 10 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Fri May 06, 2011 2:28 pm

Hello Steve, your comments made me wonder if it has anything to do with moving projects over from 6.0 to 6.02. I didn't create new projects in 6.02, just tried the ones I had. Also, most of them originated in 4.5. But the pattern is not consistent in that some projects that originated from 4.5 don't have the problem. What seems to be common to the projects that do have the delay problem is that they run the ASIO meter a little higher, and it's hard to quantify. Increasing the buffer size didn't fix the problem either.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Tue May 10, 2011 4:37 pm

Just bumping this one to see if others are experiencing these issues, which are severe and make 6.0.2 unusable for me.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Midibass
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Midibass » Tue May 10, 2011 6:34 pm

I'm really excited about Cubase6...best Cubase ever! But I've also got crackles and low performance with the new 6.02 update...never had any problems like that before.

M
Cubase 10.0.10 and Macbook Pro 15" OSX 10.13.6

80s Synthwave music: http://www.CodeElektro.com
Pro Sound Designer and Composer: http://www.ahmatron.com

olieoliver
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by olieoliver » Tue May 10, 2011 8:26 pm

I was getting cracks and pops as well (only using VST instruments) with buffer at 256, changed it to 384 and they went away. I can direct monitor so latency is not a problem BUT if I want to hear any of the built in effects as I play I have to deal with the latency.
Cubase 6.02 on Mac Pro-Quad Core 2.66GHz-9GB ram 1.33GHz buss
Presonus-FP10 interface-Presonus Fader Port Controller
Twin 20" monitors

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by alexis » Tue May 10, 2011 9:00 pm

I've been following the thread with interest.

1) Early21 - you wrote
Early21 wrote: ... What seems to be common to the projects that do have the delay problem is that they run the ASIO meter a little higher, and it's hard to quantify. Increasing the buffer size didn't fix the problem either.
, but I thought you also wrote in your 1st post at the top of the page that increasing the buffer DID fix the problem?

2) Does anyone know - has it been established that 6.02 is somehow more resource-intensive than 6.00 or even 6.01?
Last edited by alexis on Wed May 11, 2011 4:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

scradge
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:26 am
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by scradge » Wed May 11, 2011 1:34 am

Jus thought id ad to this that im also experiencing these issues, (see my other thread)
I also have a saffire pro40, Its not making cubase unsusable, but its damn irritating.
Why do all the Closed minded ones Open their mouths.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Wed May 11, 2011 4:54 pm

alexis wrote:I've been following the thread with interest.

1) Early21 - you wrote
Early21 wrote: ... What seems to be common to the projects that do have the delay problem is that they run the ASIO meter a little higher, and it's hard to quantify. Increasing the buffer size didn't fix the problem either.
, but I thought you also wrote in your 1st post at the top of the page that increasing the buffer DID fix the problem?

2) Does anyone know - has it been established that 6.02 is somehow more resource-intensive than 6.00 or even 6.01?
Alexis, sorry for confusing. I was talking about two different issues, and maybe I should have started another thread for the second. Increasing the buffer size eliminates the first issue (the crackles for a project that didn't crackle on 6.0.0) at the cost of performance. Increasing the buffer size did not solve the 2nd problem of the delay when monitoring my guitar through an amp sim in Cubase.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Wed May 11, 2011 4:58 pm

scradge wrote:Jus thought id ad to this that im also experiencing these issues, (see my other thread)
I also have a saffire pro40, Its not making cubase unsusable, but its damn irritating.
Thanks for reporting in, I'm wondering how we go about finding situations that cause this problem? I will have to reinstall and experiment; so far the only pattern I noticed was that the projects that experienced these problems were relatively heavy projects (making use of a lot of plugs and vsti's). I will have to see if I can narrow it down. I also have projects where neither of the issues occur.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by alexis » Wed May 11, 2011 5:54 pm

Early21 wrote:
alexis wrote:I've been following the thread with interest.

1) Early21 - you wrote
Early21 wrote: ... What seems to be common to the projects that do have the delay problem is that they run the ASIO meter a little higher, and it's hard to quantify. Increasing the buffer size didn't fix the problem either.
, but I thought you also wrote in your 1st post at the top of the page that increasing the buffer DID fix the problem?

2) Does anyone know - has it been established that 6.02 is somehow more resource-intensive than 6.00 or even 6.01?
Alexis, sorry for confusing. I was talking about two different issues, and maybe I should have started another thread for the second. Increasing the buffer size eliminates the first issue (the crackles for a project that didn't crackle on 6.0.0) at the cost of performance. Increasing the buffer size did not solve the 2nd problem of the delay when monitoring my guitar through an amp sim in Cubase.
Thanks for clarifying, Early21. I'm happy enough on 6.00, and want to be at least reasonably sure that I don't make things worse by going to 6.01 or 6.02. Following closely ...
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Wed May 11, 2011 6:14 pm

[quote="alexis"
Thanks for clarifying, Early21. I'm happy enough on 6.00, and want to be at least reasonably sure that I don't make things worse by going to 6.01 or 6.02. Following closely ...[/quote]
Yeah, know what you mean. Turned out it was a simple matter to back out 6.0.2. Just uninstall from the control panel route, and then re-install using the CD. The uninstaller is smart enough to leave your vst plugins, and preferences and everything else where they were (which was what I was worried about) and the installer just uses them again, so it's like you never left.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Santuzzo
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Santuzzo » Wed May 11, 2011 11:55 pm

I'm in.
Same issue. I noticed crackling, and thought this is strange, but I never cam to think that it had to do with the update until I read this thread.
Installing an update should usually improve a software, for me it only caused problems... :roll:

User avatar
PulsePsycle
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:20 am
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by PulsePsycle » Thu May 12, 2011 2:46 am

I don't notice crackles but since 6.02 I do have a kind of stuttering now and then like the sound is interrupted for half a second or so. Tried adjusting buffersize, turn off autosave but that doesn't make a difference. This happens on both PC and laptop so I don't think its hardware related. Reading this thread I'll will go back to 6.00 on my laptop first; see if it helps.
CB6.02 x64, Win7 x64 (ultim. and hp), M-Audio 2626 and 610.
Latest version x64 - Win10 x64 - 12GB - i7 - M-Audio 2626 x 3 - ESI M8U XL x 3.
Favorite synths: Doepfer A100 System ,Oberheim SEM Pro, Moog Voyager, Korg Odyssey.

Andi
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Andi » Thu May 12, 2011 9:54 pm

Another one for the 6.0.2 crackles here under W7 64 Bit with RME FF400. I had a chance to play with this last night. I reinstalled my RME FF400 drivers (already at the latest driver and firmware release) , re-downloaded the Cubase 6.0.2 update file in case there was a later modification than I had (there wasn't). Without going through all the steps of restoring system images, deleting, updating from 6.0 to 6.0.1 and then to 6.0.2 and also direct from .0 to .2, testing different projects, deleting preference files, unloading and reloading all plugs etc, this is totally solid in that 6.0 is fine, 6.0.1 is fine, 6.0.2 crackles. The Windows performance meters are nowehere near peaking on any of the cores, the VST performance meter is about 1/2 way up, and not a hint of clicks, drop-outs and so on in pre-6.0.2. After the upgrade the VST meter is rhythmically pulsing - I can fix it by increasing ASIO buffer size by a coupe of notches (64 to 128 samples), but we're not talking about the odd click creeping in, it's like constant radio interfearance.

Very oddly, in an attempt to save a bit of time between taking system images, I tried a system restore from a 6.0.2 installation back to a previously good 6.0.0 installation - the restore worked, but now 6.0.0 had exactly the same problem. I then deleted Cubase and reinstalled and all good again. Tried this a couple of times and it was completely reproduceable in both 32 and 64 bit versions.

I'm currently back on a stable 6.0.1 install and need to get on with some actual music, so I'll leave this alone and just keep an eye on the site, but appreciate it if anyone has any insight in the meantime 'cos I want my coloured fader caps back!

Regards to all.


A.

A.

Locked

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests