Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
MikiMart
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:58 am
Contact:

Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by MikiMart » Wed May 18, 2011 12:01 pm

Hi there,

unfortunately, since updating to 6.0.2, Cubase has become unstable and behaves in a strange way.
Namely, my plug-ins (NI Komplete 7, Reaktor or Massive for example) are visibly "suffering", tend to slow down (especially when loading a preset) or "freeze" for a while and then back in order again...

The fact is that when I open these softwares in standalone, they just work great at their usual speed and precision. No issues at all.

If you consider the specs of my computer (see below), we should assume that is well equipped and prepared to any working situation. On top of this, it has been optimized for audio.

In order to carry on working on musical projects, I have to use a previous edition of Cubase, the no. 5 which seems to be, so far, more stable and reliable.

Is out there anybody else who is experiencing this painful loss?
Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks.

Michele
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7-950 | 8-Core in HTT | HyperX DDR3 24 GB Ram | RME HDSPe RayDAT + HDSP9632 WCM | W7 Pro 64bit | Cubase Pro9 | Wavelab Pro9 |

User avatar
sonicstate
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by sonicstate » Wed May 18, 2011 1:32 pm

I had very bad experience with 6.0.2.

I was on XP 32bit, and after last update Cubase 6.0.2 startsed crashing. I thought, well, XP is not supported anymore, probably this is the reason, seems it is time to move on,...

OK, I installed Win7 32 bit, and put Cubase 6.0.2 on fresh installed system. Still crashing quite frequently, quite the same as on XP. Plus some new problems with some 3rd party plugins, which worked fine on XP. Ehhh...

Still, I see a benefit of Win7. In XP after Cubase 6.0.2 crash I had to restart PC, which took several minutes of... :cry: . In Win7 after crash Cubase 6.0.2 closes immediately, so I can restart it immediately. So, workflow is greatly improved on Win7. I consider this to be the greatest benefit of Win7 - you don't have to restart PC after Cubase 6.0.2 crashes. Great job, Steinberg! Or should I be thankful to Microsoft...? Plus being on Win7 makes me feel cool, up to date, and guess what, it is supported by Cubase 6.0.2!
Cubase Pro 8.5, Win 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, M-Audio Axiom AIR Mini 32, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...

User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by Chris Dobbs » Wed May 18, 2011 9:27 pm

One tip for persistent crashing, reset your Application Data:

First, please shut down Cubase. Then go to the Start menu, All Programs, Cubase 6, Cubase 6 Application Data Folder. In the top address bar, you should see “App Data (roaming) Steinberg” Click on Steinberg at the top. This will put you in the Steinberg app data folder. Trash all of the folders that you see in the application data folder. This will trash your key commands, preferences, sound card settings, etc. It also should clear up the problem you are having. Restart Cubase. You will need to reset your audio outputs (Devices, Device Setup, VST Audio System).

I hope this helps

-Chris
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
sonicstate
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by sonicstate » Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Chris Dobbs wrote:One tip for persistent crashing, reset your Application Data:

First, please shut down Cubase. Then go to the Start menu, All Programs, Cubase 6, Cubase 6 Application Data Folder. In the top address bar, you should see “App Data (roaming) Steinberg” Click on Steinberg at the top. This will put you in the Steinberg app data folder. Trash all of the folders that you see in the application data folder. This will trash your key commands, preferences, sound card settings, etc. It also should clear up the problem you are having. Restart Cubase. You will need to reset your audio outputs (Devices, Device Setup, VST Audio System).

I hope this helps

-Chris
Chris, in my case, it is a fresh install, nothing to clear up from before, because nothing was there before. It is a fresh virgin install.

I moved from XP to Win7, because i hoped for better stability. But it is no good - only thing better on Win7 is that I don't have to restart PC after Cubase crash. But pre 6.0.2, Cubase 6.0.1 worked fine on XP, I wanted to stay on XP, I had no crashing like on 6.0.2. Something is wrong with 6.0.2. Please fix it.
Cubase Pro 8.5, Win 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, M-Audio Axiom AIR Mini 32, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...

User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by Chris Dobbs » Thu May 19, 2011 2:03 pm

I would suggest contacting your country's technical support through your MySteinberg account so they can help you with the specific problem.

Even if it is a fresh install, trashing the application data can still be a solution to persistent crashing.

With regard to the 3rd party plugins, I would suggest checking with those manufacturers to update to Win 7 versions of the plugins.

I hope this helpful.
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

doksan
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by doksan » Thu May 19, 2011 5:52 pm

I also had problem after 6.0.2 update. I can't open ongoing projects. I try to delete the things inside the mentioned folder then i think i messed up the whole.

Now i am in another situation can't install Cubase anymore. I uninstalled but during new install i remember i cancel one syncrosoft warning and right now stop at the activate mp3 trial license... Installation wont finish or cancel, just hang there.

User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by Chris Dobbs » Thu May 19, 2011 6:21 pm

Syncrosoft is not a part of the Cubase 6 installation (it hasn't been since Cubase 4). eLicenser is the protection for C6.

I would recommend contacting tech support so we can help you with the problem individually.
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

doksan
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by doksan » Thu May 19, 2011 6:29 pm

Sorry miss spell, should be synsopos

Image

User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by Chris Dobbs » Thu May 19, 2011 6:48 pm

Ok, first go to the Start Menu, Control Panel, System, Advanced System Properties, Performance Settings, Data Execution Prevention. Change this to the top option "turn on dep for essential windows programs and services only"

Then restart the computer.

Then go to http://www.elicenser.net/en/latest_downloads.html Download and install the latest version of the eLicenser Control Center (do not open it). Shut down the computer, wait 10 seconds, then restart.

Now run the installer from the disc. I hope this information helps.

-Chris
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

doksan
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by doksan » Thu May 19, 2011 7:25 pm

I did every word you said, same place same error. The weird thing is i never use mp3 codec inside the Cubase. I don't need Cubase to install anything about MP3 codec or any other compression codecs

I can't believe installation can't continue because mp3, silly

Image

User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by Chris Dobbs » Thu May 19, 2011 7:30 pm

It is not the MP3 codec that is stopping the installation, it is the operating system conflicting with the licensing software. Please contact your Country's technical support and they will help you.
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

doksan
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by doksan » Thu May 19, 2011 7:48 pm

i contacted them twice for other problems. One of them was entering to this forum, another was drawing pitcbend control message. They didn't know both. Germany office fix the the forum problem then forum members fix the pitchbend question.

Sonar still works

User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by Chris Dobbs » Thu May 19, 2011 8:12 pm

If you are a US customer, I will help you personally. Again, this is the type of question that technical support is best setup to help you with.

Before Cubase 6, what other versions of Cubase did you have installed on the computer? If you open the eLicense Control Center, do you receive the same error? Thank you.
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

doksan
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by doksan » Thu May 19, 2011 9:48 pm

Thanks for the interest. I will try to contact them, i have no hope

No previous cubase, this is the only. Elicenser control center shows these as red text color:

MP3 Encder Steinberg, Local, Sel, Demo, Expired, Expiration Date: 2011-03-31, Remaining Starts: 20

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by alexis » Thu May 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Just a note to say "Thank You" to Chris for taking an interest and helping like this! I'm holding off on leaving 6.00 - maybe I'll go to 6.01 ... but very hesitant to go to 6.02 with all this stuff going on.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

MikiMart
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:58 am
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by MikiMart » Sat May 21, 2011 10:10 am

Hi there,

does anybody know if a fix for this C6.0.2 instability (and other troubles) is going to be scheduled by Steinberg?

I reckon there's no doubt about this version unexpected issues. Something should be done before we get one step back...

Thank you.
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7-950 | 8-Core in HTT | HyperX DDR3 24 GB Ram | RME HDSPe RayDAT + HDSP9632 WCM | W7 Pro 64bit | Cubase Pro9 | Wavelab Pro9 |

doksan
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by doksan » Sat May 21, 2011 10:56 am

I am told contact to support in my country, i did yesterday... waiting. I wish i could continue my projects with other software.

slinky005
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 5:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by slinky005 » Tue May 24, 2011 1:49 am

I am having problems with 5.5xx I tried trashing the app data but all my plugins were not visible by Cubase anymore.
Did I miss a step?
Intel - Core i7 920 2.66GHz Quad Core 12Gig DDR3 RME Multiface II Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit Cubase 9.5
Axe Fx III, Omnisphere, Trilian, RMX, Hollywood Orchestra Gold QL Choirs, Gypsy, SD1, SD2 Pro, QL Pianos Gold, QL RA, Fab Four, Ministry of Rock, Spaces, Reaktor, Memphis Horns, Ethno World II,

doksan
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by doksan » Thu May 26, 2011 3:47 pm

Chris Dobbs wrote:this is the type of question that technical support is best setup to help you with.
doksan wrote:I will try to contact them, i have no hope
I did contact them, I am told wait for the email, already 6 days past. I send them detailed explanation and all the pictures, screen shot.

I just want to install the software, i don't need 0.2 update. Please someone here help

MikiMart
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:58 am
Contact:

Public Amends

Post by MikiMart » Thu May 26, 2011 7:49 pm

Hi everybody,

a few days ago I've started this thread: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable.

Well, just a few minutes ago I've updated Reaktor to 5.6.

Improvements involved 64bit "adjustments".

Now everything seems to work fine. No issues in Cubase 6.0.2 anymore. At least, so it seems so far.

I'm sorry if I've caused panic.

I'll let you all know the progress.

Thanks!
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7-950 | 8-Core in HTT | HyperX DDR3 24 GB Ram | RME HDSPe RayDAT + HDSP9632 WCM | W7 Pro 64bit | Cubase Pro9 | Wavelab Pro9 |

philter2011
Member
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by philter2011 » Thu May 26, 2011 8:39 pm

alexis wrote:Just a note to say "Thank You" to Chris for taking an interest and helping like this! I'm holding off on leaving 6.00 - maybe I'll go to 6.01 ... but very hesitant to go to 6.02 with all this stuff going on.
Hiya Alexis, I'm running C6.02 on XP SP3 and all is well. No problems other than the horrendous track colours and Loopmash files not being installed. The latter since fixed.

Cheers to Chris too for being so helpful. Really frustrating when stuff doesn't work.
Dome

Cheese


Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests