How to insert external compressor in Cubase 8 Artist

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
atron
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:43 am
Contact:

How to insert external compressor in Cubase 8 Artist

Post by atron » Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:06 pm

I have Cubase Artist 8 and UR44. I have no interface of UR44 mixer in Cubase 8 Artist and cannot route IO. I'd like to use my external compressor or EQ, etc...

User avatar
Novikthewise
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: How to insert external compressor in Cubase 8 Artist

Post by Novikthewise » Thu Nov 05, 2015 1:25 pm

Well thats not so convenient like it is in Cubase Pro.

You need a free second Pair of outputs and Inputs or single input output for mono on your Interface. Create a new output for your Interface in the VST Connections that is not in use yet. Hook this output to the inputs of your Compressor and the outputs of your compressor to your free inputs on your interface.
No you have two options. Either you use a send from the track you want to compress to the second output through your compressor and route this back to a new Audiotrack that receives from the input your compressor is hook to. That would be kind of a parallel compression.
Second method would be to Route the Track you want to compress directly to the second output of your interface and than route the compressor back to a new Audiotrack receiving the inputs your compressor is hooked to.

With Cubase Pro 8 you can create an external effect that handles like a plugin but uses a physikal send/return path inside your Signalpath of the insertchain.

If you want to use outboard gear alot you shoud consider to upgrade
StudioPC: Core i7 2600, 16GB DDR-1333 RAM, Asus P8H67 m-Evo REV.3, Win 7 64Bit Home Premium, Cubase 8.5.20 64bit, Halion 5.1.1, Halion Sonic 2, Wavelab 9.0.25,

Mobile: HP Elitebook 8460p I5 2540m 8GB RAM Win 7 Pro 64bit, Cubase Elements 8.0.40

atron
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to insert external compressor in Cubase 8 Artist

Post by atron » Fri Nov 13, 2015 6:26 pm

Thank you,...when Steinberg will have a promotion or discount price to upgrade to 8 Pro, I go for it...:)

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests