Switching windows focus when using 2+ monitors

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
HammerCP
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:11 pm
Contact:

Switching windows focus when using 2+ monitors

Post by HammerCP » Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:56 pm

Hi all,

Is there a key command or macro that can be created to switch focus between open windows?

Say I want to switch from the midi editor window back to the main window without having to use the mouse. Or between mixer and editor, etc.

Thanks
MSI laptop with Intel i7 2630QM quad core at 2.00 GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - Nvidia 16GB GTX480M - 1TB HD (2 x 500GB 7200 rpm) - Steinberg UR28M interface - Motif XS8 via USB - Cubase 8.0.5 - Lemur (arts|UNMUTED qb2.5) - Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate 9

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4136
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Switching windows focus when using 2+ monitors

Post by raino » Tue Nov 10, 2015 1:23 am

HammerCP wrote:Hi all,

Is there a key command or macro that can be created to switch focus between open windows?

Say I want to switch from the midi editor window back to the main window without having to use the mouse. Or between mixer and editor, etc.

Thanks
Well the standard Windows Alt+tab will switch between many windows but not all (thanks to the funky, not quite standard way Steinberg has implemented windows handling I'd guess). The key is that if you see a Tab in the Windows' Taskbar for the window, then you can Alt+tab to get to it. The Project, Mixconsole & Key Editor windows all have tabs on the Taskbar. But some others like the Channel Settings or Logical Editor don't have tabs and can't be switched to.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

HammerCP
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Switching windows focus when using 2+ monitors

Post by HammerCP » Tue Nov 10, 2015 6:10 am

Of course, totally overlooked the alt tab thing. Will check when I'm back at the studio computer.

Thanks rodger
MSI laptop with Intel i7 2630QM quad core at 2.00 GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - Nvidia 16GB GTX480M - 1TB HD (2 x 500GB 7200 rpm) - Steinberg UR28M interface - Motif XS8 via USB - Cubase 8.0.5 - Lemur (arts|UNMUTED qb2.5) - Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate 9

HammerCP
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Switching windows focus when using 2+ monitors

Post by HammerCP » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:43 am

Alt+tab doesn't work to change focus between the mixconsole view and the main view.

Back to the drawing board, any ideas?
MSI laptop with Intel i7 2630QM quad core at 2.00 GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - Nvidia 16GB GTX480M - 1TB HD (2 x 500GB 7200 rpm) - Steinberg UR28M interface - Motif XS8 via USB - Cubase 8.0.5 - Lemur (arts|UNMUTED qb2.5) - Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate 9

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4136
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Switching windows focus when using 2+ monitors

Post by raino » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:10 am

HammerCP wrote:Alt+tab doesn't work to change focus between the mixconsole view and the main view.

Back to the drawing board, any ideas?
Odd, I just verified it does work on my system. :?:
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1297
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Switching windows focus when using 2+ monitors

Post by greggybud » Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:27 am

HammerCP wrote:Alt+tab doesn't work to change focus between the mixconsole view and the main view.

Back to the drawing board, any ideas?
Try Ctr+tab. :D

The other KC that is helpful is Project>bring to front which will take wherever you are and focus the project page instead of tabbing through the views.
Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, 64 gig all drives SSD,s (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti driving 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs,, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests