8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Contact:

8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by sonicstate » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:56 am

With 8.0.30 freezing was gone if project was closed before quitting Cubase. I got used to closing first, all was good and fine, no more freezing on exit.
Now with 8.5 freezing is back again for me, I cannot close project anymore, it freezes while closing. Same project closes fine in 8.0.30. I cannot even kill Cubase anymore in Win10 via task manager, win10 blocks closing or something, there is some message, so I must restart PC every time I restart Cubase. Why, oh why is Steinberg unable to make a software that quits properly when you click close??? Can anybody give a good answer why is Cubase the ONLY DAW on planet that has problem with closing itself after you finish working on it?
Am I too demanding? Expecting too much? Is Steinberg saying that I should be satisfied with restarting PC in order to restart Cubase? Sorry, I cannot be satisfied like this. This app, no matter how shiny and powerful it is, is simply not working properly in its basic areas. This closing on exit is changing from update to update, sometimes it seems they fixed it, and then it appears again on next update.
It's like having a car that you cannot turn off unless you pop the hood and unplug the battery every time you park it. Something is broken. This car needs fixing.
Last edited by sonicstate on Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 8.5, Win 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, M-Audio Axiom AIR Mini 32, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by alexis » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:05 pm

sonicstate wrote:With 8.0.30 freezing was gone if project was closed before quitting Cubase. I got used to closing first, all was good and fine, no more freezing on exit.
Now with 8.5 freezing is back again for me, I cannot close project anymore, it freezes while closing. Same project closes fine in 8.0.30. I cannot even kill Cubase anymore in Win10 via task manager, win10 blocks closing or something, there is some message, so I must restart every PC time I restart Cubase. Why, oh why is Steinberg unable to make a software that quits properly when you click close??? Can anybody give a good answer why is Cubase the ONLY DAW on planet that has problem with closing itself after you finish working on it?
Am I too demanding? Expecting too much? Is Steinberg saying that I should be satisfied with restarting PC in order to restart Cubase? Sorry, I cannot be satisfied like this. This app, no matter how shiny and powerful it is, is simply not working properly in its basic areas. This closing on exit is changing from update to update, sometimes it seems they fixed it, and then it appears again on next update.
It's like having a car that you cannot turn off unless you pop the hood and unplug the battery every time you park it. Something is broken. This car needs fixing.
Can it be predicted what systems will happen on? I've been quite excited reading about 8.5, but probably wouldn't want to use it if I had that problem. I guess I can wait till the trial version comes out.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 826
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Steve Helstrip » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:08 pm

I actually have the reverse 'feature': I have no freeze on exit now, whereas I did before. Go figure!
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

User avatar
timmyboylad
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Loleta California
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by timmyboylad » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:36 pm

8.0.30 would occasionally freeze on exit for me on my windows machine (win 7 and win 10). right now i am away from my windows machine and only running 8.5 on my mac which has never had this problem.

i do remember someone saying that they timed it and if you didn't force it to close with the task manager it would close in something like 16 minutes every time. i noticed that this was true for me too. this issue has been there for several versions of cubase and a couple of rebuilds (new processor and motherboards) of my studio computer.

i am glad that it only happens occasionally for me.

wonder if we will ever discover what causes this issue?!?
Desktop: Cubase Pro 9.0.30 Wavelab Pro 9.1, Halion 6, Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI, CPU Intel Core i7 3.4gHz, Motherboard Asus P8z77-v LX, 16gb RAM, Video Card MSI R5450 (no fan), PSU Zalman ZM600 HP, Zalman Reserator 1 liquid cooled system, Windows 10 x64 Home Premium, Pro Tools 12.7.1, Waves Mercury Native 9

Laptop: MacBook Pro (15 in), 2.4 gHz Intel Core i7, 8 gb RAM, OSX El Capitan 10.11.6, Presonus Firestudio Mobile, Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI, Philips DVD+-RW SDVD 8820 SATA drive, Wavelab Pro 9.1, Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Halion 6, Pro Tools 12.7.1, Waves Mercury Native 9

User avatar
DLearyUS
Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by DLearyUS » Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:58 pm

getting it here too
didnt happen on this system before with c6/c6.5/c7/c7.5/c8 so something is definitely broken
tried reinstalling with full version.. same issue.
if i open cubase and just close it no problem. (pretty pointless)
its only when i open a project and then attempt close.
closing either way (project 1st then file exit or file exit alone or using X)
steinberg....issue a hotfix please.

now if youll excuse me i have to get back to beta testing.......way more fun than making music
and i even got to pay for the privilege! wow
Cubase v10.5 Pro / Win10-64 Pro/ Tascam FW-1884+FE8+FE8 / ART TubeOpto8 Xpander

User avatar
Detch
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Detch » Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:49 pm

I confirm this sh** too.
Cubase 10.0.5, Windows 10 x64, i7 7700K, 32GB ram, Geforce GTX760

R
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by R » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:42 pm

I do not experience this bug with my Cubase Pro 8.5 installation. It closes down without issue. Could it be a buggy plugin?
Windows 10 Pro X64. 1 PC for Nuendo 10, WaveLab Pro 9.5.25
Windows 10 Pro x64. 1 PC for Pro Tools 12.8 HDX MADI
ASRock Fatal1ty X399
EVGA RTX 2080Ti
AMD RYZEN Threadripper 2990WX 32 Core
128GB DDR4 3600 Memory
RME HDSPe Madi-FX
RME HDSPe AES x 2
Avid AM713 x3, MA703 x2, DM714, MD704, FC726, ML530
Avid System 5 Console, 300 channels with Colin Broad P2MMC-USB for transport control from desk to Nuendo and PT
Genelec 1038B Mains, 7271A Sub x 2, 8240A surrounds
TC Music 6000 MKII, Lexicon 960L, Bricasti M7, PCM Native, Waves Mercury, Izotope 8, Slate Trigger 2

User avatar
Modularnutter
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Modularnutter » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:49 pm

Closes perfect here too and im running automap
Win 7 - 64 bit ¦ Cubase 5/6/7/8.5 - Halion 6 ¦ Rme

zolhof
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by zolhof » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:51 pm

I got quite the contrary going on here: 8.5 smooth exit, while 8.0.30 freezes on exit (Win 7, at least I can kill the app).

That was in fact the first thing I checked after upgrading, was happy to see it fixed.. clearly not for everyone, sorry.

Keith99
Member
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Keith99 » Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:35 pm

I have crash on exit - seems to be being caused by Ozone 7, was fine in previous versions

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Makumbaria » Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:28 pm

No crash on exit here (but I never had this kind of problem).
Cubase Pro 10.5 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.20 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

User avatar
Resonant Serpent
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Resonant Serpent » Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:52 pm

Running Win 7 and not seeing this problem.
A deep chesty bawl echoes from rimrock to rimrock, rolls down the mountain, and fades into the far blackness of the night. It is an outburst of wild defiant sorrow, and of contempt for all the adversities of the world. - Aldo Leopold

Paulwr
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Paulwr » Sun Dec 06, 2015 7:32 am

Freeze up on closing happening here again on 8.5 after having it work fine after doing the work around in 8 doing the registry video fix. Just installed 8.5, not sure yet how often this may occur.

...........well, later tonight (this morning) closed the session, and worked fine. We'll see. Gotta say, the workflow improvements overall have been helpful, this is sort of a utility upgrade that I happen to be liking a lot in general.
Paul
Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 10 | DAW 3770k i7 | 3 pc slaves| Fireface 800 | VE Pro 5
http://www.MusicScapes.net

User avatar
budgierless
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:28 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by budgierless » Mon Dec 07, 2015 11:27 pm

Yep cubase 8.0.30 =fine, but 8.5= freeze on exit.

I had this issue with 8.0.30 but did the video fix and it was fine, will add it to 8.5 then remove it as cubase did not like it kept in the reg, but its fdixed it for me after i open once, so and hope it works like last time, wish me luck.
System: i7 4770k | 16GB Kingston DDR3 @ 14866 | Nvidia 780 GTX | Asus Z87-Deluex | Coolmaster 700w 80+ PSU | Coolermaster Storm Enforcer
Cubits installed : Cubase Pro 8.5 - Cubase Pro 9 - Cubase Pro 9.5
Main Gear: Yamaha 03D | Yamaha NS10 | Event Opal's | Soundcraft Compact 10 mixer | M-Audio Profire 2626 | M-Audio Axiom Pro 61 | RME Fireface UFX

User avatar
Novikthewise
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Novikthewise » Tue Dec 08, 2015 7:58 am

I also have hang on exit. I could narrow it down to the videoengine of Cubase trying to shut down.

So everyone who has this problem try the following:

Go to your Steinberg Applicationfolder into the "Components" Folder
There you find 4 files wich are video related. Move these files into a different folder so that cubase cannont see them.

The videoengine isn't loaded anymore an i have no crashes on exit anymore.
The registry hack didn't work on my mashine

this might also work for you

But: If you need videosupport this is no option
StudioPC: Core i7 2600, 16GB DDR-1333 RAM, Asus P8H67 m-Evo REV.3, Win 7 64Bit Home Premium, Cubase 8.5.20 64bit, Halion 5.1.1, Halion Sonic 2, Wavelab 9.0.25,

Mobile: HP Elitebook 8460p I5 2540m 8GB RAM Win 7 Pro 64bit, Cubase Elements 8.0.40

User avatar
budgierless
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:28 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by budgierless » Tue Dec 08, 2015 2:33 pm

Novikthewise wrote:I also have hang on exit. I could narrow it down to the videoengine of Cubase trying to shut down.

So everyone who has this problem try the following:

Go to your Steinberg Applicationfolder into the "Components" Folder
There you find 4 files wich are video related. Move these files into a different folder so that cubase cannont see them.

The videoengine isn't loaded anymore an i have no crashes on exit anymore.
The registry hack didn't work on my mashine

this might also work for you

But: If you need videosupport this is no option
For my hardware I have added extra things in my folder, so thanks for the advice but would be nice if you list the files you are saying should be moved so no mistakes are made. cheers!
System: i7 4770k | 16GB Kingston DDR3 @ 14866 | Nvidia 780 GTX | Asus Z87-Deluex | Coolmaster 700w 80+ PSU | Coolermaster Storm Enforcer
Cubits installed : Cubase Pro 8.5 - Cubase Pro 9 - Cubase Pro 9.5
Main Gear: Yamaha 03D | Yamaha NS10 | Event Opal's | Soundcraft Compact 10 mixer | M-Audio Profire 2626 | M-Audio Axiom Pro 61 | RME Fireface UFX

User avatar
Novikthewise
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Novikthewise » Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:52 pm

Yeah Sorry,

Thought they would be easy to find.

its the following files that have to be moved out of reach for cubase

Videodecode.exe
Videoengine.dll
Videooutput.exe
videopreload.exe

Moving these solved my "hang on exit" Problem as i am pretty sure its related to the videoengine
StudioPC: Core i7 2600, 16GB DDR-1333 RAM, Asus P8H67 m-Evo REV.3, Win 7 64Bit Home Premium, Cubase 8.5.20 64bit, Halion 5.1.1, Halion Sonic 2, Wavelab 9.0.25,

Mobile: HP Elitebook 8460p I5 2540m 8GB RAM Win 7 Pro 64bit, Cubase Elements 8.0.40

barryfell
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by barryfell » Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:55 pm

No such problem here. I've not had it since 8.0.20.
Windows 10 / Cubase Pro 9.5 x64

User avatar
budgierless
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:28 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by budgierless » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:33 pm

Novikthewise wrote:Yeah Sorry,

Thought they would be easy to find.

its the following files that have to be moved out of reach for cubase

Videodecode.exe
Videoengine.dll
Videooutput.exe
videopreload.exe

Moving these solved my "hang on exit" Problem as i am pretty sure its related to the videoengine
Yes, thats seems to work for me thx, not sure but i think it may have also made my plugins load a bit buggie.

anyone had the same after usinbg this trick?
System: i7 4770k | 16GB Kingston DDR3 @ 14866 | Nvidia 780 GTX | Asus Z87-Deluex | Coolmaster 700w 80+ PSU | Coolermaster Storm Enforcer
Cubits installed : Cubase Pro 8.5 - Cubase Pro 9 - Cubase Pro 9.5
Main Gear: Yamaha 03D | Yamaha NS10 | Event Opal's | Soundcraft Compact 10 mixer | M-Audio Profire 2626 | M-Audio Axiom Pro 61 | RME Fireface UFX

User avatar
Novikthewise
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Novikthewise » Wed Dec 09, 2015 12:35 pm

So far i havn't had any issues with plugins after this.
StudioPC: Core i7 2600, 16GB DDR-1333 RAM, Asus P8H67 m-Evo REV.3, Win 7 64Bit Home Premium, Cubase 8.5.20 64bit, Halion 5.1.1, Halion Sonic 2, Wavelab 9.0.25,

Mobile: HP Elitebook 8460p I5 2540m 8GB RAM Win 7 Pro 64bit, Cubase Elements 8.0.40

Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Jaymo99 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 4:48 am

Removing those 4 files did the trick for me as well, but not before it claimed a song id been working on.

One thing i noticed too these files were all 32bit, and i.e. noticed 64 bit version of cubase does not play nice with 32 bit applications, wonder if there is a connection there

anyway thanks for the tipp
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

User avatar
Louis_F
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Louis_F » Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:59 pm

Hi all

I am also having this issue. Cubase 8.0.35 takes a minimum of 20 seconds to close even with no project loaded.

I have tried:

removing video components,
hiding vst2 folder,
registry GPU hack,
default preferences file,
default key commands file,
disabling ASIO guard,
disabling multi-processing,
disabling Nvidia GPU,

Various other settings tweaks and the above either alone or in combination with no success.

The issue has been present for me since C5 was released and on two machines, plus both Win 7 and Win 10.

Had to stop using C8.5 as the ASIO meter reading was totally erratic - constant movement and spikes.

Ableton 9 and Reaper 5.1 are rock solid on the same machine plus open / close almost instantly with no performance or ASIO issues.

Any further suggestions much appreciated.

Regards

Louis
http://louisfawbert.tumblr.com/
Lenovo Y50-70, i7-4710HQ @ 2.50GHz, 4 core, 16GB RAM, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD, Win10x64, C8.5, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Alesis VI25, Genelec 8020C.

Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: 8.5 bug - freeze on exit is back

Post by Jaymo99 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:55 pm

the eratic CPU might be signs of other issues other then Cubase, anything thing i did and didn't mention I saw on another thread is removing all video drivers using ....
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/dis ... nload.html

Download the latest driver as well and install them after you remove all the current video driver.

also run a malware scan as that will cause troubles as well.

All have made my system dead solid.

Cubase is a picky SOB

Also I've never gotten Cubase to work well on a Laptop.

Good Luck
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests