How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not beep?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Sonic Peasant
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not beep?

Post by Sonic Peasant » Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:32 pm

I've assigned a key command (cmd-F3) to rapidly switch between mixer (F3) and project window. It works as expected, but every time I switch to the project window, there's a "beep" (a system sound played).

Anyone knows how to make it not beep?
OSX 10.14.4 - iMac 27" Retina 5K Late 2015, 4.0GHz, 16GB, 512SSD - Cubase Pro 10 - Halion 6 - Halion SO - Padshop Pro - Reaktor 6 - HELIX Native - GuitarRig 5 - Amplitube 4 MAX - Superior Drummer - EZDrummer - EZKeys - Addictive Keys - Presonus Studio 192 - Focusrite Clarett 8PreX - Axon AX100 - Roland A-800PRO - WaveLab Elements 8 - Waves Diamond Bundle - KORG pitchblack PRO

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 15956
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:22 pm

Hi,

You probably set this command to something on the system level. Check (Mac OS X) System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Sonic Peasant
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Sonic Peasant » Wed Dec 23, 2015 1:19 am

Thank you for the suggestion, Martin. I've now checked though all the System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts listed for my OS but unfortunately I couldn't find that cmd-F3 was assigned to anything.

I also tried to assign "Bring to Front" to other keys, with the same result. All the common letters are already assigned by default it seems, so the two I tried was "§" and the Swedish/German letter "Ä". Both are single keys on my keyboard, and no modifiers. Same beep.
OSX 10.14.4 - iMac 27" Retina 5K Late 2015, 4.0GHz, 16GB, 512SSD - Cubase Pro 10 - Halion 6 - Halion SO - Padshop Pro - Reaktor 6 - HELIX Native - GuitarRig 5 - Amplitube 4 MAX - Superior Drummer - EZDrummer - EZKeys - Addictive Keys - Presonus Studio 192 - Focusrite Clarett 8PreX - Axon AX100 - Roland A-800PRO - WaveLab Elements 8 - Waves Diamond Bundle - KORG pitchblack PRO

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 15956
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:59 am

Hi,

What is the exact name of the function, you are triggering in Cubase, please? I don't remember, there is a Key Command to switch between MixConsole and Project window. But I'm probably wrong. Thanks.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Sonic Peasant
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Sonic Peasant » Wed Dec 23, 2015 11:46 am

Under "File > Key Commands ..."
Open the "Project" folder,
There is a command "Bring To Front" which I've successfully assigned to a key (cmd-F3). It does everything I want, but it beeps.

I also tried cmd-F3 in the Finder. Nothing happens, and it doesn't beep. So it seems to me that Cubase is for some reason issuing an alert, but I'm not sure. Perhaps if someone else can try to replicate it, so we can se if it is consistent across (preferably El Capitan) installations.
OSX 10.14.4 - iMac 27" Retina 5K Late 2015, 4.0GHz, 16GB, 512SSD - Cubase Pro 10 - Halion 6 - Halion SO - Padshop Pro - Reaktor 6 - HELIX Native - GuitarRig 5 - Amplitube 4 MAX - Superior Drummer - EZDrummer - EZKeys - Addictive Keys - Presonus Studio 192 - Focusrite Clarett 8PreX - Axon AX100 - Roland A-800PRO - WaveLab Elements 8 - Waves Diamond Bundle - KORG pitchblack PRO

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 15956
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:00 pm

Hi,

So your goal is to put the MixConsole to background and bring the Project window on top, right? You are not using it to switching MixConsole/Project window on top, right?

Wouldn't be better to define own Global Workspaces and then just switch the Workspaces? This is the proper way, how to change the window layout on your screen in Cubase.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8632
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:22 pm

The command Project>Bring to Front is a proper way too. To the OP, have you tested with different keystrokes?
Independent Manufacturer Rep
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
HP Spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Sonic Peasant
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Sonic Peasant » Wed Dec 23, 2015 4:28 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:The command Project>Bring to Front is a proper way too. To the OP, have you tested with different keystrokes?
I've now tried with:
Command-Option-Shift-R
Command-Option-Shift-E
Command-Option-Shift-K

All with the same result. It fronts the project window, but beeps ... (None of the above key-commands are assigned to anything in the OS X). I could continue and try more keystrokes, but it doesn't seem to be the problem.
OSX 10.14.4 - iMac 27" Retina 5K Late 2015, 4.0GHz, 16GB, 512SSD - Cubase Pro 10 - Halion 6 - Halion SO - Padshop Pro - Reaktor 6 - HELIX Native - GuitarRig 5 - Amplitube 4 MAX - Superior Drummer - EZDrummer - EZKeys - Addictive Keys - Presonus Studio 192 - Focusrite Clarett 8PreX - Axon AX100 - Roland A-800PRO - WaveLab Elements 8 - Waves Diamond Bundle - KORG pitchblack PRO

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8632
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 23, 2015 4:31 pm

One keystroke was enough! :D

Weird. Next time I use my Macbook I will try to reproduce this.
Independent Manufacturer Rep
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
HP Spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Sonic Peasant
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Sonic Peasant » Wed Dec 23, 2015 4:55 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hi,

So your goal is to put the MixConsole to background and bring the Project window on top, right? You are not using it to switching MixConsole/Project window on top, right?
...
I used to have a Mac Pro 2008(!) with two 24" monitors. Project window on #1 and mix console on #2. When it went belly up I opted for an iMac. Now there's only one screen, and I'm trying to adopt my workflow to cope with that. The only thing I really miss is to have both the project and the mixer windows immediately available without having to mouse over to the Window menu. The next best thing would be to have keyboard shortcuts to quickly toggle between the two. That would be sufficient, and that's the goal.

I have actually already achieved that goal, although the solution included an annoying beep, which I'm now starting to think is a Cubase bug.

My goal with this post was to see if anyone knows why it beeps - is it intentional or a bug - and hopefully how to turn the beep off.
OSX 10.14.4 - iMac 27" Retina 5K Late 2015, 4.0GHz, 16GB, 512SSD - Cubase Pro 10 - Halion 6 - Halion SO - Padshop Pro - Reaktor 6 - HELIX Native - GuitarRig 5 - Amplitube 4 MAX - Superior Drummer - EZDrummer - EZKeys - Addictive Keys - Presonus Studio 192 - Focusrite Clarett 8PreX - Axon AX100 - Roland A-800PRO - WaveLab Elements 8 - Waves Diamond Bundle - KORG pitchblack PRO

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8632
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:01 pm

Well, certainly there is something causing that annoying beep. :?

In this use case, what Martin said initially really is the proper way to achieve that, and more. Have you experimented with Workspaces? You can assign keystrokes to them.
Independent Manufacturer Rep
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
HP Spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Sonic Peasant
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Sonic Peasant » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:04 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:One keystroke was enough! :D

Weird. Next time I use my Macbook I will try to reproduce this.
Thanks! That will be very interesting.
OSX 10.14.4 - iMac 27" Retina 5K Late 2015, 4.0GHz, 16GB, 512SSD - Cubase Pro 10 - Halion 6 - Halion SO - Padshop Pro - Reaktor 6 - HELIX Native - GuitarRig 5 - Amplitube 4 MAX - Superior Drummer - EZDrummer - EZKeys - Addictive Keys - Presonus Studio 192 - Focusrite Clarett 8PreX - Axon AX100 - Roland A-800PRO - WaveLab Elements 8 - Waves Diamond Bundle - KORG pitchblack PRO

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 15956
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:05 pm

I'm more and more interested. I will also try it. ;-)
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Sonic Peasant
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Sonic Peasant » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:31 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:I'm more and more interested. I will also try it. ;-)
Thanks! That's great.
OSX 10.14.4 - iMac 27" Retina 5K Late 2015, 4.0GHz, 16GB, 512SSD - Cubase Pro 10 - Halion 6 - Halion SO - Padshop Pro - Reaktor 6 - HELIX Native - GuitarRig 5 - Amplitube 4 MAX - Superior Drummer - EZDrummer - EZKeys - Addictive Keys - Presonus Studio 192 - Focusrite Clarett 8PreX - Axon AX100 - Roland A-800PRO - WaveLab Elements 8 - Waves Diamond Bundle - KORG pitchblack PRO

Sonic Peasant
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by Sonic Peasant » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:54 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:Well, certainly there is something causing that annoying beep. :?

In this use case, what Martin said initially really is the proper way to achieve that, and more. Have you experimented with Workspaces? You can assign keystrokes to them.
Yes, I had a couple of workspaces set up on the previous system, and in response to your question I tried to make two that fronts either the project or mixer window. It doesn't beep :) but it works slightly different: It shows only the windows that are recorded with the workspace preset, closing everything else. One could argue that I can always get them back through "Workspaces > No Workspace", but I prefer the other solution which only has effect on the project/mixer window. Lets say that I have 59 plugins open that weren't accounted for in the workspace setting. They will be untouched in the solution I'm aiming for, but as I understand it all closed with a workspace command.

So Workspaces is close, but I'll accept the beep to be able to use the other solution.

That said, I'll probably be using Workspaces as well, but for other purposes.
OSX 10.14.4 - iMac 27" Retina 5K Late 2015, 4.0GHz, 16GB, 512SSD - Cubase Pro 10 - Halion 6 - Halion SO - Padshop Pro - Reaktor 6 - HELIX Native - GuitarRig 5 - Amplitube 4 MAX - Superior Drummer - EZDrummer - EZKeys - Addictive Keys - Presonus Studio 192 - Focusrite Clarett 8PreX - Axon AX100 - Roland A-800PRO - WaveLab Elements 8 - Waves Diamond Bundle - KORG pitchblack PRO

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8632
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not b

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 23, 2015 6:20 pm

I hear you. The Bring to Front shortcut is one of my most frequently used.
Independent Manufacturer Rep
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
HP Spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not beep?

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:18 pm

+1 Here i thought it was just me. I use "Bring to Front" to activate my project window when using key commands to navigate. Annoying having to grab the mouse just to activate a window. I do remember older versions that had Bring mixer to front or Bring arrangement window to front.
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

digitalson
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not beep?

Post by digitalson » Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:09 pm

Sonic Peasant wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:32 pm
I've assigned a key command (cmd-F3) to rapidly switch between mixer (F3) and project window. It works as expected, but every time I switch to the project window, there's a "beep" (a system sound played).

Anyone knows how to make it not beep?
When you switch to mixer does it close project and open mixer and other way?
i7 ,64gb 1866 mem x79 chipset, ssd os,4 x ssd drives raid 0 motu pci 96 ins and outs @96k for external gear
tons of vintage outboard gear 3 monitors and 42" LCD for spotting to film
Windows 7 pro 64 sp1
Gtx 780 ,all liquid cooled CPU overclocked to 4 ghz

digitalson
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: How to make key command "Project > Bring To Front" not beep?

Post by digitalson » Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:17 pm

I have this problem with my lemur project ,I have key commands for the mixer but don't do anything when on the project is in focus,and when mixer is in focus I can use the project commands without clicking on the project window....what I'm working on now is when opening the page for say mixer commands setting up a mouse movement and left click on a empty space to pit mixer in focus....lemur can send pixel locations for mouse and clicks,but I need them to run on page open,got to figure that out first,I could use the macro program and tie it to a kc ,but then I would have to tie them to all commands...pita!!
i7 ,64gb 1866 mem x79 chipset, ssd os,4 x ssd drives raid 0 motu pci 96 ins and outs @96k for external gear
tons of vintage outboard gear 3 monitors and 42" LCD for spotting to film
Windows 7 pro 64 sp1
Gtx 780 ,all liquid cooled CPU overclocked to 4 ghz

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests