ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.
Post Reply
andrewbradley25
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by andrewbradley25 » Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:50 am

I recently purchased a Zoom R16 recorder bundled with a copy of Cubase LE 4.

I was wondering if anybody could give me step by step instructions on how to set the R16 up in Cubase.

I would like to be able to multitrack record into Cubase via the R16.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, thank you :)

j_derrick
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:49 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by j_derrick » Mon Dec 27, 2010 4:09 am

Okay so you are using a USB interface. I assume you have already downloaded and installed the device drivers. Everything you will need to do is under the DEVICE menu. From there you will need to go to the DEVICE SETUP. Click on VST AUDIO SYSTEM in the left side, and under the VST AUDIO SYSTEM in the right side click the ASIO device that you will use...in this case, your Zoom R16 device. From there apply your changes and close that box. From there go to DEVICES tab then to VST CONNECTION. There click the INPUTS tab and click the cell for LEFT IN under DEVICE PORT. You should see all the inputs from the Zoom device. You can use I think 8 inputs simultaneously...so you can ADD BUS 3 times, which gives you a total of 8 inputs. From there just click the DEVICE PORT for that input and select the corresponding input. You can rename the names of the inputs to whatever you would like.

When you add an audio track select the input to whatever you are recording from, and to do 8 tracks simultaneously, just add 8 tracks and select a different input for each input and arm every track to record.

You should be good to go. Hope I helped and btw, if you like recording simultaneously, take a look at M-Audio 1010LT. It is a PCI interface. Cubase LE 4 will allow you to use 4 of these at once fro a total of 32 Simultaneous tracks with about 6 milliseconds of latency. for $149 a card...that's not bad. If you have more questions shoot me an email. j_derrick@live.com :D

celtsound
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by celtsound » Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:29 am

j_derrick wrote:. Cubase LE 4 will allow you to use 4 of these at once fro a total of 32 Simultaneous tracks
Are you sure about this???
Cubase LE1.08, Tascam US144, Vista HP 32bit, Toshiba Satellite.

"If music be the food of love, play on" - Shakespeare
Please don't send me IM's without asking first.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5284
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by Split » Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:03 pm

celtsound wrote:
j_derrick wrote:. Cubase LE 4 will allow you to use 4 of these at once fro a total of 32 Simultaneous tracks
Are you sure about this???
LE4 total of 16 I/O allowed...
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

celtsound
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by celtsound » Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:02 pm

Split wrote:LE4 total of 16 I/O allowed...
Thats what I thought, 'cause it's 8 in LE1...plus the fact that no matter which Cubase version you use, it will only address 1 ASIO driver at a time, so you could run 4 cards using a third party driver like ASIO4all, but I doubt you'd get 6ms of latency.

Anyways you can daisy chain the Zoom R16 so that 2 units combined will give 16 simultaneous inputs.
Cubase LE1.08, Tascam US144, Vista HP 32bit, Toshiba Satellite.

"If music be the food of love, play on" - Shakespeare
Please don't send me IM's without asking first.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5284
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by Split » Mon Dec 27, 2010 5:39 pm

celtsound wrote:
Split wrote:LE4 total of 16 I/O allowed...
Thats what I thought, 'cause it's 8 in LE1...plus the fact that no matter which Cubase version you use, it will only address 1 ASIO driver at a time, so you could run 4 cards using a third party driver like ASIO4all, but I doubt you'd get 6ms of latency.

Anyways you can daisy chain the Zoom R16 so that 2 units combined will give 16 simultaneous inputs.

The M-Audio Delta series cards allow 4 instances of the card, so for the 1010 and 1010lt you can have 32 analogue I/O and 4 digital I/O giving 40 I/O in total from the one ASIO driver.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

celtsound
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by celtsound » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:52 pm

Well there you go....you learn something new everyday.
Cubase LE1.08, Tascam US144, Vista HP 32bit, Toshiba Satellite.

"If music be the food of love, play on" - Shakespeare
Please don't send me IM's without asking first.

j_derrick
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:49 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by j_derrick » Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:03 am

Yes I am 110% sure. All the cards are listed under the M-Audio ASIO driver. And if your computer has the more powerful components, you can have a low buffer size in your M-Audio control panel...which puts your VST system at about 6 ms of latency.

andrewbradley25
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by andrewbradley25 » Tue Dec 28, 2010 2:22 am

I'm still having trouble with this...

I've followed all your instructions but I'm still getting no signal whatsoever :(

It's frustrating :?

andrewbradley25
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:46 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by andrewbradley25 » Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:33 am

WAIT!

I've sorted it now, I don't even know what I did!

Thanks a lot anyway guys, it's good to know that i'll always have other users to keep me on my feet!

:D :D :D

kldelacruz
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:04 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by kldelacruz » Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:06 am

Hi!

I cant understand why I cant find any frequency on my r16? Help pls! :(

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5284
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by Split » Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:20 am

kldelacruz wrote:Hi!

I cant understand why I cant find any frequency on my r16? Help pls! :(
Hi,
Best start a new topic and give a better description of the problem. :P
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Chaosbreed666
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:07 am
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by Chaosbreed666 » Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:10 am

j_derrick wrote:
Mon Dec 27, 2010 4:09 am
Okay so you are using a USB interface. I assume you have already downloaded and installed the device drivers. Everything you will need to do is under the DEVICE menu. From there you will need to go to the DEVICE SETUP. Click on VST AUDIO SYSTEM in the left side, and under the VST AUDIO SYSTEM in the right side click the ASIO device that you will use...in this case, your Zoom R16 device. From there apply your changes and close that box. From there go to DEVICES tab then to VST CONNECTION. There click the INPUTS tab and click the cell for LEFT IN under DEVICE PORT. You should see all the inputs from the Zoom device. You can use I think 8 inputs simultaneously...so you can ADD BUS 3 times, which gives you a total of 8 inputs. From there just click the DEVICE PORT for that input and select the corresponding input. You can rename the names of the inputs to whatever you would like.

When you add an audio track select the input to whatever you are recording from, and to do 8 tracks simultaneously, just add 8 tracks and select a different input for each input and arm every track to record.

You should be good to go. Hope I helped and btw, if you like recording simultaneously, take a look at M-Audio 1010LT. It is a PCI interface. Cubase LE 4 will allow you to use 4 of these at once fro a total of 32 Simultaneous tracks with about 6 milliseconds of latency. for $149 a card...that's not bad. If you have more questions shoot me an email. j_derrick@live.com :D
.....ive done allof this and still cant seem to get it running...

Doucy
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:13 pm
Contact:

Re: ZOOM R16 SETUP IN CUBASE LE 4

Post by Doucy » Sun Aug 19, 2018 10:28 pm

I too am having issues with Cubase LE 9.5 and Zoom interface. I've downloaded the Zoom R 16 audio drivers but Windows 10 states the USB device to the computer has malfunctioned. The USB works for every device except Zoom R 16. Any ideas?

Post Reply

Return to “Cubase LE and Cubase AI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests