Audio cut off when change lane

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
javamusic
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Audio cut off when change lane

Post by javamusic » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:33 am

The audio signal got cut off or muted momentarily when I change lane in Cubase 8.5, but it doesn't happen all the time; if I keep switching lanes while play back, I get maybe one mute every 6 or 7 switches. I do not encounter such problem in Cubase 6.5.

Anyone has a solution to this?

Thanks.
Core 7 - 4790 4GHz
32G RAM
64 bit Windows 10
Slave 2 other workstations running 6 instances of Vienna Ensemble Pro ( 3 64 bit, 3 32 bit )
Cubase 8.5

javamusic
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio cut off when change lane

Post by javamusic » Thu Mar 31, 2016 5:56 am

Bump
Core 7 - 4790 4GHz
32G RAM
64 bit Windows 10
Slave 2 other workstations running 6 instances of Vienna Ensemble Pro ( 3 64 bit, 3 32 bit )
Cubase 8.5

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1806
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio cut off when change lane

Post by GargoyleStudio » Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:01 pm

I have never had that problem on my system... Have you checked that you have the latest graphics card drivers? Or perhaps your machine is struggling, or you're using too small a latency? Also check/change the ASIO settings to see if this makes a difference. It may help us if you write your DAW specs here (in your signature perhaps?) as well.

There's also a useful sticky topic about real-time issues, and SB have two knowledge-base articles for optimizing MACs and Windows DAWs which are worth looking at.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.0 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, Arturia]

TDI90
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 1:35 am
Contact:

Re: Audio cut off when change lane

Post by TDI90 » Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:31 pm

I have experiences this, though not as frequently.
Dell E6530
i7-3740QM
8GB RAM
Nvidia MVS5200
Dual SSD drives (OS + AUDIO)
Windows 10 (Anniverary Update)
Cubase 8.0.40 64bit

javamusic
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio cut off when change lane

Post by javamusic » Sat Apr 09, 2016 7:31 am

I have finally traced the problem to the Cache setting. After setting the Cache to a fixed 3047 MB, the problem seems to disappear. But after I connected it to my other DAW running Vienna Ensemble Pro. the problem comes back again - whenever I change lane the audio would be cut off momentarily.

I assume it has something to do with the cache setting also. Any advice on what I should try?

Thanks.
Core 7 - 4790 4GHz
32G RAM
64 bit Windows 10
Slave 2 other workstations running 6 instances of Vienna Ensemble Pro ( 3 64 bit, 3 32 bit )
Cubase 8.5

javamusic
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio cut off when change lane

Post by javamusic » Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:53 pm

bump
Core 7 - 4790 4GHz
32G RAM
64 bit Windows 10
Slave 2 other workstations running 6 instances of Vienna Ensemble Pro ( 3 64 bit, 3 32 bit )
Cubase 8.5

javamusic
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio cut off when change lane

Post by javamusic » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:35 pm

I think I have solved the problem. ASIO Guard is the culprit. I disabled it and everything is normal.
Core 7 - 4790 4GHz
32G RAM
64 bit Windows 10
Slave 2 other workstations running 6 instances of Vienna Ensemble Pro ( 3 64 bit, 3 32 bit )
Cubase 8.5

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests