Smart tool and better navigation

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
vudoo
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:05 am
Contact:

Smart tool and better navigation

Post by vudoo »

I started using CB pro 8 a few months ago and really liking it. The biggest drawback i found is the lack of a smart tool and a way to position the cursor ANYWHERE within the timeline without having to go all the way up to the ruler. Sorry, but the <<click in empty space>> option just won't cut it.

I believe someone here managed to write a script for the cursor request. Anyone knows if it's available ? Thx

User avatar
hjwinge
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by hjwinge »

You propably know you can just rightclick anywhere in the project/editor windows to get the toolbox open, and you can also assign KC to select the tools, I use the F keys for that, but mostly just rightclick. Cubase has also several modifyer combinations per default you should check out. There are many others who wish for a smart tool in the forum though.
Main studio: Cubase pro 10.5.2 Wavelab 9.5, mac pro middle 2012, saffire pro 40, waves 9, 10 and 11, t-racks, plugin alliance, superior drummer and komplete, and much more. Mackie D8B with probox DAW controller (MCU protocoll and Generic remote)

Classroom 1: imac with Cubase elements 10, saffire pro 40, behringer x32 as DAW controller MCU or MIDI/generic remote
Classroom 2: mac pro 2011, Cubase elements 10.5, protools 11, scarlet 18i20, 3d gen

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by Rkmusic »

I agree cubase would be so much better with a smart tool. Turn two tools into one for faster editing and playback..
Mac Pro 2010 - 32GB - motif xs/Korg M3/ - Waves gold - Cubase 11 - Logic Pro 10.5 - Pro tools 2018 - glyph external drive - OS Mojave-

mzsd
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:22 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by mzsd »

Ah, another millionth post about the smart tool.
Steinberg should put a checkmark in the license agreement for it.
Right in the beginning:
"NO SMART TOOL, AGREE?
NO? DOWNLOAD PRO TOOLS"

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3337
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by peakae »

I hit 9 on the num. row to get the play tool, click where the cursor should go.
But it would be useful to have a play cursor to mouse pointer command, I could imagine a bunch of macros that could be made with such a function.
Cubase Pro 11, Wavelab Elements 9, I9 9900K , win10x64, 32Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

vudoo
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by vudoo »

hjwinge wrote:You propably know you can just rightclick anywhere in the project/editor windows to get the toolbox open, and you can also assign KC to select the tools, I use the F keys for that, but mostly just rightclick. Cubase has also several modifyer combinations per default you should check out. There are many others who wish for a smart tool in the forum though.
Yes i'm aware of all the above but needing two hands to do basic editing tasks, something i can easily achieve with one hand when using other daw is unproductive and slows down my workflow.

vudoo
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by vudoo »

mzsd wrote:Ah, another millionth post about the smart tool.
Steinberg should put a checkmark in the license agreement for it.
Right in the beginning:
"NO SMART TOOL, AGREE?
NO? DOWNLOAD PRO TOOLS"
Ah another useless unproductive reply...

mzsd
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:22 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by mzsd »

vudoo wrote: Ah another useless unproductive reply...
I don't think it is useless. Because there are just numerous posts about the smart tool and it is really strange.
The smart tool is a very well known approach in editing and if it is important for you then you should at first check whether a program supports it or not.
It is like asking: "Can Cubase render video? No? What a shame!" or, when you are bying a car and only at home discovering that you bought a car with automatic gearbox instead of manual.

vudoo
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by vudoo »

mzsd wrote:
vudoo wrote: Ah another useless unproductive reply...
I don't think it is useless. Because there are just numerous posts about the smart tool and it is really strange.
The smart tool is a very well known approach in editing and if it is important for you then you should at first check whether a program supports it or not.
It is like asking: "Can Cubase render video? No? What a shame!" or, when you are bying a car and only at home discovering that you bought a car with automatic gearbox instead of manual.
Thank god most people on this board are not as close minded as you are and your dumb example does not make any sense. We voice our opinions of features we want or wish to have so hopefully the company will take notice and IMPROVE on what's already an excellent product. If people adopts your philosophy, we'll be still sitting on CB version 1.

mzsd
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:22 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by mzsd »

What a poetic answer.
It's funny to hear about close mind in your paricular context. Instead of understand how software can work differently and benefit from it you just trying to copy-paste your workflow from another DAW. Very progressively and evolutionary.

And, I wasn't talking that Cubase doesn't need the ST feature. For many people it is a great tool, but for me not, and that is why I love Cubase/Nuendo. And my first comment was just about peoples peculiar ignorance when they constantly asking all programs to be the same.

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2077
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by Puma0382 »

mzsd wrote:What a poetic answer.
It's funny to hear about close mind in your particular context. Instead of understand how software can work differently and benefit from it you just trying to copy-paste your workflow from another DAW. Very progressively and evolutionary.

And, I wasn't talking that Cubase doesn't need the ST feature. For many people it is a great tool, but for me not, and that is why I love Cubase/Nuendo. And my first comment was just about peoples peculiar ignorance when they constantly asking all programs to be the same.
Yes, exactly right - because this particular feature is a 'wheel' found in those other DAW's that works beautifully, efficiently, conveniently and is a pleasure to use (I'm learning StudioOne). A 'wheel' that folk are requesting should be added to Cubase; it doesn't need reinventing, or evolving. Of course the SB devs will put their spin on it; hopefully not spun so much, it takes 3 years to get right... ;) VCA's anyone..?
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20 (and C11 testing), WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

vudoo
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by vudoo »

mzsd wrote:What a poetic answer.
It's funny to hear about close mind in your paricular context. Instead of understand how software can work differently and benefit from it you just trying to copy-paste your workflow from another DAW. Very progressively and evolutionary.

And, I wasn't talking that Cubase doesn't need the ST feature. For many people it is a great tool, but for me not, and that is why I love Cubase/Nuendo. And my first comment was just about peoples peculiar ignorance when they constantly asking all programs to be the same.
The smart tool is just not a matter of different workflow but a better, quicker and more efficient workflow. Besides why should anyone complain, they still have the choice of keeping the dreaded one click per tool workflow if they wish. I guess in your case,ignorance is bliss!

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by JHP »

vudoo wrote:I started using CB pro 8 a few months ago and really liking it. The biggest drawback i found is the lack of a smart tool and a way to position the cursor ANYWHERE within the timeline without having to go all the way up to the ruler. Sorry, but the <<click in empty space>> option just won't cut it....
Hi,
Just to note:
To position the cursor from anywhere:
Press 2 --> to select "Range Tool"
Hold "L" and click with mouse in project

Gr,
JHP
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
Vinylizor
Member
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by Vinylizor »

[quote="JHP"
Hi,
Just to note:
To position the cursor from anywhere:
Press 2 --> to select "Range Tool"
Hold "L" and click with mouse in project

Gr,
JHP[/quote]

Two keystrokes and a mouse click - not really a 'killer' power users shortcut.
C10.5
Antelope Orion 32+ Thunderbolt
Core Audio driver
Mac Pro 6,1 3 GHz 10-Core Intel Xeon E5 64Gb Ram 1TB HD
OSX 10.15

vudoo
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by vudoo »

JHP wrote:
vudoo wrote:I started using CB pro 8 a few months ago and really liking it. The biggest drawback i found is the lack of a smart tool and a way to position the cursor ANYWHERE within the timeline without having to go all the way up to the ruler. Sorry, but the <<click in empty space>> option just won't cut it....
Hi,
Just to note:
To position the cursor from anywhere:
Press 2 --> to select "Range Tool"
Hold "L" and click with mouse in project

Gr,
JHP
Thanks for the tip JHP...is there a way to set up macro for this ? I'm constantly moving my playback cursor while editing and having to hit two keys + click each time would be a drag.

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by JHP »

vudoo wrote:
JHP wrote:
vudoo wrote:I started using CB pro 8 a few months ago and really liking it. The biggest drawback i found is the lack of a smart tool and a way to position the cursor ANYWHERE within the timeline without having to go all the way up to the ruler. Sorry, but the <<click in empty space>> option just won't cut it....
Hi,
Just to note:
To position the cursor from anywhere:
Press 2 --> to select "Range Tool"
Hold "L" and click with mouse in project

Gr,
JHP
Thanks for the tip JHP...is there a way to set up macro for this ? I'm constantly moving my playback cursor while editing and having to hit two keys + click each time would be a drag.
Yes of course...
Setup the Macro with 2 commands:
1. Tool - tange Tool
2. Transport - Locate Selection Start

Gr,
JHP
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

vudoo
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Smart tool and better navigation

Post by vudoo »

I guess the method above is basically the same as using the speaker tool (press 9 then click anywhere for playback), both requiring one keypress then click.

On a side note, do you know why when i click on the arrange with the speaker tool the playback cursor starts a few beats before, my pre-roll is off. Thx

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest