How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Piano Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:42 pm
Contact:

How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by Piano Pete » Mon May 16, 2016 1:42 am

Hello,

I have seen on some people's videos that you can have Cubase show the name of a note on top of its box in the piano roll. How does one do this?
Master: Windows 10, CPU-Intel i7 6700k, Radeon 260x, MB-Asus z170 Deluxe, 32GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x WD 1TB HD Raid 1 (Storage).

Slave: Windows 10, CPU-Xeon 2680, Radeon 240, MB-Asus x99 WS-E 3.1, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x Samsung 850 Evo 1TB (Samples), WD 1TB HD (Storage).

Samples: EW Hollywood Orchestra, Gypsy, Solo Violin, Choirs (expansion), Spaces.

DAW- Cubase, Protools, VEP5, Keyboard- Yamaha Portable Grand, Midi Controller- Nektar Panorama P1

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by vic_france » Mon May 16, 2016 1:44 am

It's just that you have to zoom in vertically a sufficient amount, for the note names to show ;).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Piano Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by Piano Pete » Mon May 16, 2016 4:40 am

Doesnt seem to be working. Might be doing something weird? Just to clarify, I am attempting to get the names on the midi box, not the keyboard roll.
Master: Windows 10, CPU-Intel i7 6700k, Radeon 260x, MB-Asus z170 Deluxe, 32GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x WD 1TB HD Raid 1 (Storage).

Slave: Windows 10, CPU-Xeon 2680, Radeon 240, MB-Asus x99 WS-E 3.1, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x Samsung 850 Evo 1TB (Samples), WD 1TB HD (Storage).

Samples: EW Hollywood Orchestra, Gypsy, Solo Violin, Choirs (expansion), Spaces.

DAW- Cubase, Protools, VEP5, Keyboard- Yamaha Portable Grand, Midi Controller- Nektar Panorama P1

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by vic_france » Mon May 16, 2016 1:33 pm

By "box", you mean the "oblongs" that represent the note?
If you don't see the names when you zoom in, then I suspect you have the Note Expression mode activated (the icon in the extended toolbar looks like two triangles facing away from each other)
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Piano Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by Piano Pete » Mon May 16, 2016 5:55 pm

Unfortunately Note expression is deactivated. When you are talking about zoom, do you mean the ctrl+mousewheel zoom?
Master: Windows 10, CPU-Intel i7 6700k, Radeon 260x, MB-Asus z170 Deluxe, 32GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x WD 1TB HD Raid 1 (Storage).

Slave: Windows 10, CPU-Xeon 2680, Radeon 240, MB-Asus x99 WS-E 3.1, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x Samsung 850 Evo 1TB (Samples), WD 1TB HD (Storage).

Samples: EW Hollywood Orchestra, Gypsy, Solo Violin, Choirs (expansion), Spaces.

DAW- Cubase, Protools, VEP5, Keyboard- Yamaha Portable Grand, Midi Controller- Nektar Panorama P1

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3670
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by raino » Mon May 16, 2016 8:36 pm

Piano Pete wrote:Unfortunately Note expression is deactivated. When you are talking about zoom, do you mean the ctrl+mousewheel zoom?
No, that's horizontal zoom. Vic means vertical zoom - use the vertical slider in the lower right of the window. If the height for each lane of the piano roll is too small there isn't enough room for the text to fit. So you need to zoom in so the lane is large enough to display the text.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Piano Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by Piano Pete » Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:36 am

I adjusted the vertical slider, and the name of the note did not show up.
Master: Windows 10, CPU-Intel i7 6700k, Radeon 260x, MB-Asus z170 Deluxe, 32GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x WD 1TB HD Raid 1 (Storage).

Slave: Windows 10, CPU-Xeon 2680, Radeon 240, MB-Asus x99 WS-E 3.1, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x Samsung 850 Evo 1TB (Samples), WD 1TB HD (Storage).

Samples: EW Hollywood Orchestra, Gypsy, Solo Violin, Choirs (expansion), Spaces.

DAW- Cubase, Protools, VEP5, Keyboard- Yamaha Portable Grand, Midi Controller- Nektar Panorama P1

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by vic_france » Wed Jun 08, 2016 11:45 am

Piano Pete wrote:I adjusted the vertical slider, and the name of the note did not show up.
You mean, here? :?
Attachments
Vertical Zoom.gif
(745.16 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3670
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by raino » Wed Jun 08, 2016 9:19 pm

vic_france wrote:
Piano Pete wrote:I adjusted the vertical slider, and the name of the note did not show up.
You mean, here? :?
Hey Vic, how did you get it to show midi note numbers in addition to the note name? I looked through Preferences and didn't see anything.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by vic_france » Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:23 am

raino wrote:
vic_france wrote:
Piano Pete wrote:I adjusted the vertical slider, and the name of the note did not show up.
You mean, here? :?
Hey Vic, how did you get it to show midi note numbers in addition to the note name? I looked through Preferences and didn't see anything.
You have to press very hard on the vertical zoom :P (just kidding ;) ).
It used to be a lot easier to find, but now it is hidden away in, of all places ( ;) ),.. Preferences>Event Display>Chords (yes, "Chords"!)>Naming Format.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3670
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by raino » Thu Jun 09, 2016 2:50 am

vic_france wrote:It used to be a lot easier to find, but now it is hidden away in, of all places ( ;) ),.. Preferences>Event Display>Chords (yes, "Chords"!)>Naming Format.
Well at least it wasn't under metering. :roll:
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Piano Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by Piano Pete » Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:10 am

I adjusted the vertical zoom to ludicrous proportions and it still is not showing. Is there a preference option that may not be selected?
Master: Windows 10, CPU-Intel i7 6700k, Radeon 260x, MB-Asus z170 Deluxe, 32GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x WD 1TB HD Raid 1 (Storage).

Slave: Windows 10, CPU-Xeon 2680, Radeon 240, MB-Asus x99 WS-E 3.1, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x Samsung 850 Evo 1TB (Samples), WD 1TB HD (Storage).

Samples: EW Hollywood Orchestra, Gypsy, Solo Violin, Choirs (expansion), Spaces.

DAW- Cubase, Protools, VEP5, Keyboard- Yamaha Portable Grand, Midi Controller- Nektar Panorama P1

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by vic_france » Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:29 am

Piano Pete wrote:Unfortunately Note expression is deactivated.
Like I wrote earlier..
>
(the icon in the extended toolbar looks like two triangles facing away from each other)
>
I meant this..
Attachments
Note Expression.jpg
(28.64 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

epastorrouco
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 2:13 am
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by epastorrouco » Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:23 am

Is there any way to get the note names on the KEYBOARD ROLL on the key editor?... e.g. c1,d1,e1 etc; all of them, not only the C's...
I'm not a piano player and having additional references when drawing midi blocks would be very useful... for me...

Thanks.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3670
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by raino » Mon Oct 17, 2016 9:07 pm

epastorrouco wrote:Is there any way to get the note names on the KEYBOARD ROLL on the key editor?... e.g. c1,d1,e1 etc; all of them, not only the C's...
I'm not a piano player and having additional references when drawing midi blocks would be very useful... for me...

Thanks.
No, only on the notes themselves.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

epastorrouco
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 2:13 am
Contact:

Re: How to show Note Name/# on Piano roll

Post by epastorrouco » Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:58 am

I'll have to live with that ;) Thanks for your reply

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests