Cubasis 2 now available

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by LSlowak » Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:52 am

Magnum Force wrote:I haven't tried it yet, but I'd like to say something. Thanks so much for pushing ahead and developing this. We all know that cubasis isn't perfect, but equally we know it's a fantastic but software. For me there only serious limitations I have are about the lack of audio unit support for guitar fx, and aside from including a greater array in cubasis, this isn't really a Steinberg issue. I would like to give a huge round of thanks to the team.
Many thanks, Magnum Force!

We also hope that many more app developers jump on the board in providing Audio Unit updates for their applications.
That's why we've made our commitment to the format when releasing full Audio Unit support back in February 2016.

Might be worth to let your favoured app makers know about your request and expectation!

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by LSlowak » Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:54 am

surfer wrote:Thank you for this marvelous update.
Thanks surfer, greatly appreciated!
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by LSlowak » Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:56 am

JayZen wrote:Relaunched trice, no chance. Guess I need to back up via pc, cause iCloud back up is way to slow anyway for my all my current projects (21,6 gb) hope it works, if it didnt, I'll report in a separate topic/post,

Cheers
Hi JayZen,

Hopefully you've been able to sort out the issue and are now ready to give Cubasis 2 a go to focus on creativity!

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Pejman
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by Pejman » Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:52 pm

Hi
Very thank of new update and very thanks of cubasis team.
But Why there is no ( automation follow events ) and ( midi control support ) option for control cubasis transport options with midi devices for play stop record and mixer sliders and control too many parameters of cubasis with midi control devices, quickly,easily,
in new update ? :( :( :(
Automation follow events is very very important for when we have too many automations and we need that move our events .!!! :( :(

And , where is the record mode icon ? I always work with this icon and i was glad that this option is jackleg ore handy . I have seen tutorial cubasis in YouTube
And I haven't seen this icon in main window or toolbars.
Pejman

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by LSlowak » Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:01 pm

Pejman wrote:Hi
Very thank of new update and very thanks of cubasis team.
But Why there is no ( automation follow events ) and ( midi control support ) option for control cubasis transport options with midi devices for play stop record and mixer sliders and control too many parameters of cubasis with midi control devices, quickly,easily,
in new update ? :( :( :(
Automation follow events is very very important for when we have too many automations and we need that move our events .!!! :( :(

And , where is the record mode icon ? I always work with this icon and i was glad that this option is jackleg ore handy . I have seen tutorial cubasis in YouTube
And I haven't seen this icon in main window or toolbars.
Pejman
Hi Pejman,

Thanks for your nice comment, we're glad to hear you like Cubasis 2!

Realising Cubasis 2 took our fairly small team several months of hard work, including long nights and weekends. Your requests are on our list for future updates and will be carefully evaluated once ready to be rolled in.

New features will be announced once they become available.

As stated in the maintenance list, please find the recording mode options located in the tempo / signature popup. Simply tap the song tempo display to open it.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1089
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by beatpete » Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:49 pm

LSlowak wrote:
lcceo22 wrote:Just an assumption since I see no specific mention: still no iPhone support?
We monitor the market on a regular basis for future release options (including the iPhone, Android etc.).
New versions will be announced once they become available.

Best,
Lars
Is that a yes, no or maybe?
It's just that I would LOVE Cubasis on my Iphone 5 SE, I have it on me all the time...
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

Svenne
Member
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:29 am

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by Svenne » Fri Sep 23, 2016 5:40 pm

beatpete wrote:It's just that I would LOVE Cubasis on my Iphone 5 SE
I have a very hard time visualising how Steinberg should succeed in cramming in the Cubasis GUI (or making a new usable GUI) on the small iPhone screen. It feels a bit camped on the iPad's screen, that's twice the since.

I may be wrong, however. Steinberg has succeeded with mission impossible before. If they do, I guess everybody will be requesting Cubasis for Watch. ;)
Cubase Pro 8.5.20 + IC Pro, WaveLab Elements 9.0.30, Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 8GB, 10.11.6 (El Capitan), MR 816X, Avid Control/Mix, iPad Air (128GB), Cubasis 2.0, iTrack Dock.

lcceo22
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by lcceo22 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:18 pm

Hmm. It would be helpful to know if an Android and/or Iphone version is on the horizon, at least for me. If I know an Android phone version is in the works that means I won't have to switch to iPhone, and literally the only reason I have to switch to iPhone is Cubasis.

User avatar
Ricardo Garcia
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by Ricardo Garcia » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:31 pm

lcceo22 wrote:Hmm. It would be helpful to know if an Android and/or Iphone version is on the horizon, at least for me. If I know an Android phone version is in the works that means I won't have to switch to iPhone, and literally the only reason I have to switch to iPhone is Cubasis.
We carefully monitor future development options for Cubasis on other platforms also including a version for the iPhone. For now Cubasis on the iPad serves our users the most to realize their song ideas in the best and fastest possible way.

Once we have completed to port the concept to work best on smaller display sizes, you will see a release of Cubasis for other handheld devices.

Best
Ricardo
Ricardo Garcia, Steinberg Apps Support
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

AndyL
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 12:21 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by AndyL » Sat Sep 24, 2016 10:30 am

I had previously been running Cubasis having installed Cubasis LE 1.9.x and then purchasing the upgrade to full Cubasis. The App Store now lets me have a free upgrade to Cubasis 2 LE, but it appears I have to pay to get Cubasis 2 full version. Surely this is not correct.
Regards,
AndyL

User avatar
Ricardo Garcia
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by Ricardo Garcia » Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:54 pm

Hi AndyL,

have you tried to restore your purchases? You don't have to buy the upgrade again.

In case it is still not working you have to contact Apple regarding this issue directly as they are in charge of all purchase related problems.

Best
Ricardo
Ricardo Garcia, Steinberg Apps Support
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

AndyL
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 12:21 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by AndyL » Sat Sep 24, 2016 5:28 pm

Ricardo,
My list of purchased apps in the Apple Store doesn't include an upgrade from Cubasis LE 1.9.9 to full LE, so I can't restore the purchase. The icon didn't change from Cubasis LE to Cubasis 1.9.9 full when the upgrade was applied: possibly this may be related.

At the moment, having upgraded, I have gone form a fully working version of Cubasis 1.9.9. to the restricted Cubasis LE 2, which is highly unsatisfactory since I need the features of the full version.

Have you any further comments before I contact Apple?

Regards,

AndyL

DrMusique
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by DrMusique » Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:14 pm

When I go to Cubasis in the Apps store on my iPad Air 2 running iOS 10 the Apps store says it's version 2 and only gives me the option to open it. The version I purchased or at least the version that's running is 1.9.9 when I open Cubasis from the Apps store link. Someone from Steinberg said it's not normally necessary to delete the version 1 app. It looks like I might have to. Any other suggestions appreciated. Thanks very much.

User avatar
surfer
Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by surfer » Sat Sep 24, 2016 7:45 pm

Inside Cubasis LE go to the Shopping Basket select the upgrade and press restore purchase is what I think he means.

AndyL
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 12:21 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by AndyL » Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:05 am

Surfer,
Many thanks - your clarification was spot on, and I now have access to the full version.
Regards,
AndyL

User avatar
Ricardo Garcia
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by Ricardo Garcia » Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:30 am

Hi AndyL,

glad to hear you got it solved! ;)

I was talking about the restore function inside Cubasis LE but didn't explain it properly.

Best
Ricardo
Ricardo Garcia, Steinberg Apps Support
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
powerobject
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:27 am
Location: Chicagoland
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by powerobject » Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:44 am

Finally, Steinberg has embraced the dreaded iOS 7 flat UI that was introduced by an inexperienced "industrial" designer at Apple replacing the iOS 6 UI for no good reason. iOS 6 was warm, rich with a personality and a feel to it. Flat UI doesn't have a "personality" or separation of sections unless you look closely - you cannot feel the buttons/knobs/etc (like a "HARDWARE" instrument) when you tap/twist/swipe them. If everything on the screen is on the same level and nothing sticks out, there is no separation of sections or feel of controls. Also, iOS 7 introduced buttons & text links that is a mess. An action item inside an app should always be a tappable button (unless it is a web page). Who cares what iOS flat UI standards are which are flawed anyway? You should stick with the established 3D UI standards - like you did boldly and admirably up until recently. No one ever complained against your previous 3D UI - people actually admired it profusely. It doesn't matter if Cubasis did not receive an Apple Design Award because all the thousands of your users give Cubasis "the" BEST DESIGN AWARD, two THUMBS-UP and a RE-SOUNDING applause to the previous 3D UI. We don't mind if Cubasis does not get an Apple award - it's IMPLIED.

Your new UI has THICK, large, BRIGHT white labels and LARGE text/icons/knobs which are distracting and NOISY (it almost looks like the ugly Auria). The text colors, icon sizes, etc in the 1.x version were PERFECT, SUBTLE, MOST ELEGANT and PLEASANT to the eyes - like a DREAM - with soft/dull blue colors and "PROPORTIONATE" size text labels, icons, knobs, etc. The v1.x UI was slate colored with a cool blue tint to it. Please bring back the old colors and sizes. Effects panels in v2 have no name in Edit mode such as "chorus", "noisegate", etc on the bottom right as in v1 (where on the left it says "steinberg") which was cool. Also bring back the 3D toolbars on the top and center which had personality and separation of sections. Thanks for all the hard work in bringing new features, bug fixes and offering v2 for free to v1 users and offering it on sale at 50% to new users. This complaint is only against the new flat UI which you introduced in v2 and messed up the UI which is hard to look at and not fun to use. Even GarageBand doesn't have thick, bright, large text labels/icons/knobs/etc.

The old 3D UI in v1.x was EASY and FUN to use but you have taken out the ease and fun factors by introducing flat UI and all the noise in v2. Please, please, please - bring back the 3D UI, "ROUNDED CORNERS", SOFT COLORS, sizes, toolbars, icons, knobs, pads, mixer, effects, panels, etc. of 1.x version. That's all we ask. Or at least, conduct a POLL and you would be surprised how COOL, PLEASANT and ELEGANT the 3D UI of v1.x was and how much your users loved and adored it. A flat UI may be acceptable to some extent for a "productivity tool" such as a Word Processor but not for a Music Production app - which in the real world is a 3D object. A flat UI does not apply to every kind of app. The flat UI in v2 actually UGLIFIED Cubasis and makes it look RETRO :(

I'm a UI/UX Specialist with over 30 years of experience in designing serious business apps and know design concepts.

Thanks much for listening!

--
Shekar Reddy
Homepage - https://sites.google.com/site/powerobject
Plus - http://plus.google.com/+ShekarReddyC (more music)
Music - https://sites.google.com/site/powerobject/music
Last edited by powerobject on Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:56 am, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
musicbeat
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:11 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by musicbeat » Sun Sep 25, 2016 3:04 pm

Thanks for the FREE upgrade to version 2 and the price cuts for the FXs. It was very nice and well appreciated
i7-6700 3.4 ghz 32 go L2|W10 x64
Cubase Pro 10.5|HALion 6|Cubasis|Spectrasonics Bundle|RME BabyFace|AxiomPro49|Focal Pro-CMS 40's

jackhead
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by jackhead » Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:26 am

Just a big thank you for the update, so easy to use it just works for me for the first time on iOS I'm writing a tune in one app with no problems, iaa working, au working, all new features working, first tune written within 3 hours of opening the app, everything just works love it, well done guys!

jpanic
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by jpanic » Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:51 pm

I am having problems downloading C2 on my iPad mini 2... is the upgrade from 1.9 not compatible any more? What can I do?

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by LSlowak » Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:15 am

jpanic wrote:I am having problems downloading C2 on my iPad mini 2... is the upgrade from 1.9 not compatible any more? What can I do?
Cubasis 2 is a free update for existing customers, same for the Cubasis LE 2 full feature set available as in-app purchase from within Cubasis LE.

Cubasis 2
Cubasis 2 should appear in the App Store application on your iPad, a simple tap should start the update.

Cubasis LE 2 Full Feature Set IAP
If you're a Cubasis 2 LE user who has bought the full feature set in-app purchase, please go to the in-app shop of Cubasis LE to restore your purchase. Cubasis LE will then be updated to the similar feature set of Cubasis 2.

Hope that helps.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by LSlowak » Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:20 am

powerobject wrote:Finally, Steinberg has embraced the dreaded iOS 7 flat UI that was introduced by an inexperienced/unqualified "industrial" designer at Apple (Jony Ivy) replacing the iOS 6 UI for no good reason other than to spite Scott Forstall. iOS 6 was warm, rich with a personality and a feel to it. Flat UI doesn't have a "personality" or separation of sections unless you look closely - you cannot feel the buttons/knobs/etc (like a "HARDWARE" instrument) when you tap/twist/swipe them. If everything on the screen is on the same level and nothing sticks out, there is no separation of sections or feel of controls. Also, iOS 7 introduced buttons & text links that is a mess. An action item inside an app should always be a tappable button (unless it is a web page). Who cares what iOS flat UI standards are which are flawed anyway? You should stick with the established 3D UI standards - like you did boldly and admirably up until recently. No one ever complained against your previous 3D UI - people actually admired it profusely. It doesn't matter if Cubasis did not receive an Apple Design Award because all the thousands of your users give Cubasis "the" BEST DESIGN AWARD, two THUMBS-UP and a RE-SOUNDING applause to the previous 3D UI. We don't mind if Cubasis does not get an Apple award - it's IMPLIED.

Your new UI has THICK, large, BRIGHT white labels and LARGE text/icons/knobs which are distracting and NOISY (it almost looks like the ugly Auria). The text colors, icon sizes, etc in the 1.x version were PERFECT, SUBTLE, MOST ELEGANT and PLEASANT to the eyes - like a DREAM - with soft/dull blue colors and "PROPORTIONATE" size text labels, icons, knobs, etc. The v1.x UI was slate colored with a cool blue tint to it. Please bring back the old colors and sizes. Effects panels in v2 have no name in Edit mode such as "chorus", "noisegate", etc on the bottom right as in v1 (where on the left it says "steinberg") which was cool. Also bring back the 3D toolbars on the top and center which had personality and separation of sections. Thanks for all the hard work in bringing new features, bug fixes and offering v2 for free to v1 users and offering it on sale at 50% to new users. This complaint is only against the new flat UI which you introduced in v2 and messed up the UI which is hard to look at and not fun to use. Even GarageBand doesn't have thick, bright, large text labels/icons/knobs/etc.

The old 3D UI in v1.x was EASY and FUN to use but you have taken out the ease and fun factors by introducing flat UI and all the noise in v2. Please, please, please - bring back the 3D UI, "ROUNDED CORNERS", SOFT COLORS, sizes, toolbars, icons, knobs, pads, mixer, effects, panels, etc. of 1.x version. That's all we ask. Or at least, conduct a POLL and you would be surprised how COOL, PLEASANT and ELEGANT the 3D UI of v1.x was and how much your users loved and adored it. A flat UI may be acceptable to some extent for a "productivity tool" such as a Word Processor but not for a Music Production app - which in the real world is a 3D object. A flat UI does not apply to every kind of app. The flat UI in v2 actually UGLIFIED Cubasis and makes it look RETRO :(

Yes, I'm a UI/UX Specialist with over 30 years of experience in designing serious business apps and know exactly and precisely what I'm talking about..

Thanks much for listening!

--
Shekar Reddy
Homepage - https://sites.google.com/site/powerobject
Plus - http://plus.google.com/+ShekarReddyC (more music)
Music - https://sites.google.com/site/powerobject/music
Hi Shaker,

Thanks for your message.

Cubasis 2 shows up with a carefully redesigned user interface and the majority of our users seems to like it so far as we do ourselves. Please spend some time with Cubasis 2 and I'm sure the new user interface will be of same ease of use as the previous one.


Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by LSlowak » Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:21 am

musicbeat wrote:Thanks for the FREE upgrade to version 2 and the price cuts for the FXs. It was very nice and well appreciated
Thanks for the nice comment, we appreciate that you like the new Cubasis 2 update!

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by LSlowak » Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:23 am

Hi all,

The Cubasis 2 update receives great interest and overwhelming feedback in the forum of our friends at Audiobus.
Please make sure to visit the space:

https://forum.audiob.us/discussion/1536 ... h-price/p1

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 2 now available

Post by Makumbaria » Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:57 am

LSlowak wrote:
musicbeat wrote:Thanks for the FREE upgrade to version 2 and the price cuts for the FXs. It was very nice and well appreciated
Thanks for the nice comment, we appreciate that you like the new Cubasis 2 update!

Best,
Lars
Yes, it was a good surprise. Big thanks for the free upgrade to version 2!
Cubase Pro 10.5 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.20 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis | Cubasis 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests