Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
hitwriter
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:33 am
Contact:

Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by hitwriter »

When importing audio files (individually) into a track in 6.5 and then turning the lanes feature on I'm getting empty lanes with the audio tracks still stacked up on one another.

I've tried several combinations... lanes off/on before importing and still the tracks remain stacked.

Any clues?
Cubase Pro 9.5.10, Apollo 8 Quad TB, Apollo Quad UAD-2 Satellite Quad, Focusrite 6i6, Windows 10 64b Home, Gigabyte Ultra Z170X-Gaming 7 Motherboard, Intel Core i7 6700 3.4 GHz 8MB 1151, 2x 16GB DDR4 PC4-17000 2133MHz, GeForce GTX 1070 8GB DDR5, Cooler Master Silenco 652S, Arsenal of UAD and Waves Plug Ins WITH VST instruments including Komplete Ultimate 10, Toontrack Instruments and more.... Modest Mic Locker Including Townsend Labs Sphere L22.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by JMCecil »

Did you put them in a folder and enable group edit? In an overly-simplistic view Lanes are for multi-pass recording on a single track. Group Edit is for multi-Track editing.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

hitwriter
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by hitwriter »

First thank you for the response!

I was unaware that the Lanes feature was exclusively for recording only... I have audio tracks from a different project (2 piano takes) and 2 (organ takes) that I want in the new version of project...

IMO a lane is a lane is a lane (take is a take is a take) and not sure why the takes have to be put into a folder before they can be comped... it's still an audio file even if I stack them I should be able to select the lanes option and have them laned?

I did find the group editing function on the folder track... Thank you again
Cubase Pro 9.5.10, Apollo 8 Quad TB, Apollo Quad UAD-2 Satellite Quad, Focusrite 6i6, Windows 10 64b Home, Gigabyte Ultra Z170X-Gaming 7 Motherboard, Intel Core i7 6700 3.4 GHz 8MB 1151, 2x 16GB DDR4 PC4-17000 2133MHz, GeForce GTX 1070 8GB DDR5, Cooler Master Silenco 652S, Arsenal of UAD and Waves Plug Ins WITH VST instruments including Komplete Ultimate 10, Toontrack Instruments and more.... Modest Mic Locker Including Townsend Labs Sphere L22.

User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by Helge Vogt »

hitwriter wrote:When importing audio files (individually) into a track in 6.5 and then turning the lanes feature on I'm getting empty lanes with the audio tracks still stacked up on one another.

I've tried several combinations... lanes off/on before importing and still the tracks remain stacked.

Any clues?
Did you try the "Cleanup lanes" function (right-click)? It should resolve ovrlapping events to new lanes.

Cheers,
Helge
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by JMCecil »

hitwriter wrote:I was unaware that the Lanes feature was exclusively for recording only... I have audio tracks from a different project (2 piano takes) and 2 (organ takes) that I want in the new version of project...
You are having a terminology problem, not a technology problem. Lanes in this context is the wrong word. When you import you typically create a single audio event on a single track. The track in essence is a "lane", but that isn't how it is referenced in the Cubase compoing terminology. See below.
IMO a lane is a lane is a lane (take is a take is a take) and not sure why the takes have to be put into a folder before they can be comped... it's still an audio file even if I stack them I should be able to select the lanes option and have them laned?
yes, a lane is a lane and a take is a take, but they are two different things and do two different things and so the editing options are different. An audio event is created as a unique "track" when you import an audio file. So, when you import your two piano files, you get two "lanes", in this case they are unique tracks. To comp "tracks" you use group editing.

Takes are part of the loop/punch recording system, applied to a single "track". Each loop or punch will add an additional "lane" to the same "track". Comping for single track multi-pass recording is done by activating the "lanes" view.

So, really there are multiple scenarios for comping, and they have some unique verbiage to distinguish them. And, rightfully so, IMO.

EDIT: You can enable record on multiple tracks and each will get its own set of take lanes.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

hitwriter
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by hitwriter »

JMCecil wrote:
hitwriter wrote:I was unaware that the Lanes feature was exclusively for recording only... I have audio tracks from a different project (2 piano takes) and 2 (organ takes) that I want in the new version of project...
You are having a terminology problem, not a technology problem. Lanes in this context is the wrong word. When you import you typically create a single audio event on a single track. The track in essence is a "lane", but that isn't how it is referenced in the Cubase compoing terminology. See below.
IMO a lane is a lane is a lane (take is a take is a take) and not sure why the takes have to be put into a folder before they can be comped... it's still an audio file even if I stack them I should be able to select the lanes option and have them laned?
yes, a lane is a lane and a take is a take, but they are two different things and do two different things and so the editing options are different. An audio event is created as a unique "track" when you import an audio file. So, when you import your two piano files, you get two "lanes", in this case they are unique tracks. To comp "tracks" you use group editing.

Takes are part of the loop/punch recording system, applied to a single "track". Each loop or punch will add an additional "lane" to the same "track". Comping for single track multi-pass recording is done by activating the "lanes" view.

So, really there are multiple scenarios for comping, and they have some unique verbiage to distinguish them. And, rightfully so, IMO.

EDIT: You can enable record on multiple tracks and each will get its own set of take lanes.
Thank you but....

I'm referring to the ability to import different takes of the same performance part... Several Vocal takes (recorded from another project) into a single track and turn on the lanes feature for comping a part. (Worked fine prior to 6.5) The Group editing function unless I'm missing something doesn't offer the ability to audition the various takes without having to mute individual tracks? Comping in lanes is the faster way allowing the audition of the selected cut.

The admins solution did work... cleaning up lanes did open each imported wav file onto a lane...

Not sure why after importing the various takes... I have to use the clean up lanes prompt (promoted to clean up after comping) prior to making a single cut?
Cubase Pro 9.5.10, Apollo 8 Quad TB, Apollo Quad UAD-2 Satellite Quad, Focusrite 6i6, Windows 10 64b Home, Gigabyte Ultra Z170X-Gaming 7 Motherboard, Intel Core i7 6700 3.4 GHz 8MB 1151, 2x 16GB DDR4 PC4-17000 2133MHz, GeForce GTX 1070 8GB DDR5, Cooler Master Silenco 652S, Arsenal of UAD and Waves Plug Ins WITH VST instruments including Komplete Ultimate 10, Toontrack Instruments and more.... Modest Mic Locker Including Townsend Labs Sphere L22.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by JMCecil »

hitwriter wrote: I'm referring to the ability to import different takes of the same performance part... Several Vocal takes (recorded from another project) into a single track and turn on the lanes feature for comping a part. (Worked fine prior to 6.5) The Group editing function unless I'm missing something doesn't offer the ability to audition the various takes without having to mute individual tracks? Comping in lanes is the faster way allowing the audition of the selected cut.

The admins solution did work... cleaning up lanes did open each imported wav file onto a lane...

Not sure why after importing the various takes... I have to use the clean up lanes prompt (promoted to clean up after comping) prior to making a single cut?
Yes, I know what you are saying. But, you literally aren't grasping the difference. When you import multiple audio files, Cubase has no way to know what the relationship is. HENCE, group edit. When you do it internally, the "lanes" are a contiguous audio file with built in meta information for the association on a single track.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Renewal
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by Renewal »

Helge Vogt wrote:
hitwriter wrote:When importing audio files (individually) into a track in 6.5 and then turning the lanes feature on I'm getting empty lanes with the audio tracks still stacked up on one another.

I've tried several combinations... lanes off/on before importing and still the tracks remain stacked.

Any clues?
Did you try the "Cleanup lanes" function (right-click)? It should resolve ovrlapping events to new lanes.

Cheers,
Helge
Is Cleanup Lanes available in 6.05?
Imac i7-2,93Ghz/16GB/10.12.6/C10/Halion Sonic 3/Real LP-Strat-Eight/UX1

hitwriter
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by hitwriter »

JMCecil wrote:
hitwriter wrote: I'm referring to the ability to import different takes of the same performance part... Several Vocal takes (recorded from another project) into a single track and turn on the lanes feature for comping a part. (Worked fine prior to 6.5) The Group editing function unless I'm missing something doesn't offer the ability to audition the various takes without having to mute individual tracks? Comping in lanes is the faster way allowing the audition of the selected cut.

The admins solution did work... cleaning up lanes did open each imported wav file onto a lane...

Not sure why after importing the various takes... I have to use the clean up lanes prompt (promoted to clean up after comping) prior to making a single cut?
Yes, I know what you are saying. But, you literally aren't grasping the difference. When you import multiple audio files, Cubase has no way to know what the relationship is. HENCE, group edit. When you do it internally, the "lanes" are a contiguous audio file with built in meta information for the association on a single track.
Regardless of the "technical" terms... in Cubase 6 I could stack audio takes on top of one another on a single track and click the lanes feature.. instantly showing each "take" embedded into a lane.

This went away in 6.5 until I now right click the clean up lanes and then they behave as I requested.

Thank you for the expertise... I prefer to use the Lanes feature on a single track rather than a 'Group Edit" of several tracks... simply just as if they had been recorded in the original project.. on one track.
Cubase Pro 9.5.10, Apollo 8 Quad TB, Apollo Quad UAD-2 Satellite Quad, Focusrite 6i6, Windows 10 64b Home, Gigabyte Ultra Z170X-Gaming 7 Motherboard, Intel Core i7 6700 3.4 GHz 8MB 1151, 2x 16GB DDR4 PC4-17000 2133MHz, GeForce GTX 1070 8GB DDR5, Cooler Master Silenco 652S, Arsenal of UAD and Waves Plug Ins WITH VST instruments including Komplete Ultimate 10, Toontrack Instruments and more.... Modest Mic Locker Including Townsend Labs Sphere L22.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by JMCecil »

EDIT: Never mind, I see you have it working.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

newyorkbrass
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 Comp Lanes (No Lanes on imported tracks)

Post by newyorkbrass »

JMCecil wrote:EDIT: Never mind, I see you have it working.
Glad it worked for you - it does not work for me.
This sucks. Cant you guys do regression testing before you release software to make sure nothing breaks?
I work with multiple musicians accross different continents and i need to be able to import the files and comp them quickly - which works really nice in 6.0. Now I have new and "improved" 6.5 which i *paid* for.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests